We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional staff, great location, worth every boliviano!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“exceptional staff, great location, worth every boliviano!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at Hotel Rosario off and on during our 13 day stay in Bolivia. I have to say, this was the best large city hotels that I've ever stayed at. Set in an ideal location, near the witches market, it has clean rooms, great breakfasts but the thing that sets it apart is the staff. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and it didn't matter what time of day or night i had a question they were alway there to help. When we were concerned about a possible transit strike and not being able to get to the airport to do a jungle excursion, the gentleman at the front desk did not hesitate to say "don't worry, if there is a strike i will drive you there myself".
My wife and I plan on returning to La Paz next year and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan6366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    376
    63
    19
    14
See reviews for
97
502
121
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean, well decorated but are very small and double beds were really small.

Staff at reception were friendly and helpful however we had an incident we didn't like. My husband was very sick and they offered to put a tank of oxygen in our room and we accepted and were very thankful. They never told us we had to pay for the oxygen and we assumed it was courtesy therefore when we received the thank we noticed it was not full (it had 1/4) but we didn't say anything and when it was over and we asked for a second tank they advised the price and sent the second tank, which again was not fully charged and just after a long dispute (thanks god we speak Spanish) they accepted the tank was not full and just charged the proportion for the second one (we had to pay the full rate for the first one which made us feel ripped off. This small incident made our memory for the hotel unpleasant.

Internet was not working in our room.
The best part of the hotel was the restaurant, food was delicious and very well presented.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clenaranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

great location, fantastic staff,great restaurant.. will do all they can to help you organise trips or any needs you want. had pizza at restaurant down the road at martinnis excellent. had meal in hotel even better, llama with a fruit jus followed by a chocolate dessert best food for a long time. Reception staff very helpful

Room Tip: rooms at the back best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpsmoordown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is very well located, 2 blocks from witches' market, and close to main square. A beautiful colonial building with an excellent restaurant- try the quinoa dessert. A very helpful tour desk helped us with a bus ticket purchases, and also an excellent city tour.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit noisy. Request a book room on the upper floor. Eat at the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ange08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stumbled across this place, central location, internet access, good access to the markets, local amenities. Rooms were clean, comfortable and safe. Staff were helpful and friendly also able to arrange trips and flights and offer local knowledge. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very centrally located in a well-renovated former colonial house. Even the modern extension at the rear is tastefully done. Integrates well with their sister hotel in Copacabana – when we arrived from Copa, the hotel had already transferred our data to their check-in card, so all we had to do was sign. Rooms very comfortable, with baths. Rooms have iPhone docking stations so you can play your favourite music instead of watching terrible TV. Excellent breakfast. We don’t usually dine in hotels but on one night we did – and the food was amazingly high quality. Local residents come here to dine. Very helpful staff, a useful tourism desk in the hotel. Good wi-fi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although Hotel Rosario was listed in my guidebook under the more expensive hotels, La Paz is relatively inexpensive compared to cities in neighboring countries, so the hotel was actually great value. The staff was incredibly warm and helpful and the rooms were adorably decorated. I ate at the restaurant a couple of times and it was great. The location was really convenient for exploring the city proper, and taxis are very plentiful and inexpensive, so it was easy to get out a bit further to see other parts of town. Wi-fi was great - used it a lot while I was working during the time, too. They were really nice in opening breakfast early as both of my flights were really early in the morning. It was cold, but the heaters in the room were very welcomed. I had very small issues such as not receiving one wake up call (I had used my phone as a backup anyway) and not being able to charge one of my meals at the cafe to my room (and running out of cash, as a consequence), but otherwise, it was really lovely!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are probably quieter and with a better view, but my street-view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kameko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
4.6 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#1 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#3 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Property: Hotel Rosario La Paz
Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#10 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center of La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. Friendly and helpful staff that will make you fell at home. Eco friendly and smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing