We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 12:30 PM, 2:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Awesome company for tours in Bolivia!

My mom and I wanted to do the 3-night tour to the salt flats in Uyuni. It was at first difficult to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Caitlin H
Charlottesville, Virginia
An adventure in Sajama National Park!

Rubén (our driver) and Marcelo (our guide) were assigned to us for this great adventure in Sajama... read more

Reviewed January 11, 2019
San Salvador, El Salvador
Read all 237 reviews
Recommended experiences in and around La Paz
from $53.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $650.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track national park day tour salt flats city tour el alto great tour ancient burial hot springs guide sergio lake titicaca witches market uyuni trip his knowledge walking tour of la paz beautiful country safety concerns
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 231 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This tour was organised for us by Journey Latin America. We found all of JLA's local guides to be very good, but Ben was the best of them all. His love of the town, his comprehensive knowledge of the area and his great enthusiasm coupled with the desire to give his guests the best possible experience meant that we had a terrific time with him. In addition to visiting the main tourist sights, Ben took us to areas that were rarely seen by visitors to help us to get a picture and understanding of the real La Paz.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friends and I booked with Banjo Tours well in advance of our trip because we had read so many great things about it on trip advisor. We even planned some of our itinerary around the date/time we were able to book.

We got written confirmation of our booked tour and we brought it with us.

On the day of our tour, we waited in our hotel lobby, as directed in our confirmation from Ben. We waited, and waited, and waited. We called him numerous times - no answer. We eventually had to leave for our flight. We were so disappointed!!!

Then our flight ended up being cancelled, so we had another day in La Paz. We thought we would try getting a hold of Ben again....finally we got him on the phone. When we asked him what happened, he said he must have misplaced our booking and/or forgotten to write it in his calendar!!! So we asked if we could figure out even a shorter version of the tour or something now that we had this extra day in La Paz and he told us that he wasn't even in the city!! He said he was hours away!!! We were so angry!!!

This was supposed to be one of the highlights of our trip, we were so excited about it - and it ended up being one of the biggest let downs instead.

So sad you can't even trust a written confirmation from the owner himself. :(

Date of experience: November 2012
5  Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, Owner at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We strive to provide our customers with the best service, and every company makes mistakes sometimes. When we do, we apologize and try to fix the mistake asap and admit to it, we are not perfect. Sadly, we cannot find any record of this supposed mistake, since if we had found anything, we would simply admit and apologize, but there is no booking made with your information. Unfortunately, we believe that we never received your request and never provided you with our service, because if we had, I would personally know and fixed the error. We will always do our best to give our customers the best experience, so if you feel you have been wronged by us, we apologize even though we believe the information you wrote is totally inacccurate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We realy enjoyed the walking tour! Ben is a realy good guide and very enthousiastic. You should definitely do this tour when you are in La Paz. We visitted markets, a very nice vieuw point with a great vieuw over the city, a very nice restaurant were we had a local snack, the catedral etc.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Janneke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

used Banjo Tours while shooting 'Treasure Hunters' for the BBC and we owe much of their insight and professionalism to the success it was. too often, a lot of the tour is spent wondering 'did they even ask themselves if this was interesting?' and Banjo does. to see a La Paz you never would, and to do it with people who both ensure you have fun, while at the same time take their work very seriously, look no further.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank AricSQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Much more than we expected. Our guide, Jorge, was excellent. Took us to places we never would have found and explained everything very well in English. You should go with him.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank sven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews