We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old grandeur”
Review of Presidente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Presidente Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming old grandeur”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the Presidente for two nights. I totally agree with other reviewers that the hotel is dated, and like others I have re-based my review on that fact that it is in Bolivia, but in the circumstances I personally found it charming - we had a huge suite with chintzy fabrics and a yellow toilet! Very clean and very comfortable, with a fantastic view from a huge window overlooking San Francisco square, which is right on the hotel's doorstep. The reception is grand and instantly welcoming as an escape from the chaotic streets outside, with a small business centre to the left. There is free wifi and complimentary water in the rooms.

We ate dinner in the top floor restaurant, which was very quiet, but again had fantastic views. We enjoyed a complimentary drink in the bar, and the service in the restaurant was first class. The food not quite so good, but very reasonably priced and we enjoyed the evening. Breakfast the next morning was okay - plenty of choice, the bread was a little stale though. Overall an enjoyable experience, if you like a bit of kitsch!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmasteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    111
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
24
79
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

very retro. old school. needs a revamp. only good is the location.if you are street facing its got non stop beeping in the street below. you can find better i'm sure..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I couldnt get this property to come up for the restaurant only, so I'm writing here about the restaurant. We were just passing through La Paz...looking for a place for a late lunch. There were 15 of us.
Stopped in Hotel Presidente and WOW, were we amazed and impressed. The staff was falling over themselves to take the best care of us. We were travel weary, not dressed for the environment, but they made us feel special with everything they did.
And the food matched the quality of the service. We all had something different...I had a chicken canelloni which was superb. Even the hamburger that someone had was terrific.
Highly recommend...not too expensive by American comparison.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WineDineDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a two week trip into the Bolivian Amazon. It is in a great location in central La Paz, easy walk to the main square. The hotel feels somewhat dated, but was clean and comfortable and has nice views of the city. We had dinner at the top floor restaurant our last night there, and it was very pleasant (again, beautiful views). After spending almost two weeks with no running water, electricity, or plumbing in the Amazon, we welcomed the comfort of the Presidente Hotel. The complimentary internet in the lobby was nice, I was able to email family in the States, eliminating the need to pay high international phone fees.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great location in the centre of La Paz only a 5 min walk from the main square. The room was huge but in need of redecoration. The view over the city was excellent. The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice and staff very good and helpful.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

A tower-block hotel in the centre of La Paz, but showing a general need of redecoration and refurbishment. The decor is tired and, in the restaurant, dated. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which are otherwise fine - spacious and well-fitted - though one day our room was not made up at all. Food including breakfast is fine and efficiently served. Families with children may like to note that windows slide open and there is no guard or block on the extent to which they open, even high up in the tower: in our room a sofa was placed with its back to the opening window, so a child could climb onto the seat, the sofa back and out of the window ! Staff generally helpful. Fine for a night or two, but hardly four-star.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here twice on our trip. First room was a very comfortable suite, second a regular room. Both had stunning views across the city. Think there is something wrong with air con/vents as there was very strong,stale smell of cooked food coming through into the actual room! and foyer has overpowering cigarette smoke which comes up from the casino on the floor below. Enough whinging. We enjoyed our stay here despite a horror start to our trip with our luggage not arriving for 4 days. It is within easy walking distance of everything (very handy at this altitude). Staff were generally helpful and concerned regarding our predicament despite our very meager few words of Spanish. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety. Restaurant is very nice, with amazing views, the service was excellent and the food good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 76 in La Paz
319 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 76 in La Paz
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Hotel

Property: Presidente Hotel
Address: Potosi st. 920, La Paz, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Presidente Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel overlooking city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing