We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean place!”
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Deco
Ranked #20 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I don't feel like I have more to add than what everyone's said. It's a great hotel in La Candelaria. The staff was great. Breakfast was very good (although the two mornings we were there, it was the same thing offered). It was a great experience and we're very happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 800 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Casa Deco at the beginning and end of our holiday in Colombia. It is a fantastic spot that is conveniently located (3 1/2 blocks from Museo del Oro and its Transmilenio station They've done a fine job with the beautiful renovation of the building, and our spacious room (#206) overlooked the corner through its curving windows. The rooftop deck is quite nice too. The dedicated staff makes this hotel stand out. The front desk staff are very helpful and kind, as is the gentleman who is the server for breakfast. While expensive in comparison to hostels in La Candelaria, the hotel is a value, in my opinion, for a major city boutique hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked room 206 so well the first time we stayed, we booked it for our second stay. I would imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powderdaysinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved Casa Deco. It is beautifully decorated with a variety of art, a passion of the owner. The rooms are large and comfortable, each with its own personality. The staff were so friendly and helpful, we stayed twice and they greeted us warmly on return. We needed to extend our reservation and they gave us the same room at a lower rate (no idea why?). The location is great, close to the Botero museum, our fave place in Bogota. Breakfast was delicious, with yummy Colombian coffee. This and a fruit tea infusion are always available, a lovely touch for a coffee-aholic like me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waughsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

excellent hotel with very nice rooms, staff, and breakfast. live guitar music during breakfast. the staff was very helpful and the location is excellent within the Candelaria area of Bogota. a bit pricey but i think it was worth it. Hotels in other cities recommended Casa Deco, so it has a good reputation within the industry.

Room Tip: there are 3 floors. the higher the better. but only about 6 rooms per floor. a nice patio on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mltb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We actually didn't manage to stay at Casa Deco as we turned up without a reservation and they were full. We were very disappointed as Casa Deco looked lovely. However, they welcomed us into their lobby, made us coffee, found us a reservation at a nearby place, gave us a free Botero bookmark and directions to the new place. We were incredibly touched by this experience as really, they didn't owe us anything...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank LuxinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was excited about staying here from the positive reviews. But my stay was disappointing, and I would not recommend this hotel.

First the location. It is in the historic centre of Bogota where there are quite a few tourist activities around. But there are very few restaurants or bars so you will have to travel long distances to eat and drink. The historic centre, while definitely safe, is a bit seedy. If I were to go back to Bogota, I’d much rather stay in a nicer area further afield (e.g. Zona G, or Zona Rosa etc), and just go for a day trip to the historic centre and surrounds. I just wish someone had told me this before my trip to Bogota.

I've travelled a lot, but would have to say the rooms are possibly the nosiest I have experienced. They play a harp in the atrium to cover up the internal noise, but it doesn’t make it any better. And then if you have a street facing room, you get all the outside noise as well. Bring some serious ear plugs.

People rave about the breakfast. I thought it was pretty ordinary. And the guy serving it was strange and unfriendly.

The staff are friendly – that’s a fact. But it’s really the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.

I would not stay here again, or anywhere in the vicinity. I'd probably stay in Zona G next time - the Hilton there looked really inviting...

Room Tip: Internal - not street facing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianpaoloGM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casa Deco, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments , they are very important to us,

we feel sorry to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory.

we know that the area where the hotel is located is not everyone cup of tea. However is the most Historical area of Bogota, in where you still find the original architecture, the old shops where you can find from a nail to a typical Colombian sweet, and the most important museums and touristic places to visit, for us this represents the personality of Bogota.

We are not a chain hotel, thus is not possible to compare us to the Hilton Hotel. its two different styles completely.

We would love to be suitable for everyone taste, however is impossible.

we still think that if you want to know the heart of bogota , Candelaria is the best option.

We thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Casa Deco for 3 nights at the start and 3 nights at the end of trip to Colombia. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff were incredibly helpful and most spoke good English. The location is excellent for sightseeing, being within easy walking distance of numerous museums and historical sites. It's not perfect for Bogota's top restaurants which tend to be located in the more modern neighborhoods which can be a 30 minute taxi ride away though one exception is the Macarena area just a mile or so away with several good small restaurants.

As others have said, the breakfast is excellent and the main negatives are the street noise especially at the weekend and the chilly temperatures. However, we requested a portable heater for our room which the staff were happy to provide and made a big difference.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#31 of 268 in Bogota
587 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#85 of 268 in Bogota
344 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#2 of 268 in Bogota
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#55 of 268 in Bogota
143 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#76 of 268 in Bogota
189 reviews
Chapinero
The Click Clack Hotel
The Click Clack Hotel
#39 of 268 in Bogota
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: $80 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing