We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent winebar, shame ther's no kitchen!”
Review of Hallwright's

Hallwright's
Ranked #54 of 434 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hallwright's philosophy is to promote the best of Bolivia`s wines and to showcase each unique winery, their histories and their high quality products. Also is to promote local Bolivian produce and producers. When in comes to food, we are proud of our cuisine, and each dish showcases a different stage in the road that led us to where we are.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent winebar, shame ther's no kitchen!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Happy hour has changed to 18:30. Excellent choice of wines on or off the happy hour, relaxed atmosphere, fabulous music - make sure you've eaten though!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alix s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallwrightsBar, Propietario at Hallwright's, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you int eh next happy hour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    28
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Find in La Paz”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Found this quaint wine bar while studying abroad in Bolivia. Luckily I found it my first week so I was able to return an excessive amount of times before my trip ended. This place not only has great, wine, food and hot chocolate, but one of the most relaxed atmospheres in La Paz. The service is amazing, including the great australian guys who speak english helping out those non spanish speakers. The prices are completely reasonable and the happy hour special is awesome! I definitely recommend this place to anyone whether it be foreigners or natives. Also the music is great and you can always expect to hear a new soundtrack every time you come in. Not to mention this is the best wifi in La Paz if you're looking for some! One hundred percent check it out and enjoy yourself!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallwrightsBar, Propietario at Hallwright's, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you very much for such an amazing and informative review. We are very glad you had a good experience with us. Hope you can come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best wine bar in the city”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Enjoying a good wine is, above all, a fine sensorial experience and Hallwright's provides the ideal setting to do so thanks to its policy of keeping a 100% smoke-free venue, in addition to its delightful and innovative cheese platters and sandwiches.

The staff is quite attentive and friendly and the owners do their best to keep the good vibes at the place. Definitively, Hallwright's is one of the best bars in the city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daltry_Garate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallwrightsBar, Gerente at Hallwright's, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you've enjoyed our smoke free bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aussie travelers!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic little place in the middle of La Paz! Thoroughly enjoyed the selection of wines, the tasty snacks and super friendly service! Very highly recommended, everyone must see!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallwrightsBar, Propietario at Hallwright's, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much for you review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed our menu and service!, hope you can come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Taste Oasis!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stumbled across this place on my last night in La Paz and wish I'd found it sooner. Really good selection of cheese and wine with a strong ethos to source and promote high quality, local Bolivian produce.

While I was there a prospective supplier dropped in with some tasty samples and the super-friendly bilingual (English-Spanish) folk running this place sparked an impromptu tasting session for all the customers seated at the time. Hopefully the Llama Liver Pate or Lake Titicaca Trout Caviar I tried that night may have made it onto the menu by now!

I chose Argentinian Malbec (although plenty of Bolivian Malbecs available on the menu) and a Cheese/Charcuterie board. The wine was good and the food great....all Bolivian produced and the Llama Salami was the stand-out item. Commendable range of cheeses on offer too.

The atmosphere in this place is warm and friendly and I felt you could easily strike up conversation here with neighbouring tables or the staff due to the inclusive layout of the seating in the bar area. More intimate privacy available in the tables in the other room.

These guys are doing a good thing, and doing it well. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallwrightsBar, Propietario at Hallwright's, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review, we are thrilled you enjoyed the atmosphere and the products we are promoting. We also had a great night trialing the products with you all and just to let you know the llama liver pate made it onto the menu! Hopefully you will visit La Paz and us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallwright's also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Hallwright's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing