We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else”
Review of Hostal Isidoro's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Isidoro's
Ranked #42 of 83 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hostel boasts of being close to the bus station, which it is. It ends there of what it can boast of. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest; the staff could only speak Spanish; room window wouldn't lock and as i write I am eating their "breakfast" in reality this is slices of hard French bread, cold coffee and tea that tastes like someone's died in it. Happy days. Never been so happy to leave a place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisegodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good proximity to the bus station (which is why we stayed) but otherwise a little far out from the centre of La Paz. Hot water was sporadic and didn't work for most of the time. Internet was fast when it worked however had periods were it wouldn't connect. Very comfy rooms and blankets were plentiful for the cold winter. TV in private rooms with English speaking channels.

Had some problems when we tried to was our clothes. after just getting back from the rainforest we had a lot to wash. Arriving on a Sunday we were told everything was closed but assured we could do our washing on the Monday and have it ready for 6pm. When we inquired the next day we were told we'd have to wait until 9pm but we had s bus booked before that. We tried to find a solution and were sent to another laundrette which was very expensive and a 30 minute taxi ride away, an hour round trip! When we spoke to the manager he said they never offered laundry despite the flyer for the hostel in my hand saying otherwise. Would have been a good stay if it wasn't for the issue with the laundry.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nicola11491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was freezing as La Paz is in july. No heating in the rooms. Large room but not very cosy. Tv with lots of channels. Actually found a channel in English. Nice staff. One of them spoke fairly good English. Feels safe as they lock the frontdoor. Hot showers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in two rooms here. The first was a double room with shared bathroom. The second was a matrimonial room with private bathroom. The first room lacked atmosphere and a nice shower. The second room was perfect. The shower was hot, the room spacious and the room itself was less cold. (La Paz at night during june-juli is freezing!)

The hostel comes with free wifi and very friendly staff. It is located a 10 minute walk from the city centre. We didn't feel unsafe when walking back at night; the hotel is situated along one of the biggest roads of the town.

We paid 130bolivianos per night, breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hostel is literally right behind the bus station.
So if you are not staying in La Paz long, I recommend here.
The owners are Christians too.
Breakfast is less than $1 US for 2 people.
It is very quiet and clean.
Hot Water and nice rooms, but you might need an extra blanket.
La Paz is cold.
The rooms aren't heated is about my only comment they could rent a heater and I would have paid.
Staff are friendly and helpful. towels are supplied.
It is not close to restaurants though, only local food around the corner.

Room Tip: back lower floor is quiet, near cafeteria, and has a big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pricilla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank María Isabel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 77 in La Paz
316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Landscape B&B
Landscape B&B
#20 of 83 in La Paz
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 77 in La Paz
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Joya
Hotel La Joya
#38 of 77 in La Paz
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Isidoro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Isidoro's

Address: Cobija Street No. 120, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: $16 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Isidoro's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing