We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“not for shy newlyweds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata
Ranked #170 of 261 Hotels in Bogota
OC California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“not for shy newlyweds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A great online rate, a personal airport shuttle, good location, what's not to like?
Well, not much but I'll list them. The shuttle showed an hour late, (small car so not for big groups). The place is really pretty, nice architecture and the breakfast was substantial, (although they wait until you request something before running off to buy it). The location is convenient (if you are a frequent walker who loves soccer).
If however you are a "morning riser" and have romantic aspirations in the am, avoid the rooms above the dining room. You'll get either admiring glances or envious nods, depending on your sex upon descending for breakfast.
The shower was very much hit or miss....hard to get it just right.
All joking aside it's a nice house, well priced and the staff try really hard to please. You can do lots worse in Bog.

Room Tip: read above or flaunt it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hammer997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
256 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This cute little hostel is snug in a residential area with apartment buildings and quiet, safe streets. It's a strange juxtaposition, but offers a taste of classic Colombian architecture. This place is more like a B & B. The lobby has stone, wood and some natural lighting above. Rooms are spartan and antiquated in a somewhat charming way. Walls are paper thin. Bathrooms have basics at best (this place does have hot water, but some other 'quaint' hostels we stayed at did not - and this is typical). The owner was very accommodating, despite our late arrival. Also, they moved the timing of home-made breakfast to accommodate our early departure. We stayed there just for the night. Not sure how easy it would have been to see the sights from that location, so you might want to check it out to be sure. Took a great photo of the exterior the morning we left. Airport landing strip must be close by, due to the occasional sound of jets landing, but the taxi ride was about 20 minutes, I think, and affordable. We booked this hotel on-line, and I think we ended up paying more for it than otherwise, but not sure how I would have found a hotel in Bogota without doing it that way.

Room Tip: This place is about charm, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a small and friendly hotel in a quiet and safe neighbourhood.10 min walk to the buss and 20 min walk to a big shopping mall. The staff is very helpful and in particular Paulina is doing the outmost to help you. Room and breakfast is fine. If you want to be near bars and restaurants this is not your hotel though. Since it does not have a sign you need a correct and full address to find it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0lf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2011. The location of the hotel is good, in a quiet neighborhood, not too close to downtown but close enough to the main means of transportation (but it was difficult to find, since it seems the address has been changed recently in the area and taxi drivers are lost). The hotel is a big house adequated to the purpose, clean and well decorated. The rooms are a bit narrow but they have a big comfortable bed, table, closet and good tv channels selection; rooms are also well isolated from the outer noise. The bathroom is also a bit small but good for a short stay, although the towels offered smelled bad (I asked for a change but the new ones also smelled bad). The breakfast is offered in a small dining room, food is tasty and from a good quality but there is not many choices to choose (eggs, arepa -a kind of corn pastry-, bread and drinks). The staff is very helpful, I was gladly surprised of their frienliness and helpfulness with everything I needed. It is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: A room not facing the reception of the hotel, if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Nice,clean and good location. The staff are very helpful. Safe place and good price. It made my first time in Colombia very worthwhile. Breakfast is basic but flexible with time. Nice decoration in a Spanish style house..

Room Tip: there is a big room with same price. always ask for that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy592104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urubamba, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I chose this place to stay at for an overnight layover and I wish I could have stayed longer. I was concerned about some things beforehand, so I emailed them and got a prompt, helpful reply. On their website they tell you how to get a reputable taxi so that you can arrive safely and this, along with the low cost and the lovely look of the place was the final thing that helped my decision to book.

Even more gorgeous than the pictures, and the desk attendant was very helpful and friendly. Another reviewer mentioned that they prefer cash and I can see why - I'm not sure I saw any machine that could take cards, just a phone and a guest book on the desk. I was happy I decided to bring cash along to pay.

The room was lovely and clean and after a day's worth of sweat thanks to travel the air conditioning was blissfully cool. I would come back here for a longer stay if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwytherinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very reasonably priced, clean and cozy.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hostel is not near to the "touristy" Bogota but you have the transmilenio. If you learn to use transmilenio, you will go anywhere in Bogota with no problems and fast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtravelerDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Sarita
Hotel Casa Sarita
#171 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Metro 26
#218 of 261 in Bogota
3.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Siar
Hotel Siar
#213 of 261 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bogota Airport
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal de Federman
#95 of 281 in Bogota
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Comic City
Hotel Comic City
#213 of 281 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata

Property: Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata
Address: Carrera 56 37 A-08 | Barrio Nicolas de Federman, Bogota 111321, Colombia (Formerly Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 261 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marques de la Plata, Colonial architecture with a touch of modernity. El Marques is the best choice for those who are looking for Relax and a peaceful stay with best service. You will feel at home. We also welcome large groups and sport teams from all around the world. Friendly English-speaking staff ready to help you any time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing