We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!”
Review of Cruz de los Andes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cruz de los Andes
Ranked #11 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent several nights here while travelling around Bolivia. Very friendly staff at reception and also in the in-house travel agency. Rooms are of a good size and decent enough and have wifi signal. Only thing negative about the place is the lack of an elevator, but i guess this helps with the acclimatisation process!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    100
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
103
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A very sound hostel, nothing particularly exemplary but no real complaints either. The rooms (we stayed in two as we had to return when our bus was cancelled) are of a reasonable size, comfortable and clean. Lack of storage space in one, poorly draining shower that flooded the bathroom in the other. The wifi was a bit patchy, but the staff were excellent, 24 hr hot water and the breakfast very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desio, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my husband spent 2 nights in La Cruz de los Andes in La Paz. The hotel is quite closed to the bus terminal and 10 minutes walking distant fron San Fransisco church.
The room are nice and comfortable. Nice paintings on the walls of each room.
The breakfast is good. Internet access and table pool avilable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, hot water 24hrs, decent wifi, nice breakfasts and a handy location. If flying to La Paz from sea-level may be best to avoid rooms on higher floors as there's no lift and lugging heavy bags upstairs at this altitude is no joke!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and clean room (stayed in a triple, ensuite) with balcony. Hot showers 24 hours. Delicious breakfast (incl. cereals, fresh fruit, yummy bread, ...). Good and central location. Inhouse travel agency for booking tours.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My initial impressions of this hostel were quite wrong, as it appeared a little shabby, but having spent 2 weeks in Bolivia, this was definitely one of the nicest places I stayed:
Hot showers - tick,
Wifi - tick,
Good quality breakfast - tick
Location close to main attractions - tick.
Whilst it may not be to European standards, overall this hostel is great, very cheap and offers everything you need for a short break in La Paz.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank HelenCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here twice and were hugely impressed with the rooms and service. It's hard to beat for the price! Near to the centre of town and close to bars and restaurants. Really helpful staff also who helped with my trip to a &e after a death road experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,058 reviews
2.3 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 76 in La Paz
1,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#6 of 76 in La Paz
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hostal Sol Andino
Hostal Sol Andino
#3 of 51 in La Paz
193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostal Ananay
Hostal Ananay
#10 of 76 in La Paz
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostal Iskanwaya
Hostal Iskanwaya
#4 of 76 in La Paz
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz de los Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz de los Andes

Property: Cruz de los Andes
Address: Calle Aroma 216, La Paz 00591, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have private bathrooms,tv cable,phones,breakfast buffet included in the price,garaje,front desk is open 24 hrs, internet is available on the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cruz de los Andes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz De Los Andes Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing