We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not pass this up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chacaltaya Ski Resort

Chacaltaya Ski Resort
Ranked #11 of 111 things to do in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“do not pass this up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Scary ride up to the lodge but the hike the rest of the way to the top was spectacular. Probably the highlight of my trip. Great views, I had no issues with altitude but I'm pretty fit. Others on the trip had problems. It's about a 1/2 day trip. Most tour companies will throw in the Moon Valley tour... that was lame.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MoCattyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    73
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great day out from La Paz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I took a day tour from La Paz and visited Moon Valley and Chacaltaya. Note there isn't skiing here any more! But the drive through the upper areas of La Paz was fascinating, then the scenery got better and better and we reached the mountain area. We were driven to 5300m and then walked slowly up a track to 5600m to enjoy the fantastic views. Amazing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Forgotten and beautiful (Milton Tours)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Chacaltaya Ski Resort is a somewhat strange but beautiful spot in the sparse mountains near La Paz. Most tour agencies offer the half-day-trip to the abandoned Ski Resort combined with a trip to La Paz' Moon Valley, another strange but interesting place. However, as the Moon Valley, it definitively is not a must, only if you're not doing any hiking in the cordillera real at all. Not much to do up there, just a 100 meter hike up to the peak (some agencies offer also downhill biking, looks rough though).

The mountains around it and the old ski ressort guarantee some nice views and photos.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cymande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, but dangerous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Chacaltaya is a very beautiful mountain but take care if you want to get in the top. My guide didn't walk together with us and we got lost. So, we took a wrong way and we almost fell down from the mountain. Can you imagine this? So, the place is wonderful but doesn't have any estructure for receiving people with no experience in snow mountains.

Helpful?
1 Thank lursmattos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, El Beni, Bolivia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chacaltaya Zongo ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Don't just go see the resort. It's an interesting place, but what's so much better is the mountain bike ride with Gravity Assisted Mountain Biking. Massive descent and such a wide array of scenery on a really fun road.
s

Helpful?
3 Thank Bgoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chacaltaya Ski Resort also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Chacaltaya Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing