We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the quality expected for the price we paid”
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Deco
Ranked #19 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

No Air Con or heater. The first night it was very cold even with a portable heater, and with the addition of the noise, very hard to fall asleep. For $150.00 a night I expected better.
No elevator.
Good location in Candelaria
Reception. Very helpful and friendly
Breakfast was not a buffet. Coffee, bread, juice, fruit and eggs or pancakes serve in a small room, people were waiting for tables.
The junior suit had a small extra bed, it did not offer any extra luxury from a regular room, just extra space. The floor was not very clean. I said hi to the same dust bunnies every night!
Lighting – Very poor lighting for reading
Bed – Comfortable on the hard side
Linen – Clean and in good condition
Refrigerator- Even though it was a suite, it didn’t have one.
Wi-Fi- Included in the price and it worked very well.
TV- Modern with many channels some in English, in the small side and a bit far from the bed to see the subtitles.
Room for bags – Plenty of room
Kettle or coffee maker – No, there is free coffee by reception but not always fresh.
Bathroom- Very small with no room to set your stuff. The roof needs to be repainted. No shower pressure and hard to adjust
Towels- Good condition clean
Amenities – Soap, shampoo, Body Gel
Hair dryer – Wall, but has power
Recommend the Airport pick up service, after that the prices go way up. Tourist afraid due to the security issue pay outrageous prices for private transportation in Colombia.
Nice terrace on top.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a suite they are the same as the regular rooms with some more space.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianpaoloGM, Gerente at Hotel Casa Deco, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments; we appreciated them very much,
We feel bad that not everything was up to your standards, we are going to take into account some of your comments to work on making the hotel even better, however, things like the pressure of the water, is due to the fact that we are a Friendly with the Environment Hotel, our showers and bulbs are energy and water savers, and this is why the power is not the strongest, However we have some lamps additional lamps that you can request.
The hotel is an antic and restored house, and is protected by the government, thus not many restorations can be done to it. This is the reason why, we do not have an elevator, however there is always someone available to help with bags.
We feel sorry that you felt cold, 90% of houses in Bogota do not have heating, is like if you go to Cali or Santa Marta they do not have hot water, the coldest temperature that our rooms get is 15 degrees.
We thank you again, for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Deco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 771 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for many reasons. La Candelaria is a great neighborhood and this hotel provides a good home-base. The staff are willing to help with any question even if english is not always fluently spoken (admittedly, my spanish is not up to snuff, either). Touches such as fresh flowers, fresh fruit, fresh juice in the morning, great breakfasts, live guitar music while eating, coffee always available in the lobby, spacious rooms with large bathrooms, and a great roof-top terrace to grab a drink on make the experience complete. Conveniently located to sites such as the Botero & Gold museums and Montserrate - all easily within walking distance. Plentiful restaurants surrounding the hotel, the recommendations of the staff were always accurate. Additionally, a guard is always stationed outside of the hotel for added security.

A couple of tips for staying here:
-Gianpaolo, the owner, is one of the foremost experts on emeralds in Bogota - it is important to note he DID NOT offer this information unsolicited to us, we asked him (not knowing he owned the hotel at the time) for advice on emerald purchasing and he told us he was the ONLY listing for emeralds in lonely planet. We set up a meeting with him and had a great experience, he made the gem buying experience enjoyable and comfortable.

-Setting up a half-day to full day with a car/driver scheduled by the hotel is a great way to see the city and get out to surrounding sites (Zipaquira, salt cathedral, Guatavita lake, surrounding neighborhoods in Bogota). The hotel uses only one company as far as I could tell, request Margarita as she spoke great English and was fun to be with for the day.

-You do get some street noise on street-facing rooms but this seemed fairly minimal and, to be honest, is probably to be expected and should not effect your choice to stay here in the slightest. There are some rooms that do not face the street if this is a must.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. Provides a good home base and makes Bogota easily accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelDr6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

It may not seem much at first and to first time visitors to this area of Bogota you may wonder what you got yourself into when pulling up to this hotel. When the receptionist saw we were having a disagreement w the taxi driver he immediately came out and tried to help. The taxi system is a bit confusing. The meter amt is not what you pay but a code that corresponds to the fare which is located on a card on the back of the front seats. There are also extra costs for Sundays and to/from airport transfers. After some time of disagreement the taxi driver settled for the amt we were willing to pay. Later we found out we were right to argue, however not before getting ripped off on a trip to zona Rosa.

The rooms are simple but spacious. There is no heat or a/c and the water pressure is bad (typical for Colombia)... but there is hot water you just have let it run for awhile. They have a good map and highlighted a good walking tour from the hotel. The WiFi is OK from the lobby but not the rooms. There is a nice rooftop view. The area is safe during the day but the hotel warned us not to walk around at night. EVERYTHING is closed on Sundays in this area. I called every hotel within walking distance and it was closed. There is one restaurant (El Gato Gris) that the hotel recommended which is open but due to the bad TA reviews on food we skipped it. However it is a very cute place for drinks during the day.

It is noisy as others mentioned. You can hear people outside from the street and from inside the hotel. The best part of our stay was the breakfast. It came with fruit, fresh bread and marmalade. Eggs or pancakes and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. I'd recommend this hotel for location and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very impressed with this beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Candelaria. The hotel is very easy on the eye-fresh flowers, colombian art, bright colours and unstuffy spaces. The staff were impeccably well mannered and patiently coached and corrected me when I attempted to employ my minimal spanish in my dealings with the front desk. The owner Jan was particularly solicitous of my safety and even arranged a security escort for me when I checked out of the hotel and had to make my way to a slightly more grungy part of the neighbourhood about 10 minutes away!The rooms and the terrace are exactly as attractive as they appear on the Internet. I was upgraded to a suite (furnished with a purple theme) and would gladly pay the extra cost for this airy and spacious room if I were to stay again. Casa Deco is only a 5 minute walk to the Plaza Del Choro where I walked for dinner every night (my pick of restaurants was 'Merlin'.) You really couldn't get a better located hotel. And for the little tick boxes: appreciated being able to store my luggage for several days and use the hotel's back office computer for emergency internet transactions. Tip: try a Club Colombia on the terrace at sunset.

Room Tip: Suite was very spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice clean hotel in a good location in Caldaleria in the old part of town, Close to universities, so the streets are noisy at night and the single pane windows don't help. Nice accomodating staff. Nice amenities and a good breakfast.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The terrace, has a lovely view. It's location is perfect, in walking distance of the majority of museums and attractions. Recomended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is the best hotel I have stayed in for a long long time. It is cool, chic and classy. The decor and furnishings are stylish. The staff are very friendly. And the Italian owner, Jan, goes out of his way to make his guests welcome which adds a personal touch to the service that you don't often find. There are even fresh flowers in the room each day and a wonderful classic guitarist at breakfast on some mornings - what a great way to welcome the day! This is a great place to stay.

The hotel's location on the corner of Calle 12C and Carerra 3 is good. There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby (try El Gato Gris and Trattoria Nuraghe) and you can walk to all the major tourist sites (including the cable car). We walked around the area during the day and at night with no problems. There is a very visible security presence which seemed a bit of overkill... maybe there's something they didn't tell me about! Anyway - with a bit of common sense and regular updates from the hotel staff, walking in this area seems to be perfectly safe.

Room Tip: The hotel has a beautiful open timber staircase but it can be a bit of an echo chamber... Upper floo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggis_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#53 of 268 in Bogota
136 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#31 of 268 in Bogota
550 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#78 of 268 in Bogota
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#77 of 268 in Bogota
62 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#81 of 268 in Bogota
167 reviews
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#101 of 268 in Bogota
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing