We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cruz de los Andes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cruz de los Andes
Ranked #10 of 70 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is close to the city center but in a quiet side street and therefore not too noisy. I loved the murals in the public areas and in my room as well as the balcony with wrought iron - just missed a chair on it.
The bed was comfortable, hot water and WiFi worked perfectly well. Breakfast was very good and all staff friendly and helpful.
I just didn't like La Paz, otherwise I would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaMoorea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    100
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
103
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a well located hostel with comfortable rooms, good wifi and lovely breakfasts. The staff are very helpful also. I really liked the murals on the walls. I'd advise getting a room on a lower floor as it's very difficult climbing up all the stairs with the altitude.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank euphrosyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is well located near Plaza San Francisco and the main shopping areas on Sagarnaga Street.

The rooms are large with private bathrooms (nice hot showers) and are very clean. The beds weren't great, with v hard pillows, but passable.

The desk staff are helpful, and it's awesome that they have a travel agent in the lobby to help with buses, tours etc.

The place is very quiet so perfect if you want to relax but not great for meeting people.

Overall would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

It is in a good location, but the first few days the altitude will take its toll as its up the hill a bit from the main square. Rooms are brightly decorated with murals and both rooms i had, also had a blue toilet! Wifi worked most of the time, breakfast was good (cereal, bread, eggs cooked to order and tea coffee). You can often hear noise from downstairs or next door. It was never loud enough or frequent enough to keep me awake though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 5 nights (3 before our jungle trip / 2 after) in a double room with private bathroom.

+ big and clean rooms with good beds
+ good location in a relatively quiet side alley
+ very friendly and reliable staff, in particular the night guard
+ free and very reliable wifi at all places
+ cleaned the room daily
+ good breakfast
+ good and fast laundry service (10b / kg)

what could be improved in our view:
- make sure that the breakfast is completely ready on time
- fix the small holes in room 502, which do not look very nice (detail)

our conclusion: highly recommended. we would for sure stay here again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Like many have already said - this is more of a hotel than a hostel. The rooms are nice - they're clean and new and the bed is comfortable. The breakfast is good. The staff is helpful. The only problem is the place is a little noisy. The guests aren't loud - it's just that you can hear everything in the building. Anytime someone moves in a room nearby you can hear it and anytime someone is in the stairway or hallway on any floor you can hear it. Also, I didn't feel safe walking back to the hostel by myself after dark - but it is fairly close to a lot of the tourist stuff so a cab is cheap enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliemtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed several nights in this lovely, centrally located place. Were pleasantly surprised at the clean and bright, beautiful rooms.
Lovely breakfast set up, helpful and eager staff. Great value. Would stay again. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hostal Sol Andino
Hostal Sol Andino
#3 of 48 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.3 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 70 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arthy's Guesthouse
Arthy's Guesthouse
#6 of 70 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz de los Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz de los Andes

Property: Cruz de los Andes
Address: Calle Aroma 216, La Paz 00591, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 70 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have private bathrooms,tv cable,phones,breakfast buffet included in the price,garaje,front desk is open 24 hrs, internet is available on the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cruz de los Andes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz De Los Andes Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing