We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alegria's Hostel
Nearby Hotels
EK Hotel(Bogota)
$136
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lancaster House(Bogota)(Great Value!)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$496
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$419
$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
98
58
22
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
58
22
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla candelariafree coffeeother travelershammockslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 218 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hostel was ok. Nothing special. It was fairly clean, the breakfast was ok, and it was a good place to meet other travels. They were unorganized, however, when it came to accommodating people. We made online reservations and they didn't even know we were coming. We also saw this happen to other people. The staff was pretty helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandAandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good place, very good price. Clean room, shower ok. Small breakfast but lot of good coffe. Some staff speak English but no french... In order to prevent problems You must speak a little spanish. The system of reservation by phone tend to be very average, not only to that hostel, by the way, (the staff, most of them part-time change frequently). Be ready to meet friendley people from all over the world !!! You will enjoy it, but some may be noisy. Far from the airport, you will have to use a cab: ask for the fare IN ADVANCE !!!. This is the old town of Bogota, that included some strange people in the streets around. Be careful, a little more than the average big town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the other bulding (at the corner of the street) quieter than the main bulding
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Sadly we were very disappointed with this hostel. After reading all the great reviews we had hight hopes of a friendly, welcoming hostel. This was not the case, there was no welcome and no apparent evidence of our booking despite showing staff our hostel bookers receipt. After being left in the lobby for nearly an hour we were shown to one room that was unsuitable as it only had two beds and we were traveling as a triple. No English was spoken by the staff therefore no introduction or advice was given about the hostel (breakfast etc) or the city. When the English speaking owner arrived we were made to feel unwelcome and uncomfortable to stay in the hostel. The room was satisfactory if you are nimble enough to climb onto a chair and desk to get onto the bunk bed. Bathroom felt homely. Sadly we didn't have the experience that most have, and did not get the services we paid for, we wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Alegrias Hostel. We arrived in the morning and she gave us the room. All was really clean and nice decorated. There was also a nice room with some couches and a TV. The Wifi was perfect and the hot shower rocked! (It's really cold in Bogota...) The staff was also really friendly and helpful. Alegria helped us to find a good taxi to the busstation. We had a good time in the hostel and can only recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We spoke little Spanish, but after three nights, we had a good basic Spanish grasp! Alegria was so helpful, friendly and put a great start to our two month trip to South America!

Breakfast was perfect for us, the main shower was just what you need once you check in!

Free wifi is a major benefit, and came in such good use.

Could've stayed longer, and already miss it!

Feel in love with Bogota, and Alegria.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews