We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Visit Bolivia”
Review of Banjo Tours

Banjo Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Banjo Tours is a 100% Bolivian tour operator offering trips to unique and undiscovered places. Meet locals, travel away from the crowds, discover the REAL Bolivia with us in Uyuni, Sajama, La Paz, the Amazon, Lake Titicaca and the Altiplano.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

In early May 2016, from La Paz, we took a private overnight trip (premium package) with Banjo Tours to Sajama National Park. We could not have been more pleased with our trip due mainly to Benjamin our guide and driver. Benjamin is one of the best guides we have had anywhere. For instance, Benjamin organized for us to help a local farmer with the release of his alpaca herd from its corral to the pasturage at sunrise just below the beautiful Sajama volcano. He also took us to a flamingo dotted lagoon and to ancient tombs although none of these sites and experiences had been included on our itinerary.

We would highly recommend Banjo Tours for any excursions in Bolivia. We found their services of high quality and at a reasonable price. The 4WD vehicle was also almost new. Do ask for Benjamin, a very knowledgeable guide and safe driver with a great personality.

1  Thank JacquesP_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigben579, Guest Relations Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2016

Thank YOU so much for your kind words. We couldn't have asked for better customers than you. You had such a lively spirit (and great physical condition hiking at more than 4.000 m which was trying). Thank you for all the feedback, contacts, ideas and general information you provided for us to be able to improve our services and our company in general. Both of you were some of our most memorable customers - and now friends - we've ever had. Please come back any time, we will take you to some more amazing places still undiscovered in Bolivia. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 31 reviews
"national park"
in 16 reviews
"day tour"
in 26 reviews
"city tour"
in 28 reviews
"salt flats"
in 16 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"hot springs"
in 5 reviews
"guide sergio"
in 7 reviews
"uyuni trip"
in 3 reviews
"lake titicaca"
in 10 reviews
"isla del sol"
in 6 reviews
"altitude sickness"
in 3 reviews
"felt safe"
in 5 reviews
"cable car"
in 6 reviews
"ben"
in 87 reviews
"sajama"
in 36 reviews
"itinerary"
in 17 reviews
Filter

71 - 75 of 227 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

We did the 5 days Sajama-Uyuni tour. We loved Sajama and the salt flats, the sceneries are just amazing and it's worth going via land to see it all. But for what you pay, the tour is expensive and the discomforts are many. Each and every night there is no heating, which was made worst by the fact that they forgot to bring the sleeping bags that we already had paid for. In my opinion Banjo should include them at no extra charge, wouldn't cost them much and it would made such a difference to the experience. Our driver had zero English, and our guide's English and knowledge wasn't perfect, not a lot of communication about safety or anything like that. They were both really nice guys though. The car was quite old, not very comfortable and it kept breaking so we had to stop to fix it about twice a day every day. The food is not great, some nights it was nice but lunch and breakfast could definitely be improved with not much effort. Appreciate that Bolivia is not very equipped for tourism yet, but for what you pay you expect more from Banjo!

Thank Matiti89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigben579, Guest Relations Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Our sincere appreciation for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience. Instead of getting defensive or hostile, we can only say that your feedback is extremely helpful and will allow us to improve our services which is what we want to do every single day, so thank you!. We won't excuse ourselves, in fact, we admit that we sometimes have weaknesses and some things may go wrong occasionally. What we can guarantee, however, is that we will act upon your feedback and thanks to it, improve and make sure that anything that might not have been of your liking will be worked on for our future customers. We totally take responsibility for forgetting to bring your sleeping bags and the extra $5 (cleaning fee) was immediately refunded to you as soon as we realized our mistake (we used to include them free of charge all the time, but truly most people never used them or preferred their own which is why we made it optional now. However, we will certainly consider including them again, especially in winter which is when they are needed). We'd also like to note that we never advertise or promise an "English-speaking driver", and some of our local guides' English may certainly not be "perfect", but definitely very fluent, more than enough to communicate, although some of them do speak it at native level. We regret your guide's English was not as good as you would have liked, but as you know, he is one of our greatest team members and he is always happy to take care of our customers properly. Also, as you noticed, the roads and lands we travel on, are some of the most rugged on earth (without exaggeration). We might sometimes have unexpected vehicle problems or breakdowns that our drivers are very well trained to fix on the spot (our driver did fix it on the spot and ensured you arrived at your destination for your flight with plenty of time) but we do apologize if you experienced a flat tire or breakdown. We will always make sure that whatever problems arise, are fixed ASAP, although as other reviews attest, we use great, well-maintained vehicles that are in the best possible condition they can be. We would like to end by noting that we make our best effort to inform all of our customers about the limited comforts of this trip, including simple accommodation, long driving hours on some days, and the few ammenities being in the remote desert where heating, WiFi, a great variety of food, etc. are simply very difficult to obtain (regardless, we provide extra blankets every night, hot water bottles, snacks, the freshest ingredients available and "safety" above everything else). Thank you again for your time and your helpful feedback, we are very grateful that you came on this adventure with us and we hope to see you again in the future so that you can see the improvements we made based on your kind feedback. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Five mature Aussies undertook the 7 day Bolivian trip in May 2016 and Banjo delivered on its promise to experience off the beaten track locations.The pre trip communication were good - always prompt and efficient, no problems with payment by B pay for the trip and air tickets. Guide Ben and Driver Javier were true gentleman always showing care and consideration for their passengers. We experienced amazing scenery in off the beaten track locations, learned a lot about Bolivian culture, slept in a range of interesting hotels and enjoyed freshly prepared lunches on the road. Banjo Tours is to be thoroughly recommended for its friendly professional service.

2  Thank corriebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigben579, Guest Relations Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2016

We sincerely appreciate your time to share your experience, thank you!
We thought we'd review you as well :) since you were one of our most memorable groups ever and we mean it, so here we go:
First, as stated, the group was made up people of a mature age but thanks to your young spirit, willingness to enjoy an adventure, and overall positive attitude, the trip was made so much more enjoyable for everyone.
Second, even at an older age, the whole group joined us on a hike to the top of a plateau in search of the pre-Inca tombs (our 7-day tour), every single one made it to the top and even with a twisted ankle, Corrie was so brave to continue and enjoy the hike and not for one moment did she have a negative attitude which she could have justifiably had toward the rest of the group.
Third, we rarely have a group of mature people enjoying themselves with such a positive attitude. They were so open minded to share a home stay in a remote, rural village and were willing to put up with the basic conditions of accommodation and thanks to that, as locals, we were so happy to have you in our home, share a bonfire with us and show you around the village and its local people (Froilan & Ester). Everyone truly loved having you with us.
Fourth, thank you so much for the memento you left us. You certainly have one top artist in your group and it meant a lot to us (more than any tip) to have a real appreciation for the effort we made to help you enjoy the trip. Nothing could have been more meaningful than that.
Fifth, your open mindedness, sincerity, respect for the locals and kindness (e.g. sharing the animal stickers with the local kids for their school) reminded us why we do this job over any sort of economic benefit, and that is to simply enjoy knowing that there are so beautiful people around the world who take the time to visit us and share with the local population as you did, and just know that we helped to facilitate that, it is the best feeling we could have. Thank you again
Last but not least, your spirit for adventure (doing yet another trip after you went home) inspired us to continue in this beautiful activity which is traveling and we will always have you in our hearts and minds as more than just customers, but friends. Thanks for joining us on this trip we will never forget. Stay safe and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016

I ended up a three weeks trip through Peru in La Paz and decided to book the city walking tour with Banjo Tours.

I was really glad that I did so as my tour guide Fabian was the best guide I could have imagined for the tour. The tour started at 9 am and ended around 14 pm (half day) and included i.e. the witches market, a beautiful ride with the world's highest and longest urban gondola, the moon village, San Francisco church, local prison and much more. Fabian gave me with his deep knowledge very interesting insights about la Paz / Bolivia. Everything was perfectly organized and I really enjoyed the local food snacks - very delicious!

The tour was the perfect ending of my vacation and I can highly recommend Banjo Tours and especially Fabian, who speaks perfect English and really made my day. Wishing you all the best - mucho gracias!

Thank Chris_Frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigben579, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It was amazing to have you and we would love to see you in Bolivia again to explore new places with us. Stay well and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2016

I had a great experience from the booking to the actual tour. At first I was a bit hesitant to visit the office to make the payment but when I met the team, it was such a nice experience. I also had the great fortune of having Sergio Salazar Beltran as my tour guide around La Paz. He was amazing ..really enjoyed. Just by coincidence, I met him 2 days before as he runs an amazing restaurant and I took the time to call the restaurant (I have never done that before) to thank him and his team for the wonderful meal and customer service, when I returned back from the hotel. Sergio spared no effort to walk with me to find a safe taxi that evening .

Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigben579, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world. We couldn't be happier to hear about your experience. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay in La Paz and would love to see you back any time. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banjo Tours also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Banjo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing