We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACEFUL RETREAT FROM CHAOTIC LA PAZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL RETREAT FROM CHAOTIC LA PAZ”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I really did enjoy my stay at the Rosario Hotel even though my first impressions were clouded by the most debilitating headache ever!
Our group flew into La Paz from Asuncion late at night. Even in the short period between landing and the drive into the city, the effects of altitude sickness were making themselves felt. We headed straight to our rooms when we arrived. Climbing three flights of stairs was worryingly difficult, and we were warned that we may not get much sleep and have difficulty breathing.
How true. I didn’t sleep a wink and soon developed a pounding headache, which disappeared slightly after a handful of paracetamol. Unfortunately that first morning we weren’t in the right frame of mind to take in our surroundings, the comfortable bedroom and the amazing scenes looking from our window down onto the street below.
However, once the altitude sickness wore off, we soon grew to appreciate the Rosario as the days passed (we stayed for 3 nights in total), and a mug or two of complimentary coca tea in the lobby soon became a part of our daily routine - usually before breakfast and later in the afternoon after a day’s sightseeing. For serious sufferers of altitude sickness I believe the hotel offers oxygen.
Breakfast was delicious, although the initial sickness dulled any appetite. We ate dinner in the restaurant on two occasions where I had my first taste of llama.
We particularly enjoyed early evenings in the bar/internet cafe on the third floor which had superb views over La Paz rooftops, especially when the sun caught the snow-capped Mount Illimani as it went down.
The Rosario is centrally placed within easy reach of the main sights and the Witch’s Market was a short walk. We also travelled out of the city to Tiwanaku the following day passing through wild and wonderful scenery. Be warned, there is absolutely no shelter at the Tiwanaku ruins, and even if the weather is chilly, the sun is incredibly strong at this altitude and we managed to burn our heads.
La Paz is a totally unique experience and one which you will remember forever. The Rosario really made our stay in the city enjoyable and we were thoroughly looking forward to travelling to its sister hotel at Copacabana the following day.
If you are staying for a few days you are bound to head out of the city for sightseeing. The view over the city as you climb up into the mountains is breathtaking!
Please don’t let possible altitude sickness dissuade you from visiting. It really is worth the discomfort and headaches which do pass eventually, provided you take things at a leisurely pace and drink lots of coca tea!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    386
    66
    19
    15
See reviews for
98
520
121
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Impeccable service, friendly manner, out-of-the-way helpful staff and well-appointed rooms with their own iPod docks and heaters (needed for the chilly high-altitude nights!) make Hotel Rosario a real traveller's treat. Common area with herbal tea and reading materials on Bolivian culture make for a good break and the inhouse Turisbus staff are super-friendly and will go out of their way to make sure your stay in La Paz and Bolivia is a memorable one. Just go and stay and enjoy!

Room Tip: if it's your first time at high altitude, pick a room on the lower floors to avoid huffing and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sr2378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Rosario on Av Illampu in March 2012. Almost everything about the hotel was exceptional. Our room was spacious and well equipped, the breakfast (included) was plentiful, and the location, on the edge of the markets, extremely convenient. But the most impressive feature of the hotel was its attention to customer service. The staff were attentive and responsive to any request. The hotel could arrange tours easily through its partnership with a superb on-site tourist operator (high on information, low on hard-sell).

The other impressive feature of the hotel is that the front desk seemed to be able to fix
almost any problem, or arrange any service a traveller could think of. Whether we needed to know basic information about the location or opening times of tourist sites, a tailor that could mend trekking gear, or the best locations to make international calls, the staff at the front desk could help us. When my partner wanted something fixed by a tailor, and the guy at the front desk wasn´t sure if the local tailor could do the job, he went with her to a couple of locations to be the translator to ensure the job was done properly. Because we were leaving town for a couple of days on a Salt Flats tour, he offered to pick up her garment and hold it for her at the hotel until we returned to La Paz. Just one small example of the type of great customer service at this hotel.

When I was checking out, I bumped into a friend from Australia (it´s a small world) who was staying at a far more expensive hotel around the corner. His partner had misplaced her Yellow Fever vaccination card which she needed as they were travelling on to Brazil the next day. Their hotel sent my friend to Hotel Rosario to get a replacement vaccination card. My friend said his hotel told him that if anyone could solve his problem Hotel Rosario could, which they did without asking for any compensation.

Sensational choice for any traveller seeking conveniently located, moderately priced accommodation in La Paz.

Room Tip: We didn´t ask for it, but we got the Matrimonial Room which was spacious with a window. The room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieRob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a room off the courtyard on the first floor and it was roomy, comfortable and a little quirky (with 3 dimensional pictures of llamas, pervians cooking, etc. Very homely and the only hotel we have stayed in, in South America so far, which had an iPod player/charger in the room.
Having ventured out to find a restaurant on the first night (only to come back concerned), we ended up eating at the Rosario (which does not show as a restaurant on Trip Advisor). Unusually, and because of a lack of closeby alernatives, we ate at the hotel each night of our 3 day stay, and each meal was excellent, and reasonably priced.
Whilst the Rosario is very close to the Witches Market, it is distant from a number of the other La Paz attractions, but on the basis that a city/valley of the moon tour will pick you up from the hotel, this isn't too much of a negative.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalgroucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hotel Rosario is situated in a great location and I am very pleased that we stayed here. The room was perfect, clean and comfortable. We had some issues with the water being too hot (our cold water was sporatic working) but it didn´t wreck our positive experience. The breakfast buffet was nice and all the staff were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The location of hotel Rosario is excellent. Within walking distance to witches market, bus and train stations, restaurants and bars. Only downside is that you're right next door to the Rosario church so don't expect to sleep in on the weekends unless you like the ringing of bells in your ear!
The hotel has a travel agent in house who I'm sure can be efficient on their day but unfortunately were of no use to us. However, there is approximately 45,000 other travel agents within a stones throw so no major issues there.
The breakfasts are simple - breads, fruits, tea and coffee etc and well presented. I didn't have dinner there but noticed that the restaurant was often packed which I'm assuming is a good sign. The wifi is up and down with its signal but is as reliable as anywhere else I've been in Bolivia.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandolfQuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here on two occasions in March whilst traveling in Bolivia and found it it to be one of the best hotels in South America.
The staff are simply outstanding, the rooms are clean and well equipped and the common areas are cosy. We loved the free mate tea! Breakfast was a great spread. But for dinner we had better food outside the hotel for half the price. But overall, this is the best option in La Paz. PS if heading to Copacabana, check out their sister hotel in that town, also top class.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdayvday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.5 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 76 in La Paz
257 reviews
4.6 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 76 in La Paz
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Property: Hotel Rosario La Paz
Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#10 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center of La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. Friendly and helpful staff that will make you fell at home. Eco friendly and smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing