We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be a little wary”
Review of Chorro de Quevedo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chorro de Quevedo
Ranked #15 of 296 Bogota B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Be a little wary”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

OK so I've given this place a three stars because my partner and I were messed around quite a bit during our stay here. The actual hotel was gorgeous inside! Use of colour is amazing and there is a really nice freshness around with fresh flowers and plants. The first night we stayed in what
seemed like a spill-over room right next to the dining space. In the morning it was extremely noisy. We were moved to a new room the next night, which was much nicer, but things just felt a little hap-hazard. The location of the hotel is good for exploring Bogota's, but our arrival late at night was a little bit sketchy, as the number above the door was faded badly and there is no signage. We probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Have some communication regarding your room ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    80
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
129
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for Friday and Saturday night on second floor. Hotel design is beautiful, and the owner has huge bouquets of roses and other flowers everywhere. The knicknacks and decorations are adorable. The breakfast (juice, fruit, omelet, croissant, coffee) is fresh, and well cooked. The staff is friendly, and Andres, the night concierge, was extremely helpful to set us up for a day tour of salt cathedral and guatavita by private car through a legit tour company.

HOWEVER, what killed all this was lack of soundproofing. We could hear perfectly all the conversations and noises on the street outside (which included blaring loud music Friday night), and also, the first and second floor share a window, so we could hear everything below us as well. Furthermore, the bathrooms (at least in our room) are only half done and separated from the main room by a sheet of OSB and a flimsy room divider. I would not stay here again if I hoped to get a decent night's sleep.

Room Tip: The higher (and further away from the street), the better. It was too noisy for us to sleep at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at this funky boutique hotel. Pros: a) the top floor penthouse was spacious and had two double beds one of which was in a loft with a ceiling made of glass. b) location was perfect, you walked outside to the plaza where Bogota was born and there would be street performers playing music, engaged in a mime or political comedy. Chorro is surrounded by universities so it was interesting to see the next generation of Colombians, c) staff (consisting of university students) spoke excellent English and were very friendly and d) location again within 6 blocks of all of the old city sites. Neg.s: a) the bed in the master bed room had a deep valley in the middle so one of us had to sleep upstairs, b) noise level can be distracting, when the hotel is completely occupied you can hear 4-5 conversations going on at the same time. Likewise the neighborhood was pretty noisy with barking dogs, et al. but it seem to magically get quiet by around 11:30pm, and c) the circular stairs are challenging and there is no lift for luggage. The male receptionist helped us get our luggage upstairs, but there was only a petite female staff member when we left so we were on our own.

Advice --- bring a good pair of ear plugs, rent the top floor room, sleep in the loft but move the bed so it is on the East Wall (you will get an extra hour without direct sun) and also bring eye masks if you are sensitive to light changes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse suite, and were blown away despite having seen pictures and having read the other raving reviews. The B&B is colorful and quirky, the view is incredible, the location perfect. Water pressure and temperature were great, even up in the suite. We highly recommend this place. Breakfast was simple and consisted of fresh juice, papaya and banana, croissants and eggs. We loved the yuca bread, for instance, available at many nearby bakeries.
It would have been nice if there was someone around during the day who spoke English to help us with our many questions. Obviously we should just learn Spanish, so this wouldn't be a problem. In the evening & night there was someone who spoke good English to help us out.
There is a kitchen in the suite, and they let us borrow some pans, but otherwise it's not well stocked.

Room Tip: The suite is incredible, but not at all child-proof. There are large parts where a curious toddler c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've stayed here twice and will come back again. The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, all the staff and the owner are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast which Luz serves is one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We chose to stay in this little B&B-type place because of the reviews that especially sang the praises of Massimo, the owner. He lived up to all the reviews -- he was very easy to communicate with ahead of time and very helpful/accommodating when we were there. The hotel itself is in a convenient location for exploring Candalaria, which is a great area in general to be able to walk to most of the other top tourist sites in Bogota. However, Candalaria is quite far from some of the other popular neighborhoods to explore for dinner and shopping, etc.

The rooms are very cute and, as other reviewers have noted, it's definitely best to book the top room if you can. It will be the quietest and it's also quite spacious - like having an entire apartment.

The staff was definitely the best part of this hotel. Massimo is great and was really accommodating. He arranged our pick up from the airport and a car to take us back (I recommend!). When he had a over-booking error for our first night, he took care of setting us up in a beautiful neighboring hotel for the same price and then had a driver bring our luggage over to Chorro once it was available so it was effortless for us. The hotel also very nicely held our luggage for us when we took a side trip for a night/day. The morning/night staff don't all speak English, but if you can speak Spanish with them they are still incredibly helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is delicious!

Room Tip: Choose the top room! It will be the largest, have the most personality and be the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at Chorro de Quevedo twice during September for 4 nights. I loved it. The location for me was great, within walking distance to everything I wanted to see/do, and very atmospheric. It was close to cafes and bars, and I had no problem with security, there were police on every corner, even a night. The first time I visited, I stayed on the 3rd floor in a room facing the street. The room was large and comfortable, and I had no issues with hot water, although the water pressure was low. This room was noisy on the Friday and Saturday night, as fountain square is just around the corner and full of university students partying. But ear plugs fixed that. Also, the room was a little cold, as it faces the street and there are wooden shutters to cover the windows, but there were extra blankets. On my second visit, I was given the penthouse although I only paid for a normal room, which is lovely, it's a pitty I only stayed one night. I chose to stay in the room at the back of the penthouse, not in the loft, and found this room much quieter and warmer than the other room I stayed in. I thought that the towels were threadbare and could definately be updated. The included breakfast was generous and delicious. The staff were great, particularly Andres who is there during the evening. He very helpful with sightseeing and eating suggestions, he speaks excellent English and is always offering to make you a coffee. The lady who is there during the day is also very nice, she doesn't speak English but she will use google translation to help you. Overall, I thoughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSolofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#16 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#91 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#118 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel Casa Guadalupe
Hotel Casa Guadalupe
#11 of 296 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#13 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chorro de Quevedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chorro de Quevedo

Property: Chorro de Quevedo
Address: Calle 12 b bis a n. 1-53 | Barrio La Candelaria Centro, Bogota 110001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chorro de Quevedo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and nice hotel only 20m away from Plaza del Chorro de Quevedo in the heart of La Candelaria, the colonial historical centre. The hotel is located in one of the oldest stony street where you can enjoy a beautiful view of the cerros (mountains) and of Bogotà city. From the hotel you can walk to Chorro de Quevedo Square with its bohemian atmosphere and artistic and cultural life, and to Concordia Square with its fruits/vegetable market and small shops full of pictoresque local life. The owner is an Italian entrepreneur (Mr. Massimo Gaudenzio) who is welcoming his guests with special attention and warmth. The cozy small bar at the hotel entrance is made from a tempered glass of an embassy door it is a magical place visited by artists, musicians, intellectuals, who love talking around a good glass of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chorro de Quevedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chorro De Quevedo Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing