We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing textiles and pottery”

National Museum of Ethnography and Folklore
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.00*
and up
Private Tour: La Paz City Sightseeing and Moon Valley
Ranked #13 of 116 things to do in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The highlight of this museum is the 3000 Years of Textiles exhibit, a display of brilliantly colored skirts, blankets and ponchos used by women to carry their children – each one a piece of artwork in itself.
Groton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing textiles and pottery”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was most impressed by the textile portion of this museum. My wife and I spent about 3 hours in this museum. We are not big textile people but we really enjoyed reading about the different designs and spent a long time looking at the drawers of different textiles in the first room. We were not that thrilled by the mask exhibit but spent a long time in the pottery section. We both speak Spanish so the lack of English information was not an issue but as of July the museum had no English captioning. If you want to take pictures you pay an extra fee. There were some really impressive pottery pieces and a very nice breakdown of the different cultures that produced it, as well as the process of making pottery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chester s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    70
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Museum; No English Captioning”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This a very nice museum with a small collection of interesting textiles, pottery, feather arts, and masks. If you like these sorts of things, then you will enjoy this museum. Like most visitors, the mask exhibit was my favourite part. I did think that the price of 20 Bs was a little steep considering the small collection of artifacts, but that still didn't detract from my enjoyment of the museum. There is an additional charge if you want to take pictures (I believe it is another 20 or 25 Bs). The museum closes for lunch at 12:30 pm. A security guard followed us around and then told us to leave and then followed us out, to make sure he could close up shop for lunch! If you don't understand Spanish, please be warned that there is no English-captioning anywhere in this museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VancouverOutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Amazing Museum”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a must see museum. We showed up 30 minutes before closing and therefore had to visit each room quickly, but I will definitely go back next time in La Paz. Their is an artfully lit Mask hall with an amazing selection of traditional masks from all Bolivian cultures. The textiles, feather headdresses and ceramics rooms were also great, but what I would love to have had more time for is the circular spiral "history of Bolivia" hall. Unlike many museums in South America, this one is full of well-written descriptions of every item (Spanish only), which greatly enhance the experience. Top notch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcppatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“My favorite museum in the city”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent collection of various subjects related to the folklore and history of the local population, particularly the indigenous cultures. There are both permanent and temporary exhibits, so there's always something to fascinate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank saltshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Small but worth the money”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

On Sundays the museum closes at 12:30 which I didn't know when I bought my ticket at 12:10. (20 bob). The ticket agent asked if I wanted to buy the 2nd ticket so I could take photos. I told her I would look first and come back and get the ticket if I thought I wanted photos. Many of the museums I have visited in La Paz had nothing I wanted a photo of OR the only really interesting things are in rooms where cameras are not allowed. She said that was fine. It took me 20 mins to walk around the museum and of course I wanted pictures. The hall of masks was great, the curator does a splendid job of displaying them. They are mostly (if not entirely) reproductions but well worthy of the "Picture Ticket". There are lots of of woven clothes and ponchos from yesteryear.
The Museum is inside an completely renovated Palace and the builders did a terrific job of mixing the old with the new.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JymMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ethnography and Folklore also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to National Museum of Ethnography and Folklore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing