We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gloria La Paz
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
brasil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so bad...”
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The hotel is located very centrally to the tourist attractions of La Paz. There is a noise problem, I stayed on the 8th floor and could hear traffic and human noises from the nearby square. But it's La Paz!!!!

Breakfast was so so, the white bread was dry and not much selection. Staffs were friendly and one even phoned my room asking me if I was ok since I didn't have breakfast!

There is a free wifi internet conexion in the room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardohkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    50
    10
    2
See reviews for
14
28
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The hotel is located very centrally to the tourist attractions of La Paz. The rooms have cable TV, but are small and not very nice. It seems that the hotel had seen much better days. For what is offered the hotel is surely to expensive. The staft is and the view from the restaurant is nice. There are better options in La Paz to stay.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank GermanTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My experiences with the Gloria Hotel took place over two nights at the front and back end of a spectacular trip to Bolivia and Lake Titicaca. My first night, on October 25, 2008, was a confused jumble of events that began at 3 a.m. in Rio de Janeiro when I deaprted the Five Star JW Marriott directly on Copocabana Beach and flew south to Buenos Aires and then north and west to La Paz, arriving at the La Paz Airport at 10 p.m. Between the fatigue caused by a very long day and compounded by the altitude shock, my first impression was somewhat negative. I arrived with my guide and entered the hotel through a severely diminished security door. My room seemed to be very small and certainly not the same level as the JW Marriott. I was up and out of the Hotel at 7 a.m. the following morning before I had a chance to really see that the Hotel Gloria was a good hotel.

On my return, four days later, on my way out of Bolivia and back to Buenos Aires, I arrived mid-afternoon and had a chance to walk around the area of the Hotel Gloria. The original pain and stress of the altitude had been tempered by four days on Lake Titicaca and I could rationally rate the hotel as a good hotel. Dinner with a good red wine in the restaurant on the top level was also very good.

  • Liked — Location in central La Paz
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We had a suite for only 40 dollar on the 8 stock.
There is an panoramic restaurant with great view over La Paz

  • Liked — suite location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Gloria has seen better days. The lobby was noisy, dirty and crowded with backpackers and their backpacks. Rooms are clean but tiny. The linens have seen better days. A real disappointment especially after several days on the road with an (upscale) birding group. I am in La Paz often and usually choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Disliked — Constantly tripping over young backpackers
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank csccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Location is great, close to the artist and witches markets, and there is an Alexander Cafe on the next block. Room was ok, it was cleaned daily and sheet was changed daily.

There was a bad noise problem, I stayed on the 11th floor and could hear traffic and human noises from the nearby square, they don't seem to sleep either!

Breakfast was so so, the white bread was dry and not much selection. Staffs were friendly and one even phoned my room asking me if I was ok since I didn't have breakfast!

A couple of computers were available at the lobby for free internet access, which was very handy. There is a currency exchange right beside the lobby and plenty of food choices at the perdestrian mall two blocks uphill.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2004

A very nice hotel for the money. Small rooms but comfortable and nice and quiet. Great location right near Plaza San Francisco and the interesting street markets. Wonderful vegetarian buffet restaurant in the ground floor which is quite busy with local students and workers at lunch time.
This is not the MOST luxurious hotel in the world but more than adequate and friendly, not to mention a very good value for the $$.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#17 of 76 in La Paz
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#25 of 76 in La Paz
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#21 of 76 in La Paz
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloria La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria La Paz

Property: Hotel Gloria La Paz
Address: Potosi 909, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gloria La Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gloria La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing