We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded little gem in the heart of La Paz”
Review of Arthy's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arthy's Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Secluded little gem in the heart of La Paz”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

WARNING!! This hostel is not at all where the Lonely Planet guide (South America on a Shoe String) says it is. The hostel is located on the main road into central La Paz (Av. Perez) where Google Maps states it to be; about 10 metres North of the junction with Ingavi, behind a bright orange door.

Once inside, you will immediately appreciate the calm, quiet atmosphere which contradicts that of La Paz so starkly. There is a little shop selling all the essentials which is definitely appreciated when we simply couldn't face battling through the crowds outside. The reception staff are incredibly helpful and offer impartial advice, even going out of his way to help arrange an excursion for us.

The room was large and very comfortable. A continental breakfast (toast, butter, jam, tea, coffee milk) is available for 10 bolivianos (£1) and is very good.

The only disappointment was the shower; a trade-off between heat and power, not really ever adequately achieving either.

Overall, it was an excellent hostel offered at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    67
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
90
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Arthy's Guest House is an amazing place to stay (once you manage to find it - our taxi driver took longer to track it down than the time it would have taken us to walk - if we had known where it was)! It is hidden behind an anonymous looking door on the busiest road in central La Paz. You ring for entry, and it is very secure.

Once inside you have a spacious, clean, quiet and well organised hostel for your enjoyment, with great views on the busy scene below, from a large communal sitting room. The staff are friendly (and speak good English), security good, and downstairs there is a whole room of computers for visitor use. Rooms are adequate in size. the communal showers are clean (but not that hot) and there is a notice forbidding washing of clothes. However, nearby laundries do that for very reasonable prices. The main areas of the market and cathedral are only a short walk away.

On the downside, rooms lack storage areas and ours was not cleaned during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the main street are actually very quiet and seem to be the largest and with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed there twice. Before our trip to Rurrenabaque and afterwards. In the meantime we could leave some of our stuff at the hostel. People, who are working in that hostel are extremely friendly and help you whenever they can. We felt very safe (door's always locked) and everythig was very clean. You can use the kitchen and can also buy a lot of food and drinks directly in the hostel. The computers (for whoh you have to pay a little bit) work fast. The wifi is not always that quick. We felt very much at home during our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Arthy's many times in our trip to Bolivia and it's a great choice! Frendly owners, clean, 5 pmin walk from everything, a room patio and kitchen use made this place a good stop in La Paz.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwoin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although this guesthouse from the outside doesn't look like much from the outside on a very busy street (just an orange door), when you walk in you can instantly see how well maintained it is. The place is run very professionally, with bi-lingual staff and good security. They sell drinks and food for very reasonable prices. There is a well-equipped kitchen that is kept very clean. We stayed in a twin room, that was also kept very clean and tidy and the shared toilets and bathroom were kept meticulously clean.

The place is very quiet, not a party hostel, but that's what we were after when arriving in La Paz. There are 2 communal areas, a terrace with deckchairs and downstairs where you can watch DVDs or cable tv. We can't praise the staff enough for being so professional, you only need to tell them something once and it will be done. They will also provide any help and assistance you need in getting around La Paz.

There are perhaps a few things to note:

> Breakfast is that consists of toast, butter, jam, tea and coffee - 10BOB
> There are 3 computers for internet use - 3BOB an hour or wifi is free (and reliable)
> The showers are flow dependent, so the lower you have the pressure the hotter it is, but to be honest, if you're there in winter (we were in rainy season), they have gas heaters that they will happily turn on for you
> There is a curfew at 12am, but this isn't a bad thing if you're guaranteed a good night's sleep

The above really isn't criticism, it's just things to be aware of.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room on the street side, which is very noisy with cars and people up until the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejordans2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Quiet compared to other places in La Paz, but everything else was off. The lobby and lounge smelled like gasoline one day, I think there is a machine shop below the hotel. Showers had hot water, but the pressure was abysmal. Breakfast cost 10 bolivianos (tea, toast, butter, jam, juice). Computers cost 3 bolivianos per hour to use, while other places I stayed in La Paz computers were free. Room was clean. Room was over the main avenue in La Paz, so the room was loud with honking and shouting from the street. Wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If your after a tranquil and laid back place to stay in La Paz make Arthy's your choice.

Clean rooms, kitchen, TV/lounge area and sun deck on top. Plenty of information about La Paz and Bolivia in general as well as the rest of South America. Staff are extremely polite and helpful. The owner even helped me with a passport problem of mine which put my mind at ease to say the least!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fagleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 76 in La Paz
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Rover Hostels
Wild Rover Hostels
#2 of 76 in La Paz
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#6 of 76 in La Paz
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
#9 of 76 in La Paz
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskanwaya
Hostal Iskanwaya
#4 of 76 in La Paz
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthy's Guesthouse

Property: Arthy's Guesthouse
Address: Av Montes 693, La Paz 28035, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arthy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing