We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel in the historic center”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Deco
Ranked #12 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in the historic center”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is located in the historic center of Bogotá, La Candelaria. It offers spacious, clean rooms - simply furnished with fresh flowers; totally sufficient to relax after day discovering Bogotá. Our shower did not provide so much hot water but we managed to have a shower ;)
The service personnel is very friendly and always there to help - even giving (great!) recommendations where to go for dinner.
Facilities include a roof garden and a coffee/tea buffet all day long.
The breakfast is individually and freshly prepared and served. One day there was even a live musician playing some classical music. This was definitely a relaxing way to start our day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelerfahrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    228
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
337
108
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had not planned to go to Columbia, but as there were no direct flights to Ecuador we decided to stay a couple of nights in Bogota before heading on to Quito. One of the best decisions we made on our trip was to stay at the Casa Deco. The staff were great. It is one of the few times when photos do not do justice to a place. We loved the hotel and the location. Walking distance to most of the sites and museums. Lots of restaurants nearby. For art lovers, the Botaro Museum is a must.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Milton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Casa deco is an excellent hotel. It is in a perfect location for touring the city and offers guests comfort and security.

The rooms are specious and the service is friendly. Breakfast is excellent.

Somethings that could be improved include: Adding heaters in the rooms: Bogota can get chilly, so it only makes sense to make it easier for guests to keep warm. (If you ask for a space heater they bring you one). Teaching staff a bit more about events happening in Bogota so that they can give better recommendations. And making the hot water in the showers a bit hotter.

It's not cheap, but it's worth it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 502Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

First let me state that this hotel is not awful but there are much better choices in bogota. It IS in the old part of town which is nice BUT it is very noisy not only noisy from the street but from the hotel itself the walls are paper thin you can hear guests coming and going and their conversations can be clearly understood while you are in your room. They also start playing this funky new age type music in the lobby at about 8 o'clock. LOUD too. Do NOT accept room 205 whatever you do it is insanely loud from the street. If you do stay here bring earplugs i did that was the only reason it was tolerable. The wifi didnt work very well in my room. I had to go downstairs to get a good signal. The breakfast was fine but is the same thing every day. I stayed at a few other hotels in bogota that cost less money and were superior in every way except for the charming location. Also my flight got in extremely early and they charged me for half a day early check in when there were plenty of rooms available. Maybe that is the policy but it was so noisy that i couldnt sleep anyway. Personally i found that very uncool. Staff was nice no complaints in that department. Easy walk to gold museum botero museum etc.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street. Room 205 especially
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a great hotel in a safe and good location. The customer service was excellent and very friendly; the room was very clean, spacious with a nice design. There is not boubt that I will stay in this hotel again in my next trip to Bogota.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mart1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You have two primary areas when staying in Bogota - La candelaria where this hotel is and uptown which is more high-end. I enjoyed this neighborhood and this hotel was perfect. Its has very warm staff, a nice rooftop, nice rooms and a great breakfast that is included. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Bogota can feel overwhelming on first arrival, but this hotel will soon set you at ease. A friendly welcome, information on the local area and a lovely sweet tea were all offered within moments of setting down our luggage. The rooms were spacious (if a little noisy), the breakfast excellent, wifi worked well, and they had a good safe storage room. You're right on the doorstep of all the main sights in the heart of Bogota. They have a security man on the front door for peace of mind, too. The hotel also kindly recommended a driver for us for an overnight trip to Villa de Leyva, all perfectly organised. Only disappointment was the hotel bar which was soulless.

Room Tip: The views get better the higher up you go (and easier access to the great roof terrace!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
BioHotel Organic Suites
#8 of 268 in Bogota
191 reviews
Chapinero
84 DC
84 DC
#13 of 268 in Bogota
399 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#42 of 268 in Bogota
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapinero
The Click Clack Hotel
The Click Clack Hotel
#33 of 268 in Bogota
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Property: Hotel Casa Deco
Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing