We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Local Cuisine”
Review of Mini Mal

Mini Mal
Ranked #33 of 2,353 Restaurants in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chapinero
Description: This small restaurant is also the base of a design bureau. The fusion food served here is an amazing mix of the most delicious Colombian flavors. Coastal recipes meets traditional fruit desserts, along with some delicacies that are exotic even for the locals. I have lived here for a long time and this place is a revelation.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good Local Cuisine”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Mini Mal has a great, eclectic mix of cuisines from regions all around Colombia. The restaurant is located in a little house just off the main drag that sets it apart from the busier restaurant-packed areas of the city. My friend and I ordered some fish dishes that were well prepared but the flavor didn't quite blow us away as we had expected reading the other reviews on TA. The chocolate dessert we had at the end of the meal was alright, nothing spectacular. All in all I would recommend stopping by this restaurant if you have a couple days in Bogota and are looking for some authentic Colombian cuisine!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregoryfishki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    65
    24
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent & Unusual Fusion Cuisine”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Don't miss this unique dining experience. What a fantastic meal we had! This was, by far, the most interesting meal we had in Columbia. They offer gourmet Columbian cuisine from several different regions. The food was fresh, beautifully prepared and creative.

The rooms are small and the place is funky. Menus are in Spanish and English. The server was helpful and patient She offered suggestions when requested and all of her ideas were delicious!

Try some of the uncommon items on their menu--like the fire ants. You won't be disappointed.

Yes, it's difficult to find but it's worth the extra effort to eat here. Our taxi driver had great difficulty locating it. Not sure why as he had GPS.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank synthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unusual & interesting menu”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were in Bogota to see our son's family and visited this restaurant on his recommendation. They had an English menu for non-Spanish speaking customers offering very unusual dishes using fresh local and Amazonian ingredients. The soft drinks menu was interesting, juices made from almost all the locally available fruits, most of which I was not familiar with. As there were 4 of us,each one ordered different drinks and shared them. The food was similar with unusual ingredients like yucca and others incorporated in the meat and fish dishes. The service was excellent and the bill was reasonable. The light fitting as noted by another reviewer used kitchen utensils like deep frying basket, whisk, colander etc. There is a shop within which however was closed on our visit. I recommend this place as a must visit whilst in Bogota and taxis which are quite cheap is the best way to access this hotel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right address but wrong location on the map”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The address is correct which places it by carrera 4A calle 57 #52. It is closed for holidays through 15th of January 2014 so i did not get to try it. My Colombian friends highly recomended so i'm giving it 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank BlakeBBgun
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in Bogotá yet!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place has the best meal we've had in Bogotá! The place is small but cute and nicely decorated. The staff is friendly and informative - although I don't think they speak a lot of English. We went for lunch and even though we were told the meal might take a little while (because they prepare everything individually) the meal came pretty quickly. The food was delicious with a great blend of flavours. I had some prawns (Delirium) and he had Enchichao Chicken which was cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mini Mal also viewed

 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Mini Mal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing