We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolute Disaster”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is just stuck in the 70´s, and I don´t mean the architecture or the decor, curtains, etc, which are totally outdated, but all of it, the beds are terrible, the sheets have holes, really terrible. The service is totally lacking, from check in to concierge to restaurants, all is slow and unfriendly. A very bad experience. If we hadn´t arrived at 3pm in the night we would have definitely left to another hotel. The fact that it is the only "international" brand hotel in town misguided us into this horrendous place.
Avoid at all means

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments very much regret not meeting their expectations.

Sincerely.

Rommel R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    138
    102
    25
    25
See reviews for
28
83
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The window in my room had the mountains like a painting. We were lucky that they assigned us a room in a high floor. Bolivia is a distinctly Andean country.

Bolivians with their customs, they show an incredible love for this country, they are an example to follow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived early morning after a very long trip. We noticed policemen in riot gear, banners and people everywhere. Our tour leader said that protests were common in LaPaz for one cause or another. Each day the cause seemed to change, but the great service, comfortable room and good food made our time in the hotel pleasant.

The breakfast buffet was the best we encountered in three weeks travel in South America. Cereal, cheeses, breads and a few hot items. Someone said there was a cook making eggs to order, but none of our group ever saw him. Wifi in rooms was iffy, but there is a business center with computers free of charge.

The hotel is in walking distance of banks, restaurants and other city conveniences as well as sidewalk vendors--many elderly ladies serving drinks and snacks in old-style dress. A short cab ride away is the old town with many cultural museums and markets selling everything from good luck talismans to name brand electronics.

Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, especially Susan who has a great smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

During our stay in La Paz my wife and I stayed here and can't say anything negative about this hotel accept it is a little out dated and needs a face lift. We had a suite on the 14th floor which had a very nice view of the downtown core and the service through out the hotel was kind and courteous. Check in was fast and efficient as well as check out. The soaps, shampoos and creams that the hotel provides is probably the most economical and have the most undesired sense, so I recommend you bring or buy your own. We had dinner our first night up on the 15th floor and it was good, with a great view. The bed was comfortable but one more time the bedding needs to be updated. They say that this is the best hotel in La Paz and to be honest I am not sure, but if you are looking for a hotel with all the amenities and can skip the luxury part then this is your place, but if you are looking for something more high end, keep looking.

Room Tip: Get a room on a upper floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiljor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

In the course of a two weeks' private stay in Bolivia I checked in four times and was not once disappointed by the welcome I got: friendly, helpful, flexible, competent. Out of the four check-ins I was three times awarded an upgrade and my request for a specific type of room was accepted with a smile. I specially appreciated the most unbueraucratic availability for (free) early check-in, which is a necessity when you arrive on American Airlines' early morning flight, up from sea level Miami to two miles high La Paz! Service at bar and cafeteria unvariably friendly and accomodating. And the Wi-Fi works and is free of charge! Frankly I don't understand why this hotel does not fare better in clients' ranking... For me it was the perfect match and the best value for money I could expect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aschlaepfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time.

For us it is very important to its evaluation, we are pleased to know that the attitude of our staff made your stay more enjoyable, on behalf of my colleagues and my own THANK YOU ...
This commits us to work more and better.

Radisson hope to have it soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
159 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A modern and well maintained hotel with all the facilities one can desire (including oxygen bottles so useful in a city 3.600m over the ocean). Location: a few steps away from the very busy city center but far enough away of the noise. The south rooms have gorgeous views over the Ilimani, the snow caped mountain that dominates the city. Unfortunately the breakfast is not as good as expected. The restaurant in the roof has an astonishing view by night, but a very plain menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felipeferreirario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room on the 10th floor had an amazing view over La Paz and I could see the snow covered mountains on the horizon. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was great with ample choices for all tastes. The restaurant on the top floor not only served good food but had a mesmerising view of La Paz lit up at night. All this said, there was something lacking, possibly character, (its very modern) or maybe the staff (some were a bit stand offish others were fine) or maybe I just didn't appreciate the hustle and bustle outside the front door that didn't stop day or night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time.
For us it is very important to its evaluation, it helps us improve.

We regret that the attitude of some people was not at the required level.
Rest assured that we are making the necessary corrections so that events like this will not happen again.

Radisson hope to have it soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 76 in La Paz
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ritz Apart Hotel
Ritz Apart Hotel
#10 of 76 in La Paz
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#19 of 76 in La Paz
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel LP Columbus
Hotel LP Columbus
#20 of 76 in La Paz
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Av. Arce 2177, La Paz, Bolivia (Formerly Radisson Plaza Hotel La Paz)
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise cottage complex;tourist class with comfortable well-furnished rooms - 12 km from El Alto-La Paz airport, city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paz Radisson
Radisson La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing