We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central,cheap,safe place”
Review of Hotel Milton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Milton
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located in the very centre of La Paz.Its 2 star hotel but very clean,safe,hot water,breakfast.It cost us 25euro for 3 persons.I didnt like only the noise from the street.Great view from the top floor of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Any you choose is towards the street so it will be noisy a bit
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Milton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beware of HOTEL MILTON in La Paz and theft


Me and my wife spend couple of nights in hotel Milton in La Paz where she got ipod and few euro stolen from her backpack purse.Things where going fine with hotel staff,breakfast and location of the hotel till we find out we were robbed.We have some electronics with us. One iphone( I carry it all the time)backup phone which is always hidden somewhere in hotel while we outside of the room. Two handy cameras which one is always left at the hotel. We also have credit cards and money which we share between each other and one card is always left at the hotel.We travel for more than 20 years and take precautions.The day we intend live the hotel we bought tickets at the hotel desk to Copacabana leaving 7.30 next day. While packing our staff evening before our trip to Copacabana, my wife found out that from her purse which was lying on the chair for two days someone took ipod touch in pretty cover ,small headphones and 10 euros from our decoy wallet. We look through our things for more than hour then we decide to go downstairs and report it to the desk clerk. We didn’t got lucky coz` guy downstairs didn’t speak any english.He called the manager ELIZABETH and she immediately assumed that it must be mistake and she will talk to me in the morning around 9.30. At 9.30 we came downstairs and before saying a world to the manager we start feeling very hostile attitude towards us. All of the staff ( clerk man ,clerk lady ,manager ) stopped speaking English. They were trying to make my wife look crazy and making ironic remarks and gestures that they don’t believe us. First we were all morning in the room( which wasn´t true coz we were doing laundry on the terrace and probably theft happened then)they say and we had tke key.We´ve responded that cleaning people also have the keys to the rooms, they say yes but they didn’t clean our room. I ask why they didn’t clean our private room which they supposed they say instead that no one stills 10 euros, 200 yes but 10 they don’t believe. Then we asked Elizabeth to call for Tourist Police which she did but when police came they didn’t speak any English so they got Elizabeth version which basically was THEY CRAZY. One of the Police was trying to tell me that if someone was trying to still money from the wallet he would take the whole thing. MAYBE! They completely ignored the fact that two zippers separated thief from ipod and decoy wallet containing 10 euros an some polish zloty (they were not stolen)which are even worthless for us. The ipod and wallet were in one compartment of the purse,handset in the other. Then the stranger thing happened. Elizabeth make police searched and stripped young teenager (cleaning person around 18 years old) of his belongings. I stopped this face. Then they propose that I should go with Police to boys house and other cleaning lady house( mean women in 40s ,same one ispotted on the terrace watching me doing laundry day before) and help search their houses! Well, after that I asked for refund for Copacabana tickets and we both left the hotel.

10 euros and ipod is no biggy.We still got our cameras and cards and money and still can travel( we are in the middle of our 2 months trip) but we travel with little disgust.


Tom

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Centrally located with very helpful staff. We stayed for 3 nights and was surprised that the room was serviced every day with new towels, soap, toilet rolls and made beds, which in Bolivia is pretty much unheard of. The wifi was intermittent but ok. The room and hotel were clean and we had probably the best breakfast in Bolivia. Fresh bread, fruit, hot scrambled egg, tea & juice. We stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor to avoid the road noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night on transfer. Without wifi during our previous nights, we had unfortunately not read any reviews on this hotel and ended up in a corner room facing the street without considering the warnings given by others.
Our room was exceptionally noisy, mainly due to the street noise of a busy Saturday night. Wifi signal was not availabe in our room, and also weak and unconstant in the lobby area. On the positive side, the hot shower was awesome.
We had to leave early the next day (around 6am), so we asked the night before at the reception if someone would be available. They confirmed and even suggested to get us some sort of take-away breakfast ready. While this was a unexpected and very friendly offer, we ended up waking up the person in charge at 6am to pay our room and left without breakfast.

The price of Milton Hotel is good, and you get what you pay for. With a better room selection the experience would likely have been better, but based on our experience I cannot recommend this place.

Room Tip: Back side, close to the staircase for wifi signal.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwissInBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

For US25 a night, you get what a you paid for.
Pros:
- A good breakfast with scrambled eggs, yoghurt with fruit/fruit salad (varied in both days), bread with jam and butter, papaya fruit juice and tea
- Request for room facing the back
- Reception spoke good English
- Wifi modem is located at the staircase

Recommendation: Do not stay in Room 207. It was terrible. Reasons:
- The standing shower has a light switch inside the shower. Both my partner and I got electrocuted when we turned the hot and cold water knob.
- The toilet does not flush. We need to flush it four times.
- Loud and noisy all day and night as it faces the street
- Weekend markets right outside so you hear noises very early in the morning
- Towels are old and dirty. We used our own.

If you are out late at night, they padlock the gates so don't stay out until 4am!

Room Tip: Room facing the back is quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the glowing reviews, but it should be underscored that this is a nice hotel for the price. Not a nice hotel overall. The place is a bit worn, not overly clean, and not overly quiet. But if you've been roughing it around Bolivia, you'll like it. The staff is super helpful and helped me secure some travel excursions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is pretty central to tour agencies but in a deserted street so be careful when walking back late at night.

My single room faced the street with windows that did little to screen the noise from the street, which starts before 7. Also there was meant to be no smoking on my room level as per the sign, yet there was still a large ash tray stationed near my room. People did smoke and it did drift into my room.

Other than that everything else was ok. Good breakfast (be aware it starts at 7am and finishes at 10am. So if you have an early tour booked before 7, forget about the included breakfast)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#23 of 77 in La Paz
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#17 of 77 in La Paz
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fuentes
Hotel Fuentes
#60 of 77 in La Paz
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Joya
Hotel La Joya
#41 of 77 in La Paz
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Maya
Hostal Maya
#46 of 77 in La Paz
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#13 of 77 in La Paz
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milton

Address: Calle Illampu esquina Calderon No 1123 | Casilla, La Paz 5118, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: $22 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Milton 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing