We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to see the real sights in La Paz”
Review of Banjo Tours

Banjo Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$269.00*
and up
Private Bolivian Andean Adventure Day Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Banjo Tours is a 100% Bolivian tour operator offering trips to unique and undiscovered places. Meet locals, travel away from the crowds, discover the REAL Bolivia with us in Uyuni, Sajama, La Paz, the Amazon, Lake Titicaca and the Altiplano.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pick up as agreed.

Tour was interesting as it was a local showing us around their town and good to see what the main attractions mean to them.

Trip to El Alto was a real eye opener. We were the only tourists in the area. This tells you how authentic this tour is.

Book it!

Thank Roamincorkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 30 reviews
"national park"
in 16 reviews
"day tour"
in 24 reviews
"salt flats"
in 17 reviews
"city tour"
in 28 reviews
"el alto"
in 45 reviews
"great tour"
in 20 reviews
"hot springs"
in 5 reviews
"guide sergio"
in 7 reviews
"lake titicaca"
in 11 reviews
"salar de uyuni"
in 5 reviews
"safety concerns"
in 3 reviews
"isla del sol"
in 6 reviews
"altitude sickness"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 6 reviews
"felt safe"
in 5 reviews
"cable car"
in 6 reviews
Filter

146 - 150 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This tour was organised for us by Journey Latin America. We found all of JLA's local guides to be very good, but Ben was the best of them all. His love of the town, his comprehensive knowledge of the area and his great enthusiasm coupled with the desire to give his guests the best possible experience meant that we had a terrific time with him. In addition to visiting the main tourist sights, Ben took us to areas that were rarely seen by visitors to help us to get a picture and understanding of the real La Paz.

Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friends and I booked with Banjo Tours well in advance of our trip because we had read so many great things about it on trip advisor. We even planned some of our itinerary around the date/time we were able to book.

We got written confirmation of our booked tour and we brought it with us.

On the day of our tour, we waited in our hotel lobby, as directed in our confirmation from Ben. We waited, and waited, and waited. We called him numerous times - no answer. We eventually had to leave for our flight. We were so disappointed!!!

Then our flight ended up being cancelled, so we had another day in La Paz. We thought we would try getting a hold of Ben again....finally we got him on the phone. When we asked him what happened, he said he must have misplaced our booking and/or forgotten to write it in his calendar!!! So we asked if we could figure out even a shorter version of the tour or something now that we had this extra day in La Paz and he told us that he wasn't even in the city!! He said he was hours away!!! We were so angry!!!

This was supposed to be one of the highlights of our trip, we were so excited about it - and it ended up being one of the biggest let downs instead.

So sad you can't even trust a written confirmation from the owner himself. :(

4  Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Owner at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We strive to provide our customers with the best service, and every company makes mistakes sometimes. When we do, we apologize and try to fix the mistake asap and admit to it, we are not perfect. Sadly, we cannot find any record of this supposed mistake, since if we had found anything, we would simply admit and apologize, but there is no booking made with your information. Unfortunately, we believe that we never received your request and never provided you with our service, because if we had, I would personally know and fixed the error. We will always do our best to give our customers the best experience, so if you feel you have been wronged by us, we apologize even though we believe the information you wrote is totally inacccurate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We realy enjoyed the walking tour! Ben is a realy good guide and very enthousiastic. You should definitely do this tour when you are in La Paz. We visitted markets, a very nice vieuw point with a great vieuw over the city, a very nice restaurant were we had a local snack, the catedral etc.

Thank Janneke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

used Banjo Tours while shooting 'Treasure Hunters' for the BBC and we owe much of their insight and professionalism to the success it was. too often, a lot of the tour is spent wondering 'did they even ask themselves if this was interesting?' and Banjo does. to see a La Paz you never would, and to do it with people who both ensure you have fun, while at the same time take their work very seriously, look no further.

1  Thank AricSQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banjo Tours also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Banjo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing