We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming drinks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
1 review
“Welcoming drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

What you see on the complimentary drinks card and what you actually get are worlds apart. I think they just dipped a glass thimble in a bucket used to wash cars and served that up!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gez36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    138
    101
    24
    22
See reviews for
28
79
33
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We ended up here when our reservations at hotels rated # 2&3 were given away to travelers who arrived earlier. We could not have been more pleased. Friendly attentive and HONEST staff, spectacular views and the best food we have had in 6 months. The decor is a bit dated but it is very comfortable. Car alarms are the national anthem of Bolivia, get used to it. We stayed for three night and it was fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had chosen this hotel based on the fact that it was nice and comfortable during my last stay, 7 years ago in 2004.
However, this time, no eye contact, no smile and no welcome from the reception desk upon arrival. I was only handed long administrative forms to complete just like the way it was in Moscow during the Cold War !
Despite the fact the hotel was almost empty and my written requests for a quiet room was forwarded in due time I was allocated a sad darkish overheated and very noisy one (#1023) with clogged drains driving me back to the reception to complain.
The new room I was given ( #1022) was only a little bit quieter but at 10 pm and after a long trip from Europe I was too tired to argue with the bureaucratic unhelpful people at the reception.

The next day as I was wandering in the hotel I realized how badly the once fancy and luxurious Radisson La Paz has changed over the last seven years.
Everything looked dated since no significant investment has been done in years !
Worn bed sheets have holes. The bathrooms of the three bedrooms I have occupied had all clogged drains. Breakfast area looks more like a kindergarten than a restaurant with dated orange dominant colors from the 70’s all over. There is no other possibility to cool down the overheated rooms (30 C or 89F) than by opening the windows and letting tremendous constant traffic noise and pollution in.
Moreover, the plethoric bureaucratic staff with poor English understanding does not compensate by efficient or reliable service except maids who are doing their best at this run down property. One day I was so dehydrated by the room’s overheating that I went down to the bar to pick up a bucket of ice cubes. After 5 minutes the bartender eventually got me a small glass with less than 5 ice cubes inside !
Even check-out was disappointing when I was given a handwritten tax invoice in line with the poor professionalism of this hotel’s staff.

Unfortunately I have no other place to recommend in the high end category. However, when staying at La Paz avoid the Radisson.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HOTELLMEMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My lamp near the bed wasn't plugged in and when I went to plug it into the extension cord I got an electric shock for a few seconds. Someone from the hotel came to check it out and saw that there was a piece of metal on the side of the extension cord which I couldn't easily see. He wrapped the metal piece with tape and then plugged it in.

Rooms dated but staff is very helpful.

Mountain view rooms are better than just city view because the mountain view rooms look at both the mountains and city.

Nice panoramic views from the top floor restaurant and very reasonably priced; you can eat there for under 10 USD. When I was bought the check though the waiter also brought me a pen and then took it away and didn't come back. I had to call him over again to call him over again to ask for a pen so I could sign for the charges.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toantarticaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

After 2 weeks in small,basic hotels through Peru checking in here was wonderful.
From the spacious foyer,friendly staff to the pleasant rooms we enjoyed our stay so much.
Lovely big bathroom,with bath.Good size room with great views (maybe a little dated but far better than we had found on the rest of our travels in peru and Bolivia). Really good room service menu and fast service. Nice breakfast area with good breakfast variety.
Best of all the restaurant on the top floor with magnificient views out over la Paz,wonderful service and great seafood.
Only the lobby bar service was slow and aloof.
OK business centre to email home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crisjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Finding a chain hotel in bolivia is hard, and finding a radisson was a bit of a lucky strike. The hotel does need updating and the rooms are a flasback to the 1970's. BUT, you'll happy to have some of the base chain hotel commodoties, like a nice restaurant a nice bar, A sauna, pool and gym, etc.
It is on the expensive side in LA PAZ, but, its close to restaurants cafes and what not. Internet in the hotel is spotty like in most bolivian places, so ask for a room near the elevator which is were they place the router, the farther away you are the less signal you'll have.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,031 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed just one night, and I always feel guilty reviewing a hotel after so short a stay - they have so little opportunity to impress (or alternatively, so little time to mess up).

When I checked in (it was pretty late), and I was given a free drink voucher for use at the bar. When I got to the bar, there was no barman, and I had to go looking. Eventually I found someone to help. Almost all the drinks were off limits for my coupon, and I ended up with a cocktail which tasted like shampoo. I'm never clear why hotels offer 'incentives' like this - they seem to do more hard than good. Here I am typing a hotel review based upon my experience in the bar seeking a free drink!

My room was OK, but the pillows hard, and the bathroom tired (1980's decor by my estimation).

I needed to check out early for my onward flight connection, and the breakfast had not opened yet. So I left hungry. I am sure the hotel is actually much better than the experience it gave me, but I can only comment upon my personal experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.8 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#3 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#1 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 76 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Av. Arce 2177, La Paz, Bolivia (Formerly Radisson Plaza Hotel La Paz)
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise cottage complex;tourist class with comfortable well-furnished rooms - 12 km from El Alto-La Paz airport, city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paz Radisson
Radisson La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing