We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a place with probably the best showers in La Paz!”
Review of Cruz de los Andes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cruz de los Andes
Ranked #11 of 82 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Cruz de Los Andes for a total of 8 nights through a succession of trips to La Paz. It's great value, with private ensuite showers in each room & it was always great to find each room spotlessly clean.

Staff are super-helpful & the breakfast was good, & an added bonus.

Location is perfect- just 5min from the witches market, do we were right in the thick of things.

We'd recommend Cruz to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggieallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

It seems a little out the way but you are two streets away from the local market, two streets away from the witches market and gringo alley and about 4 streets away from the main square with the cathedral. Good wifi and showers (which non guests seemed to take advantage of if friends were staying). Computers and pool table downstairs which i didnt discover until we were leaving. Travel service which takes a little cut for getting your tickets (this is constant throughout peru and bolivia so if you are on a really tight budget you are best going to the bus station but sometimes its not worth the hassle). Waitress makes fresh scrambled egg on demand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The room was a decent size for 2 people with a large ensuite bathroom. Room and linen were clean, with new towels provided each day. The wifi was generally good, but could be unstable at times. The reception staff were friendly. We were particularly pleased they allowed us a very early check -in. The travel agent in the reception area was very helpful and handled our day trips and onward travel. The hotel is located close to most attractions. Most importantly, our stay was excellent value for money.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were there for a short term stay.

* Breakfast is free - toast/fruit/yogart.
* The rooms were basic. I got bite (see picture) not sure what kind of bugs :(
* There is internet. Signal was stable.
* Location is safe and quite.
* There is no elevator. So we have to drag our luggage to 3rd floor.
* Front desk is friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goccmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed this hotel for 3 nights totally before and after Uyuni.
The single room I stayed was small but clean and silent.

+: plenty hot water.
tour company next to the front desk(they were helpful.)
close to the main street.

-: the building has 5th floor but no elevator.
they sometimes doesn't accept credit card.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pogie9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

this hostal is located in the city center of La Paz. Staff really helpfull and profecional. The Hostel is safe and clean. Hot water 24 hours Breakfast is basic like in any hostel in Bolivia. The only problem is the location...is located in a small road and you need to pay attention when working after dark (or avoid it). Recomended 100%

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Rooms comfortable and cleaned daily, hot showers, super friendly staff, great breakfast with eggs if you want, hotel decorated with huge wall murals. Great location central to tourist area and local market area. I cannot fault this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brilee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#18 of 77 in La Paz
404 reviews
1.5 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#14 of 77 in La Paz
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 82 in La Paz
1,571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
#7 of 82 in La Paz
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Rover Hostels
Wild Rover Hostels
#2 of 82 in La Paz
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz de los Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz de los Andes

Address: Calle Aroma 216, La Paz 00591, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: $31 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have private bathrooms,tv cable,phones,breakfast buffet included in the price,garaje,front desk is open 24 hrs, internet is available on the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cruz de los Andes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz De Los Andes Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing