We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The rooms were typical traditional and we had a room with an excellent view over the city.
Overall the staff was the nicest part in the hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and supported us in any way (Recommendations about the city, food, traditional items).
Thanks again that our stay (except of the altitude was really great).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Angela99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel Rosario is an excellent hotel to stay in in the heart of downtown La Paz! The hotel is quite large, the rooms are absolutely fantastic and very comfortable, and overall it is superbly furnished. There is free mate de coca at a station near the front desk for those that struggle with the altitude. They also have a dedicated desk to help you out with your onward and local travel plans. Breakfast is included and very delicious!
I deducted a couple of points as the staff assured me the WiFi was good [which it wasn't, I later learned from another staff member that the signal was limited to the front lobby area and the signal is very weak]. Also, my friend left a couple of important messages to be left with the lady he was dealing with at the travel desk, and these messages never got passed on. A bit of lack of communication between staff members. Other than that, it was a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is located near the market and many interesting sites of La Paz. The hotel staff was wonderful and helpful in every way imaginable. There is a travel agency located inside the lobby of the hotel and can arrange tours. The tours are priced appropriately and the guides are bi-lingual and very knowledgeable. The drivers are safe and vehicles are nearly new. The restaurant located inside the hotel serves excellent food and the waiters pay extra attention to detail to ensure you enjoy your dining experience. Fermin, one of the waiters in the restaurant could not do enough for us. If we go back to La Paz, we will definitely stay here again. Canadian Couple

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlenG487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stopped here for three nights after roughing it after travelling through rural Bolivia for a few days immediately prior.
It is centrally and conveniently situated for all La Paz has to offer.
It is far better on the inside than it looks from the frontage.It has a delightful internal courtyard and a nice little cafe on the top floor with good views and free internet.
The staff were all very helpful.
Rooms very comfortable
We took breakfast and lunch,both were fine.
No complaints at all and after staying in a variety of accomodation throughout South America on this trip this was one of the best and I have no hesitation recommending it as a tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A good hotel in a reasonably convenient location within walking distance of markets, shops and the city centre. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable few days there. La Paz is at 3600 metres so walking up the hills proved pretty arduous but some of the views made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being our first stop in Bolivia, I was not sure what to expect, but this would be a perfectly nice hotel anywhere in the world. The water was hot and plentiful (even at 5 am), the room was clean, everything worked, including the space heater, the bed was comfy, the staff extremely polite and helpful and most spoke good English. We arrived at about 4:45 am, and the transfer they had arranged met us without issue, and the desk clerk was awaiting our arrival. The location is very good, it is right in the heart of the area tourist want to visit, and I did not feel unsafe in the slightest.

We stayed in the newer part at the back. The hike to the 3rd floor was a bit much with the recent arrival at altitude, and the wifi did not reach that part of the property, but the room was very nicely decorated.

They are building an elevator, but from the progess so far, I would guess it might be a while yet. Other than the construction noise, the hotel was nice and quiet.

The breakfast was massive and quite good. The bar in the cafe on the top floor has a decent view, and their restaurant we ate in one night was extremely good for Bolivia.

Really my only complaint/annoyance was that they were out of the drinking water that is provided for guests for about half the time we were there - bottled water is cheap, it was just the inconvenience of assuming it would be there, and then having to go back out to get some, and as there is no recycling, I prefer to buy as few disposable bottles as I can. Oh, and also they seem to have only the scented toilet paper. I always forget that even exists until I come back to a "put the paper in the bin" country.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great spot in La Paz city for literally catching your breath when first arriving in Bolivia.
The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are gorgeous, the breakfasts varied and ample and coca tea is on tap. The restaurant has an excellent menu and all is reasonably priced.
Also perfect for people who are travelling alone - it has a friendly and social atmosphere.
We are using the Rosario as our base while we travel Bolivia and will be back at least twice more before we leave the country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 77 in La Paz
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
4.6 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 77 in La Paz
401 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atix Hotel
Atix Hotel
#5 of 77 in La Paz
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#10 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $73 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center of La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. Friendly and helpful staff that will make you fell at home. Eco friendly and smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing