We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay”
Review of Alegria's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alegria's Hostel
Ranked #77 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Alegrias Hostel. We arrived in the morning and she gave us the room. All was really clean and nice decorated. There was also a nice room with some couches and a TV. The Wifi was perfect and the hot shower rocked! (It's really cold in Bogota...) The staff was also really friendly and helpful. Alegria helped us to find a good taxi to the busstation. We had a good time in the hostel and can only recommend it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    56
    22
    22
    17
See reviews for
5
67
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We spoke little Spanish, but after three nights, we had a good basic Spanish grasp! Alegria was so helpful, friendly and put a great start to our two month trip to South America!

Breakfast was perfect for us, the main shower was just what you need once you check in!

Free wifi is a major benefit, and came in such good use.

Could've stayed longer, and already miss it!

Feel in love with Bogota, and Alegria.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great hostel not far from the main plaza and in walking distance of Libertador Simon Bolivars house and the cable car ride to the top of the hill overlooking the city. The hostel has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendy and extremely helpful. The dorms are kept clean daily as are the showers and toilets. A great plus here is the included breakfast. A relaxed and homely atmosphere prevails and it is a great place to chill. There are no rules and regulations. I will return and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with plenty of room to move about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

good value for money, staff are really helpful, activities advertised, facilities are well kept and clean, beds are comfy, love the dogs company makes it more homely
only drawback, the hostel is not insulated in fact the roofs are not connected to the building so it is as cold inside the hostel as it is outside which unfortunately for most is cold but easily fixed with extra layers :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camo-slade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great location and friendly staff. Double room cost COP55,000 and breakfast was included (not huge but still nice). Large kitchen, nice communal area and good place to meet other travellers.

They had initially double-booked our room but then sorted it out pretty quickly so were happy with the outcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I was surprised to read all these positive reviews. To us this was the weirdest hostel we have stayed in so far. The staff was nice but very crazy and Alegria did not seem to notice us until the last day, when all of the sudden she wanted to be BFF and play soccer with us?! The worst thing was that it was not clean at all. There was dog hair everywhere and the bin in the toilet did not get emptied enough. Which caused visible poopie toilet paper on top of the bin and floor. Also there were only 2 bathrooms (shower and toilet) in the whole hostel, which were always occupied when I needed to go. The first time we 'met' Alegria she was running around the hostel furious and throwing around tools and equipment to break something open. The kitchen floor was covered for a couple of hours with her mess. The last thing the staff, except for Alegria, did not know any English and/or things to do around. Many times we had to help translating and give tourist information and directions to the other guests, For sure there will be better hostels around. But if you like nutcases stay at Alegria's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Piet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I did not enjoy my 2 night stay here. First of all it was cold and full of dog hair, the breakfast was unappetizing, a cold, dry croissant with only butter to put on it, and a small cup of coffee. The breakfast staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, almost offended when i asked if there was a toaster or some jam to accompany the croissant. The man on the front desk i have to say made me feel safe there and was very friendly indeed, it was just the other staff that let it down. The first night i got there, there was no pillow for my bed and no lock on the door of the 4 bed dorm and so it constantly kept creeping open, although there were lockers at the front desk. The bed did seem clean and i had 2 really thick blankets. The 4 bed dorm i was staying in was totally overpriced as at about 5am every morning it sounded like some enthusiastic tap dancer was practicing above our heads whilst shouting at their friend some random conversation, of which we could hear every single word! The walls must just be paper thin so you could literally hear EVERYTHING that was happening in the bathroom outside our dorm...not pleasant! You could 100% find better accommodation around this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bogota
0.0 mi away
Fulano Backpackers
Fulano Backpackers
#39 of 257 in Bogota
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galeria Isla Ecohostel
Galeria Isla Ecohostel
#8 of 14 in Isla Grande
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eco-Hotel El Hamaquero
Eco-Hotel El Hamaquero
#2 of 4 in Isla Grande
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arte y Aventura
Arte y Aventura
#3 of 4 in Isla Grande
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Frog Hostel
Golden Frog Hostel
#4 of 14 in Isla Grande
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isla del Sol Hotel
Isla del Sol Hotel
#2 of 17 in Islas de Rosario
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria's Hostel

Property: Alegria's Hostel
Address: Calle 9 # 2 _ 13, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first community of hostels, 7 hostels in a island, 7 houses with the same pool , sharing the bar and restaurant. The community offers water sports and local experiences . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alegria's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria`s Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing