We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostal, superb staff and location!”
Review of Naira Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naira Hostal
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hostal, superb staff and location!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this place. We booked a double room as a couple after reading the reviews on here. It is superbly located in the centre of things, it is very clean and beautifully decorated, the staff are professional and helpful. They booked us cabs to visit various places (ask them to take you to the higher points of the city the photos are amazing! 60 BOL for 1 hour) and advised us of the fixed price. They have 24 hour security and a maid cleans your room daily. It really is a cut above and the food in the restaraunt was inexpensive and delicious - the cakes especially! We emailed ahead and asked to be put on the court yard side as apparently there is a little street noise at the front and the staff did this. It is a little more expensive than your average Bolivian hostel however it was worth it, would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    129
    53
    15
    11
See reviews for
19
128
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in late November 2013. The location is hard to beat. 1 min walk from Plaza San Francisco, and plenty of restaurants, lavenderias, money changers, tour agencies around.

This is a hotel, not really a hostel. With a lounge, a bar, a restaurant, daily cleaning service of rooms, towels, shampoo etc provided. Bed was comfortable and room was cozy.

Rooms are arranged around a central courtyard, with a few overlooking Sagarnaga Street. I stayed in room 105, which was facing into the courtyard and, unfortunately, right next to the kitchen of the restaurant attached to the hostel on one side, and the dining room on the other side. So I hear kitchen noises late into the night and early morning as breakfast is prepared. Additionally, the courtyard also traps and carries noise very well so you can hear conversations loud and clear. One morning at 6am, a couple decided to Skype in the courtyard (wi-fi signal is not great in the rooms), and I could even hear what the other person on Skype was saying - through my ear plugs!

One last point is that my room only had one small window above the door to my room. Did not provide much ventilation. And no, closing the window only made the room noisy AND stuffy.

Perhaps the other rooms were better, but for my experience, this would have been a great place to stay had the soundproofing been better.

Room Tip: Avoid room 105!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burpingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Right next to Plaza San Franscisco, this Hostal is in the perfect spot. It still manages to remain very quiet though! It´s not really a hostel, but there are plenty of communal areas. Very tidy rooms, and perfectly hot water. Helpful staff and the best breakfast I´ve had in all of South America.

Room Tip: The rooms over the courtyard are a touch noisier at night. Try to ask for one away from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0seph0d0n0ghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you like to stay in the heart of a city then this is a great option. Naira Hostal is just a block up from the San Fransisco Church, so is walking distance away from everything in central La Paz. Hostal really isn't a great word for it, as this is a very nice Hotel. The rooms are well appointed, breakfast delicious and the common areas make you feel like you're in a posh hotel. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked the main strip and it was wonderful just to stand out there and watch all of the activity going on. Some people might worry about the noise but actually the room had thick wooden shudders which blocked out the noise and ear plugs ensure that absolutely nothing is heard. Wi-fi is also good here. If I'm back in La Paz this is absolutely where I'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineHughesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Naira Hostal. The location is perfect -- right beside the church and on the main tourist street -- so easy walking distance to restaurants and such.. There's a coffee shop downstairs in the hotel where they serve a breakfast buffet, which had scrambled eggs, pancakes, fresh juices, breads, and strong coffee... it was a fabulous included breakfast. La Paz isn't a very safe city, but we felt safe in this hotel.

The room was large with a table/chairs. Hot showers, super clean and safe. Internet was fast. I wouldn't describe this place as a hostel... it's more like a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

In the hectic craziness of La Paz, this hotel was a lovely calm sanctuary. It is close to main attractions, good restaurants and shopping areas. The internet is quick, the hot water reliable and the staff very friendly. The cafe/restaurant attached to the hotel is quite good and the breakfast one of the best we had in South America. The rooms were quite noisy though - we started in one of the rooms at the front but the noise from the street was so bad we changed to one of the rear rooms. There was no street noise but the staff rattle service trolleys and wheeled bins through the courtyard at all hours of the night.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear are quieter, as long as staff do not make noise in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June 2011. The rooms were nice and the breakfast was good. The location is great, as you can go walking to all the main points of La Paz. It stays right next to the Witches' Market. A few blocks up its the Illlampu Avenue, wich is good to buy equipments for hiking and climbing. And there are many cheap markets and nice restaurants nearby. I had to wake up at dawn to go away and they had a nice breakfast for me to take away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diogopcampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ritz Apart Hotel
Ritz Apart Hotel
#11 of 76 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#19 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Austria
Hostal Austria
#28 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naira Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naira Hostal

Property: Naira Hostal
Address: Sagarnaga 161, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Hotel Class:3 star — Naira Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Naira Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naira Hostal Hotel La Paz
Naira Hostal La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing