We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good not amazing”
Review of Gustu

Gustu
Ranked #10 of 411 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: GUSTU works exclusively with Bolivian native products, transforming them in a trip through Bolivian richness and diversity.
Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good not amazing”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I see some people criticize the fact that the food was not criolla enough or that you can get those ingredients at any market.
Well, it kind of hits the point. We are having local ingredients with the chef's twist. Also perhaps these people do not know much about molecular gastronomy and they do not understand the flavors.
Anyways, the reason why I like this place is because they are so much more than a restaurant. Any individual that has every read/seen what this foundation is doing for poor people and their lives, should still go and support

Its not the restaurant that matters. The chef has a much larger mission and he is helping. So stop complaining and spend your money

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    154
    56
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in La Paz”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Whilst travelling around South America, some friends recommended Gustu and we're glad they did.

A group of 8 booked the morning of our visit and had no problems getting a table. We opted for the 5 course tasting menu with alcohol pairing, which including tip came to around £50. The drink pairing is good if you're like me and not that keen on wine, we had a mix of beer, wine and cocktails.

Each course was explained to us as it was set down, especially when local ingredients were used, which was interesting. We also learnt that during it's 'siesta' Gustu is a culinary school for Bolivians. They are trained in all areas from waiting tables to management.

A member of the team was kind enough to give us recommendations for our next big city, Lima, which proved to be well worthwhile visiting.

If you're in La Paz, Gustu is a great way to while away an afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Must Try in La Paz”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We heard about Gustu through friends and decided to go for lunch on our last day in La Paz. I wish we had gone sooner as I would definitely have gone back.
The drinks to start were amazing. While they were all very good you should try the Ginger Beer and Coffee Banana drinks.
The food was great and beautifully presented. The chef, who is Bolivian, was on hand to explain many of the dishes.
If you are in La Paz you need to go to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A top treat to excite the taste buds”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Heard about this restaurant from people on the free walking tour in La Paz. Had obviously heard about the sister restaurant in Denmark so decided to treat myself to some fine dining particularly as the food in Bolivia thus far has been disappointing.
The maître de is very knowledgable and friendly and everyone in the restaurant is passionate about the food and the service. Had the 7 courses with accompanying wines and was very good. Favourite course being the chocolate mousse paired with a delicious port(o).
Decided to go back twice with other friends as a double treat as not sure when I will get this opportunity again.
A must culinary stop on any persons trip to La Paz.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great night out at Gustu.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had the 7 course set menu with pairings and enjoyed it very much. The food was extremely local and interesting. Each dish was well explained, as were the pairings which included quinoa beer, white wine, red wine, and sparkling.

The rabbit and lamb were the biggest hits for us although it was all quite interesting. It wasn't an example of traditional deliciousness, but rather a unique take on Bolivian ingredients. In all, dinner cost us around $200CAD.

The setting was great and so was the service. It was really cool to be able to see the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustu also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Gustu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing