We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas with a charm”
Review of Tapas Macarena

Tapas Macarena
Ranked #62 of 2,474 Restaurants in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a tiny and familiar restaurant. Customers like it because they feel like at home. It is the first tapas bar in Colombia and is well known by its contemporary menu, composed by traditional Spanish tapas like tortilla, Serrano, but also by its creations. They even have their own version of patatas bravas and they are actually very famous. The Serrano salad, the white fish in basil oil with asparagus and dried tomatoes, tha lamb burgers etc. Tapas go along well with a cold beer, a glass of sangria or wine. If you want to have a unique and personalised experience come to Tapas Macarena. Feel free to order what you want, ask the waiter or the cooks. And something else, the music is really nice.....
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tapas with a charm”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were actually planning to go to another restaurant near by, but WE ARE SO GLAD WE TURNED AROUND! This place is the most charming I have yet seen in Bogota. 5 tables, friendly lovely staff, organic ingredients, cozy, feel-home kind of style and people waiting for their turn outside. That's always a good sign! Even better, I have seen the waitress bringing out snacks for the people waiting. We had to knock to be let in and seated by a very lovely girl who was later on very helpful and attentive. The food and wine were fantastic, a little on the expensive side, but I really have no negative thing to say about this place. Will be back soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paleo_point
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    67
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
panama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tapas at a tiny place”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice atmosphere the restaurant is a tiny -4 tables. Food and wine OK. Prices are a bit high for what it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank expo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Bogota Surprise”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were here at the end of August and went based on the reviews here.Took a ten minute cab ride there and were warmly greeted by the waitress who unlocked the door to let us in. Although she spoke no English and we had little Spanish, she tried very hard. A neighboring diner chimed in and we were able to start our meal with the excellent potatoes. Eventually our waitress brought a woman connected to the restaurant to speak with us. We enjoyed two good bottles of wine and several tapas over the course of almost two hours. The mixed mushrooms should not be missed.The place is small and at one time we were asked to move our seating so more people could come in.They were able to call us a taxi to return to our hotel with the help of one of the kitchen staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasMary1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Change of management gone wrong”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Used to love this place and ate here at least once a month...
The last time I came I realized they changed the management, and the friendly and efficient guy that was here was replace by a woman with no sense of service and literally no brains... Colombian pop music replaced the Spanish music an food also decreased in quality... A true disappointment... What was the owner thinking? Did he sell the place? I guess everything comes to an end...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely little restaurant, great atmosphere, friendly staff and most importantly fabulous food and wine! If you like tapas, then a meal here is an absolute must!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLivesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Macarena also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Tapas Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing