We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis Amongst a City of Excitement and Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An Oasis Amongst a City of Excitement and Chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

An oasis amongst a city of chaos.
Hotel Rosario was our 1st choice for our 4 day stay in La Paz.
Great location just 2 short blocks from The Witches Market and a swag of local restaurants.
We had a room that overlooked the main street. We weren't hassled by any street noise and the activity out the window was a source of interest.
The room was comfortable, probably a little dated without being lavish, but was more than adequate for us. I have heard the hotel is slowly doing renovations and the back rooms may be more modern and better appointed.
The bathroom was a little tight and the shower at times temperamental but these are just minor comments.
Room internet connection was free and good.
The highlight for us was the dining room and the incredible service that the staff there provide. Exceptional service, and equally fine food.
I'd really recommend eating in at least once.
2 people, 3 large courses, a bottle of wine for $40 is just extraordinary for hotel pricing.
The staff speak good English and we found them very helpful, efficient and friendly.
La Paz is a city you have to keep your wits about you and be a little careful in ... it wasa always good to get back to the hotel and relax a little.
If ever back in La Paz we will definitely come back to Hotel Rosario.

Room Tip: try the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksdad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    370
    62
    19
    13
See reviews for
97
499
118
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

a charming hotel in a good location, a really nice bar at the terrace and good service by the staff. the bathroom could be better, though. it was a bit small and hard to adjust the temperature of the shower.
the store right next to the hotel has great goods and promotes faird trade. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It will be no surprise to you that there are cheaper options available in La Paz. However, if you decide to splurge, this is one of the places to do it. The staff provide excellent service and speak great English if your Spanish is not up to par. The location is also exceptional - within walking distance of a TON of shopping and the somewhat interesting "Witches Market". They have a great onsite restaurant here where you can enjoy llama steak at a reasonable price.

The room was also very clean and the shower was GREAT! This was also the most comfortable bed we had in Bolivia and you'll need it to sleep in this altitude!

You won't regret the choice to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I found big promotions for this hotel and ertain info a little more of what it is. I will recommend to use the new rooms at the back side than the old ones. The staff was not nice and after 10 pm need to really insist to go to your room. I think in Bolivia they are still working in tourism and felt I was not in their interest to keep me as a client.

Room Tip: Use the new rooms, but do not expect much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in La Paz in the last thee nights of our 2 week vacation and wanted to stay somewhere nice. A friend recommended this place and it was a good call. Room was comfortable and very clean. Staff were polite and quite helpful. We were very happy overall.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaize, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff. The girls behind reception have a constant genuine smile and are happy to help you in any way they can. The hotel is conveniently set in the center, close to the witches market, San Francisco cathedral and local (touristy) shops and markets. The restaurant is top. The food is high class and the waiters give you a Michelin star service. Breakfast was good as well, with a full range of fresh and hot options. Great view from the cafe on the top floor that offers lunch and small snacks.
I highly recommend this place.

The room was a tad on the small side though, but very cozy and clean!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markvanketel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel if your first time visiting!! There are plenty of cheaper hotels and hostels as Bolivia is an inexpensive tourist destination, but those places aren't in ideal locations and don't have near the amenities as this place.

I was really impressed with Hotel Rosario in downtown La Paz. Some sites rate it a 3-4 star, but I would rate 4.5 stars for any hotel in La Paz. The other 4-5 star hotels are in horrible locations. This hotel is perfectly located to local merchants, famous nightly street breadmaker one block right out the front door, witches market that you can bargain with, local convenience store two blocks away, San Francisco church just a 5 minute walk away, and the huge indoor flea market by the church.

The hotel staff are wonderful and speak fluent English/Spanish (and maybe a few more languages). Breakfast buffet every morning with local fruits, cheeses, homemade bread, local tea/coffee, fresh yogurts, and eggs any style you like. They will open the breakfast early for you if a tour or return flight requires you to wake up early. Their lobby is relaxing with 24 hour hot tea/coffee/water station, clean bathrooms, and 24 hour security guard at entrance. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds, great TV service, and hot showers (may take a few minutes for hot water). During peak shower time, we did have to wait 30 minutes for hot water to replenish in building. Beautiful courtyard between lobby and most hotel rooms (Our dinner spot with local wine and bread for several nights down there). Turisbus is co-located in their lobby, although the street has several tour companies. Most tour companies are partnered together anyways, as every tour we took had folks from other tour agencies.

One friendly reminder - The Virgin Mary weekend festival (Thurs-Sun) occurs right in front of that hotel on that street. Be prepared for loud music, fireworks, and late night (2am+) partying if you stay that weekend (was first weekend of October when we visited).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aufan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
4.6 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#1 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#3 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Property: Hotel Rosario La Paz
Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#10 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center of La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. Friendly and helpful staff that will make you fell at home. Eco friendly and smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing