We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in La Paz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A lovely, bolivian style furnished hotel in the central part of La Paz. My room was gorgeous, very clean, lovely furnishings but with the mod cons of Ipod dock, flat screen. The wifi was good too. I arrived there after a stressful few days travelling and it was the perfect haven. The only thing i would raise is the bathroom was slightly on the small side but this is a very minor point. Good shower, plenty hot water and was clean impeccably both days.

Staff couldnt have been nicer and accommodating, I arrived at 7am and they got my room sorted for me. I had issues with a terrible tour agency and the lovely ladies in reception (Pamela & Fairuz) took charge calling them, organising refunds for me etc...
The restaurant was so good i ended up eating there both nights. Can't fault the hotel, will definitely stay there if I am ever in La Paz in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fveraloza, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rosario La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Lyndsey
Thanks for choosing Hotel Rosario, we feel so happy to read that your stay in La Paz was enjoyable and our staff assisted you with the tour agency issues. You are welcome to come back to Bolivia and our hotel.
Grupo Rosario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

WHOA! whoa! whoa! whoa!
The people at this hotel literally bent over backwards to be helpful. They are the most helpful, comforting, and kind group of people I have EVER SEEN at a hotel (and I've been all over the world by myself).
*They let me check in early (at 5am!) AND eat breakfast for a half price deal.
*Their English is perfect.
*The food and breakfast (and restaurant for dinner!) is absolutely delicious.
*The front desk guy brought me orange juice to my room when I was rushing around to catch my flight. (!?!)
*The front desk girl helped plan a whole walking tour for me.
*There's a gorgeous little chill cafe/wine bar on the top floor that has a great view
*The Bolivian art around the hotel is beautiful
*The location is ideal: right in the heart of things, but it's COMPLETELY silent and quiet inside which you really need there.
*If you want to really love LaPaz stay at this hotel. It's perfect. I was totally blown away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photographeronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fveraloza, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rosario La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Dear
We have no words to thank your extremely kind comment about our hotel, staff and service. We promise to keep on with the good work continuously.
You are welcome to Bolivia ¡¡¡

Grupo Rosario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here twice during our time in Boliva, once at the beginning of our trip and the second time at the end. Both times we really enjoyed our stay. It is situated on a busy street in the center of La Paz, with attractions like the witch market in walking distance. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. Our first bedroom was in a better part of the hotel (not close to the street) and was also a bit bigger but both rooms were clean and well fitted. The staff attention was excellent, they helped with a variety of inquiries and happily received a package that we got sent from Peru. They were helpful in organizing taxi's and gave us good advice about what to do in the city. Breakfast was included in the price and well stocked with a variety of foods. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the inner part of the building seemed to be bigger and quiet (no noise from traffic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fveraloza, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rosario La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Kate
We feel so happy reading your comments. Thank you for choosing Hotel Rosario La Paz and thanks for visiting Bolivia.
Best.

Grupo Rosario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We enjoyed the hospitality of the Rosario for 3 nights. It's on a very busy street but it's also very close to the central square and all streets off there with the sellers on the pavements. There was an internet cafe within the hotel which served delicious lunches. The restaurant was very attractively decorated with tapestries depicting local scenes and great food.

Room Tip: Not overlooking main street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosek963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fveraloza, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rosario La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks for your kind comments.
Illampu street is definitely one of the most crowded and noisy area in La Paz, but at the same time is where all the important attractions are. After being exploring around, Hotel Rosario La Paz offers a very quite inside patio for reading or just relaxing. Thanks for choosing us.
Best
Grupo Rosario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

stayed at stannum boutique on the way to sucre but changed to this for the return trip of 2 nights.
Its a lovely, tastefully decorated, well situated hotel with english speaking friendly staff.
Rooms spacious, clean and loved the thoughtful pieces of bolivian handicrafts all over the hotel and rooms.
Only negative was that the meal in the restaurant was average. But cannot fault overall stay at all, its fantastic value for the cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmepani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fveraloza, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rosario La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We really appreciate your decision to change from another prestigious hotel to ours, and what's more important is that this change has been a great experience for you.
Hoping to serve you in the near future.
Best
Grupo Rosario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel is great. Service was excellent: bi-lingual staff, had stamps, quick laundry service, great on premise restaurant, They have an onsite travel agent which made traveling to Copacabna nice and easy. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Had a room up on the third floor which overlooked the city. Location is close to main turist section and central portion of La Paz. For $80-$100/night it's totally worth it if you like something about a private hostel style room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydObanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fveraloza, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rosario La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We are so glad to hear that your stay in our Hotel was a good experience. We work every day on a personalized attention to our guest.
Hope to have you back at Hotel Rosario La Paz.
Best.
Grupo Rosario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for three nights during our stay in La Paz. The service (reception, security staff) was 5star quality, as others have remarked. Hotel is excellently located, very comfortable rooms (although our windows looked out onto the courtyard/outside corridor leading to all rooms, so little privacy if you just want to sit and cogitate for a bit). Coca tea on tap was a nice touch. Nice decor, lovely feel for the place. Highly recommended.

The reception staff were just fantastic. A couple of examples - I left my card in the cash machine, and they spotted it and rushed after me; they always greeted me by name; they gave excellent advice about how to visit the market in El Alto (worth it!) and get back (the trickier bit).

Another plus is that Turisbus, a good travel agency, are located in the reception area (although I don't think they are part of the hotel). We asked them to arrange our flight from La Paz to Santa Cruz (we found it impossible to arrange this ourselves over the internet), a city tour of Santa Cruz (just to fill in 1/2 day really), and then the overnight train from Santa Cruz to the border town of Puerto Quijarro (short taxi to Brazilian border town of Corumba, which then gives you access to the southern bit of the lovely Pantanal. I can't find anywhere to write about this part of our trip - but it is a really superb experience. Very enjoyable train trip, rumbling through the darkness past villages, jungle, through the starry night.... Lonely Planet describes it well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 77 in La Paz
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
4.6 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 77 in La Paz
401 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atix Hotel
Atix Hotel
#5 of 77 in La Paz
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#10 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $73 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center of La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. Friendly and helpful staff that will make you fell at home. Eco friendly and smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing