We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hotel in La Paz”
Review of Casa Grande Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Grande Suites
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
PTY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in La Paz”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is probably the besst hotel in La Paz - excellent service, good food. it is located in the south side, close to other restaurants, shops, and five blocks from the 21 Street San Miguel.
Food was very good, room service took 20 minutes at the most all the time, and the staff were just the best: wiling to help, with the greatest attitude. It had a very complete kitchenette, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean... Just top notch!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
24
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very nice hotel, good service and delicious food that can be sent directly to your room. Very clean and nice, great room for little money. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Th0rAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

this was my first visit to la paz, and I could not have chosen a better hotel to stay in.

the location was perfect for me - about 10 minutes drive to the office, and within easy walking distance of tons of great restaurants. there is also a large grocery store (ketal) about 2 blocks away, where you can buy drinks and snacks if needed.

the room was huge, including a kitchen, dining area, sitting area, large bathroom, and two full beds. way too much room for just one person! it was really convenient to buy some drinks at the store and chill them in the refrigerator. the bed was not super comfortable, but the housekeeping was wonderful and kept the room very clean. they also brought a bottle of water every evening as part of the turn down service.

the staff throughout the hotel (front desk, housekeeping, door men, wait staff, etc.) were incredibly friendly and helpful. I also really enjoyed the complimentary cocktail coupon that I received at check-in.

I definitely recommend this hotel to people visiting la paz.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at 5 different hotels during our 10 day stay in La Paz and Casa Grande was our favorite. (see my other reviews on the Ritz Apart Hotel, Camino Real, DM Andino and Hotel Gloria in Copacabana) The hotel is situated perfectly in Zona Sur. It was 2 blocks from the main shopping and eating area, which had everything! Alexander Coffee, a German Pub, Argentinian and Brazilian restaurants, Local cafe's, skate shop, and galleries. It was fun just walking around! Not to mention the VIEWS! Completely surrounded by red rock Andes mountains and lunar looking rock formations. We're from Colorado...and the mountain views were breath taking. It was like having a hotel in the middle of Red Rocks theater. Also, very reasonable prices for a 2 bedroom - 2 bath room...living room, kitchen with a coffee maker and coffee. Every hotel (except Gloria) had a full kitchen...but none of them had a coffee maker, coffee AND milk...not powdered but real milk. It seems silly, but we loved making cafe con leche in the morning. The staff was wonderful. They scheduled all our cabs, luggage and even coordinated our bike tour on the Death Road...no additional charge. It will be the #1 spot in the future, whenever I visit my family in La Paz. My one complaint is they let people smoke in the lobby. Not unusual for South America. The rooms are non-smoking...but the smoke from the lobby funnels up the stair case. Freaked me out one day, so called down and they opened the lobby doors...problem solved.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor. I bet the views are even better higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dina1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minett, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

we were very impressed with this hotel and the very comfortable and spatious suites. A bit of luxury, which we returned to three times after various excursions around Bolivia. The hotel safely stored our luggage, and it was a treat to return to comfort, lovely linen, toiletries and hot water. We found the food very nice in both restaurants and really found the staff to be fantastic - from the manager to the waiters to the bellboy.

The only downside to our stay was the very weak wifi in each of the rooms we stayed at. A bit of an inconvenience at times. Otherwise, highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Casa Grande hotel is ideal for extended business trips to La Paz as it provides a really lovely home setting.

Rooms:
It is an all suite hotel, each apartment has 1-2 bedrooms and 1-2 full bathrooms, a kitchenette with stove, microwave, coffee maker, and basic utensils, and a generous living/dining room area. Amenities include flat screen tvs in the bedroom(s) and living room, and dvd players available from the front desk, as well as an ipod dock in the living room for music. The front desk can also provide other amenities as requested, including humidifiers. All rooms are non-smoking.

Lobby/restaurant:
As opposed to the Camino Real (the Casa Grande's main competitor in Calacoto), the lobby is warm and inviting, with a comfortable seating area and bar. I had several meetings there during my stay. The restaurant is quite small, but the menu was pleasantly diverse, the food tasty and well priced. Breakfast was really well done, with eggs any way you like them, french toast and pancakes made to order (not limply steaming in a chafing dish), house-baked bread, and lots of fruit and fresh fruit juices. The hotel is just a few blocks from the bustle of San Miguel with lots of shops and restaurants and I felt safe walking on my own or with a colleague over there most evenings.

Location:
I never needed to go to the city center (except to sneak some bargain shopping in on the weekend), so traffic wasn't an issue for me- it was quick and easy to get to Obrajes (where the office was), most of the people we needed to meet outside of the office live in Calacoto or nearby, so it was convenient for them to meet at Casa Grande on their way into or out of work, and my many trips up to El Alto to visit project sites were a piece of cake up one of the many new alternate routes out of the canyon.

Staff:
The staff of the Casa Grande are really what made the stay for me. To a person they were all polite, friendly and very helpful. Because I worked from my room quite often I got to know the cleaning staff very well, and they quickly adapted to my schedule - they were efficient and very thorough in the cleaning and fit it in during my coffee or lunch break so as not to disturb me working. The kitchen staff was excellent as well, and quickly learned my preferences for breakfast. The door men were extremely professional, and knowledgeable about the area

Bottom Line:
I've found my favorite place to stay in La Paz, and would go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms _02 and _03 (on every floor) get LOTS of afternoon sun- to the point where it is rather hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent a few nights here while staying in la Paz. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and accomodating. The room was a suite with a kitchen and living area. All large, clean and comfortable. It's in the south district which is a little way away from the main centre of La Paz, it was easy enough to get a taxi into the central area (we paid Bs20 for a taxi in).

Room Tip: The higher up you go the bigger the rooms and the quiter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#3 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#1 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atix Hotel
Atix Hotel
#9 of 76 in La Paz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
3.7 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Suites

Property: Casa Grande Suites
Address: Av. Ballivian, Esq. Calle17 N.1000 | Calacoto, La Paz 1132, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Grande Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique settings and a concept rarely seen in the country. Avant Garde desing that combines esthetics, and comfort in a way that defines it’s personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Grande Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing