We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is actually one of my favourite hotels I've ever stayed in! Why? Well the rooms are bright, modern and spacious with super comfortable beds and the most incredible views. The staff were extremely helpful, even offering to bring my husband breakfast long after it was over when they noticed he was sick and hadn't eaten. The location is also great, as it's located in a mall which is handy if you want to go watch a movie or eat in the food court.
The food at Stannum was also good and we enjoyed two free drinks at the bar. The decor throughout the whole hotel is very modern and stunning. I highly recommend Stannum!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review and share it on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to know how much you’ve enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The views offered from our rooms are unique. It is great to know that our small details are really appreciated by our guests and make you feel special and welcomed.
We would like to thank you for recommending us too.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    128
    30
    9
    1
See reviews for
36
210
50
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The staff at the Stannum were great. They are helpful and efficient. The rooms are ok and the restaurant food is great. Views from the room on the 12th floor are nice. Bathroom is a good size and well designed. Breakfast was good and served at decent hours.

The rooms are small or at least feel small. Wifi needs improvement for a hotel of this standard. The service in the restaurant is not great when the other three or so tables are occupied (the restaurant is tiny). A hotel of this standard should have bathrobes and slippers but it does not. A hotel of this standard should also have nice menus in the restaurant and not laminated papers which you would expect to find in a cheap roadside coffee shop. Overall the hotel is trying its best but small things such as these make all the difference. I asked for a feedback/comment form but they did not have any so our suggestions had to be made here.

Room Tip: If the hotel has rooms without an interconnecting door go for that. Our had one and the guy next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyKni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of Stannum Boutique Hotel we would like to thank you for letting us know your experiences at Stannum Boutique Hotel. We are very glad to know that you’ve enjoyed the comfort of our rooms as well as the views and breakfast.
We are very sorry to hear about the feedback form, we have them at the front desk, I believe we were out of stock at that time. Each customer is very important and the service that we offer is our major priority. We are making some changes and implementing new menus on the restaurant.
Once more, thank you for your review which will help us to learn from it.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

M wife and I are in our mid 60s and travel without the aid of a touring service. When we select hotels, it is a bit of a chance using the internet. Usually it is as advertised but occasionally we are disappointed. In the case of the Stannum, we were completed awed by the intimacy and luxury. We are not 5 star persons but to us this hotel seems like a 5 star. Everything exceed our expectations including the 12th floor views, taste of the décor and especially the attentiveness of the staff. Steve Bravo is very knowledgeable of the history of the area a speaks English perfectly. The one down side to this hotel is that it is not immediately next to a restaurant district. The restaurant in the hotel is however excellent and you will never get a better restaurant than the one that overlooks the street.

Oh yes, one last thing. The price seems exceptionally reasonable. I would pay twice this price for these accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Stannum Boutique Hotel and leave such a wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to know that your stay was pleasant and our staff will be always keen to help our guests in anything they may need during their stay.
It is really a pleasure knowing that you were not disappointed and the Hotel had fully fill your expectations.
Once again, thank you for choosing Stannum Boutique Hotel and experience our service.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Stannum is situated on the 12th floor and has amazing views of La Paz.
It is a small boutique hotel which offers a terrific service. The staff are friendly and helpful and the restuarant serves delicious food at affordable prices.
It is very mordern but extremely comfortable. You are guaranteed a good nights sleep as the beds are extremely comfortable.
This small hotel is a little gem.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view of La Paz
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Stannum Boutique Hotel and taking the time to make a review and post it on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you’ve enjoyed the comfort of our beds, the service and the food at our restaurant. We really appreciate your feedback which help and encourage us to provide a better and improved service for future guests

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This boutique hotel lives up to all expectations. The beds are second to none! The restaurant is fabulous. Unfortunately, due to a power cut, the owner of the hotel moved all the guests to another hotel at his expense. We would have stayed at the hotel had we not had a very early flight the next morning. I would defintely stay at this hotel I I was eve back in La Paz!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joni101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know that Stannum Boutique Hotel had exceeded your expectations and that you had a very enjoyable stay. We will be more than happy to have you as a guest if you ever decide to come back to La Paz.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was REALLY excited to stay at this hotel before we got there. We had seen a deal on a booking website and decided to spend our last night in La Paz at this place. Our other hotel was great too (see my review on Hotel a la Maison), but this place boasted amazing views of the city and it was very fancy, etc.

We were on a backpacking trip, so upon our entrance in the hotel we got some looks for not being all dressed up...we had come with backpacks to see the rainforest and then spend a few days in La Paz so we hadn't come with any fancy clothing. I'm not sure if the staff was just snooty or if they were unhappy that we didn't look like their average customer and treated us differently because of it. I don't really have a specific example but I just felt like we were looked down upon in the hotel and it made me pretty uncomfortable.

The next day when we left the receptionist who was checking us out radioed the maid to verifiy that we hadn't taken anything from the mini bar, etc. and the maid said that there was a wine glass missing... I remembered both wine glasses being in our room the previous day and we didn't so much as touch anything in the mini bar area, so I'm not sure how there could've been a glass missing. We told the receptionist that we didn't use it nor obviously take it, and he had us just write in a statement that we didn't know what happened to it, etc. on our invoice. To be honest I was VERY upset by this situation. I already felt like we were eyed with suspiscion for not wearing button down shirts and heels like the rest of the people staying there, and then they accused us of taking a wine glass. I think that if someone pays almost $150 USD for a hotel room (especially in a place where you can stay for $50 in someplace really nice), probably a $5 wine glass is not a big enough deal to accuse them of stealing! The receptionist wasn't rude about it or anything but I was still offended and I wouldn't stay there again. I know it's a small thing, but to me it seems ludicrous to ask someone who pays so much for a hotel room if they took something so petty.

Aside from that, the view from our room was EXCELLENT, the beds were massive, the breakfast was delightful, and the hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and get double the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of Stannum Boutique Hotel we would like to thank you for letting us know your experiences. We are very glad to know that you’ve enjoyed the Hotel despite the appalling service that you’ve received. As you may already saw from other comments, we have replaced many people since September last year and we are receiving positive feedbacks regarding our staff and our service has improved a lot. As you mentioned on your review the receptionist was only doing his/her work, I understand that such small things/details made you feel upset but please also understand that we have a set of process that follow and we can make exceptions sometimes according to the situation. It was not our intention to make you feel that way, especially for such a tiny thing.
We are very sorry to hear how you feel about the Hotel, each customer is very important to us and maybe there is a misunderstanding, just to let you know we are expanding on the next few months and we will be offering so many more services, we kindly invite you to the New Stannum Boutique Hotel and have a new experience.
Once more, thank you for your review which will help us to learn from it.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service from the staff was excellent. We ended up being stranded In La Paz due to our flight to Uyuni taking off early without informing us (ensure you double check internal flight times). There isn't much to do in La Paz but thankfully the Stannum Boutique helped make things a bit more bearable, they recommended things for us to do and on the night they couldn't accommodate us they pointed us in the direction of a nice local hotel (obviously not quite as good as the Stannum though).

The Stannum is located near the top of a office block. You get in the lift at street level,
Jesus, the porter by the lift, was possibly the friendliest person I met in south America. Always welcoming with a broad smile, he instantly put me in a good mood. When you reach the floor you step straight into the breakfast area of the hotel. The hotel is very small but finished to a good standard. The local dishes on their menu were very affordable and delicious. They booked taxis for us which arrived on time. We also asked for the staff to contact a Uyuni tour company for us which they did obligingly. Although I can't think of a reason to return to La Paz, I would certainly stay here if I did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tri99sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StannumHotels, Sales & Marketing Department at Stannum Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor and taking the time to post a review. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and the staff was able to help you with enthusiasm with all your needs. We are also very pleased to know that you’ve enjoyed the food at our restaurant and had a nice experience having dinner/lunch there.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the near future if you ever decide coming back to La Paz.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
1,036 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#1 of 76 in La Paz
361 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#4 of 76 in La Paz
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Atix Hotel
Atix Hotel
#9 of 76 in La Paz
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stannum Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stannum Boutique Hotel

Property: Stannum Boutique Hotel
Address: Av Arce 2631 | San Jorge, La Paz, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stannum Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place to stay whether you are in a business or leisure trip!! Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa just launched its brand new signature floor with 20 exquisitely designed rooms with unparalleled views of La Paz and its majestic Illimani Mountain. The hotel features a full service restaurant (Terra) with Bolivian fusion food and a chill out balcony, Aqua Spa and wellness center, and a state of the art technological business center (Metallum). Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of La Paz just minutes away from the historic and financial centres. This is the safest and most accessible area in the city near the US, UK, Brazilian and Argentinean embassies and just 15km from El Alto International Airport. The hotel overlooks the beautiful city from the Multicine Mall Building where you are just an elevator ride away from enjoying movie theatres, restaurants, bars, stores and a fully equipped gym. Starting with the complementary coca tea offered at check-in to our stylish and innovating design; Our high standard personalized service is blended to make sure your stay will be an unforgettable experience. Recently awarded with the Travelers' Choice Award 2015 by Tripadvisor and number 1 hotel in La Paz for the last 18 consecutive months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stannum Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing