We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute hotel with no detail spared” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Deco
Ranked #13 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute hotel with no detail spared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff and management of this hotel have thought of everything to make the guests feel more comfortable. No detail has been spared. The rooms are great and have been well looked after. The hotel is clean and everyone working there is very accommodating. Including security who carried our 6 suitcases up three flights of stairs.
You need to take in the location and atmosphere when staying here. Bogota itself is loud. Take it in and enjoy every part of it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    224
    42
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
329
106
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadeloupe
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is ideally located when you want to visit historical center.
The rooms are large and lightfull and the breakfast is excellent
Most of all, the staff is really helpfull to arrange tricky situation

Some negative points, though :

- No elevators, that is hard when elevation = 2600m......
- Solicitation at check-out to add tips in the total amount (i've never seen that for hotel check)

But overall, I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renselme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The warmth of the smiles of Felipe, Miguel, Christina along with the drivers Margarita and Hernando, made a terrific experience at Casa Deco even better. Can't say enough about their helpfulness in making arrangements, answering questions and always being incredibly helpful whether it was making dinner reservations at Andres, recommending a place in the neighborhood, or deciding how to best get to the Catedral de Sal in Zipaquira. The rooms are contemporary and comfortable with all the amenities you'd expect from wifi and a flat screen TV to bathrooms with blow dryers. A nice full breakfast deftly handled starts your day. For us the location was ideal close to all the major sights and down the block from Bogota Bike Tours and in a distinctive hotel that has character. From the booking process and information provided to a final thank you and good byes, the Casa Deco team aimed to make our time in Bogota memorable. They did. They truly could not have been more helpful, patient and friendly during the four nights we were there. ,

Some folks have wondered and commented about La Candelaria so a few thoughts. We felt safe walking around in the evening with omnipresent security guards blanketing La Candelaria serving both as reassurance and a deterrent, though more people on the streets would help ease any concerns. As for noise, I didn't think it was too bad, though i live in an urban environment. Part of the reason to be in La Candelaria is to be in the historic center and to experience a bit of the life and to interact with the people who call it home. Delighted to have called it and Casa Deco home during our time in Bogota.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel last weekend. I got the room 206 that is in front of the avenue 2. In this room you can hear all the people taking in the street and all the people talking in the bar of the hotel that is located right below this room. With all the noise coming from outside and inside of the hotel is almost impossible to sleep. I used to stay at Hilton located in the financial district of Bogota, very close to the T and G zone where most famous restaurants and bars are located for a lower rate than in this hotel. In this trip I selected to stay here because I want to visit Monserrate and la “Candelaria” . This hotel is located in the “Candelaria” zone that is the historical center of Bogota but is not recommended to walk at night.
Next day after a horrible night I cannot get hot water in the shower. In Bogota a city with a 14°C in average you NEED hot water in the morning. The staff is friendly but they are not fluent in English. The only good thing is the breakfast, fruits, juice and pancakes.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 206 is too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brikomil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianpaoloGM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casa Deco, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments; they are very important to us, as they are a way to get better every day.
We feel very sad to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory, none the less in regards to noise, we have install double glazed windows to help with this, however we understand that some people are more sensitive to noise than others, this is why we are always open to change hear you and help you ………..you could had ask us to change your room we would had been happy to do that, in order to make you more comfortable.
We do HAVE hot water in all our rooms, this comment comes as a surprise, as you can read on comments from other travelers is something that they have complemented us on. We deeply apologize for what happened however next time please just mentioned it, as I am sure we could have solve your problem in not time.
We do not think Candelaria is dangerous, you have to be careful in some areas, but that is a reality in any big city around the world. We are surrounded by bars and restaurants, and they are always full of people, showing that Candelaria is also a place to enjoy at night.
We are going to work harder on the points you mentioned as it’s for us very important to try and please our entire guest.
Thank you again for your comments
Wishing you a great day
Casa deco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

our room, we were three, was great. I noticed that someone else mentioned that the guitarrist, or violinist, I don't remember, began playing at 7:15 AM just outsdie my bedroom which faced the dining room. I queried the owner, who is Italian, and he said, "people are smiling when they here him" . He offered to have the musician, who is good, wait until 8 AM but the damage was done.
It is a bit over the top and, to me, tacky, to have such a great musician outside your door, or window, at 7:15 AM and to have the owner say that people are smiling when they hear him. Not in the rooms they're not. I don't want to get up until 8 or 8:30 AM on vacation. The hotel is an atrium like building and wants to be very art deco. The room, again, was great, but I think that the management is lacking in something, don't know what, but the word empathy comes to mind. Fine that the early risers listen to classical music. Not fine that it is as if the musician were in my room. Otherwise it is pretty good and very very clean and comfortable. Too expensive, though, for its location. Probably because it's art deco.

Room Tip: don't have a musician, as professional as he is, seranading breakfasters at 7:15 am installed di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tervesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unfortunately on arrival to Bogota airport and within 20 minutes of being in the country, I had all of my stuff stolen: passport, money, laptop, everything.

This could of been the start of a very tricky trip if it wasn't for Casa Deco. They went beyond the call of duty to make me straight away sure that Colombians are the most generous, kind and fun people around.

Casa Deco ensured I had money in my pocket, they leant me their laptop and they gave me enough apple tea to make me in love with Bogota again.

I couldn't thank them more for their help and generosity.

On top of this the hotel is clean, stylish, friendly. A great location. Great breakfast and of course great staff. Thank you for all.

Room Tip: The top floor has the most amazing pent house suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Bogota in September 2012 and had a wonderful stay at Hotel Casa Deco. It is in the heart of La Candeleria - old town Bogota - which has lots charm and character of Bogota. The staff of the hotel are friendly and had lots of great ideas of things for us to do. The rooms are large, clean, bright and colorful. The bathroom was amazing! Super shower! We had breakfast every morning in the hotel and it was a great way to start the day and practice our Spanish before heading out to see the city. We would definitely go back - there is lots more to see and do in Bogota and we only scratched the surface. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoboytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
BioHotel Organic Suites
#5 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#41 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapinero
84 DC
84 DC
#16 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#48 of 267 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#6 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Property: Hotel Casa Deco
Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing