We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Bogota!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Ranked #6 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at the Cranky Croc couldn't be better they're friendly, knowledgeable and informative. The rooms are comfortable and clean with lockers big enough to get a full size backpack in! The showers are good and hot, when the new shower block comes online (very soon) they'll be even better!! The food from the kitchen is tasty and the guests kitchen is well appointed. It's also in a great location to explore Bogotá. Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hostel with kitchen, hot showers and it's right in the middle of everything. It was being renovated when we was there so if you are staying there in the future I'm sure it's gonna be even nicer. For me it was a bit chilly there coming from Central America and we had problems getting our iPhones on the wifi. It's a great place to meet other travelers and it was clean too! :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Elise Mikalsen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

These guys are super friendly and have a great hostel. the food from the cafe is awesome, and you can also cook in the guests kitchen. The rooms are quiet and beds are comfy. The hostel is well placed and safe. Good hot water too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

About the conditions : the rooms are cold and very small, but there is hot water .
There is no way to sleep, it was a constant noise at any time !
The receptionist speak english wery well, andthis is rare in colombia.

The scam was with The gringo party at Andre carnederes ! We pay 60000 pesos (30 usd) per peson (group of 8) for trip to this party, with entrance and cuba libre on the bus included.
The cuba libre on the bus was a cola buttle with some cheap rom inside for all of us.

After a long trip, we arrived at disco - restaurant, outside the city, the driver left us there and run, we have to pay the entrance who should be included. The prices was high for colombia (20 usd a cocktail), there was no special party, just a usual disco night, and in the end they supracharged us adding a 16% fee on top of the bill.
That was definitly not a place to send hostel tourists !

Room Tip: Probably higher is better, warmer and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent a week here at the end of our trip in Colombia and have to say this is the nicest hostel we've ever stayed in.

- Really nice beds, with good linen and pillows.
- Really good showers
- Very clean bathrooms and sufficent numbers.
- Large custom built kitchen, with two stove tops and two sinks.
- Nice TV room
- Two coutyards which are very pleasant.
- Simple restarunt with good food - I recomend the fajitas, and the breakfast hours are perfect for those who may have been out the night before.
- Good coffee (we're Australians and I can count on one hand the number of good, proper coffee's I've had overseas).
-Great location
- Very pleasant buildings which are older style and nicley restored.
- Computers and wifi signal everywhere.

Amazing staff who all speak English and are super helpful. A special thanks to Marcela who helped us out immensily with a little visa over stay issue. That girl deserves a pay rise!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Listen if you're going to be in Bogota for a few days or a weeks this is where you want to stay. Seriously!! The beds are super comfortable and warm, the food is great and the staff are simply amazing. The staff will give you great advice, help you find whatever you're looking for and even do a shuttle service to the airport at a really good rate. I stayed here at the end of my 2month trip and it felt like a home away from home and I don't say that lightly(in fact I've never said that before). The kitchen is huge, the TV room is the perfect place to pass your hangover and the location is perfect for whatever you want to do in Bogota. The owner (although Australian) is the nicest, friendliest and most helpful guy you're ever gonna find. He helped me out of a huge pickle I had while staying there, for which I will be forever grateful. An absolute legend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishEoinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice hostel, with good location: 10-15 minutes to all sights in La Candelaria district, 5 minutes to supermarket, 10 minutes to the main drag of buses and colectivos around the city and to the bus terminal/airport.
Hostel can organize airport transfer. Yes, it’s much more expensive than even taxi (40.000 COP September 2013). But if you after a long flight don’t feel like getting into transportation stuff, or not sure which taxi driver you can trust, it’s the best bet.
As for hostel beside convenient location it has very hospitable stuff, very clean although basic rooms (at least private room with shared bathroom). Shared bathrooms were also surprisingly clean. Towels for room, soap (only in girls bathroom), toilet paper were provided.
Kitchen is big and easy to use if you prefer cooking. There are a lot of utensils. Only minus: there was no kitchen towel, neither dish soap (maybe it’s been, but I wasn’t able to find it).
Next to kitchen area is room with five computers (I don’t know, is it free or no). Beside this they have wi-fi in common area and in some rooms close to this area. In my room #3 I was able to use wi-fi.
The place is relatively calm and peaceful during day- and night-time. But audibility in the hostel is noticeable. So if some guests going back to hostel very late, or get up very early do not expect good sleeping. Probably only with earplug.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InaFolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#17 of 269 in Bogota
778 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#80 of 269 in Bogota
336 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 290 in Bogota
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#3 of 290 in Bogota
205 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#9 of 290 in Bogota
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranky Croc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranky Croc Hostel

Address: Calle 12d No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota 250055, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranky Croc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranky Croc Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing