We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ritz Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ritz Apart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent four nights at this lovely suites hotel in La Pas. The suites were spacious and after two weeks of travel it was such a pleasure to spread out a little. Located on a lovely square, it was a good walk to the sites, but the local neighbourhood provided restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores and a small mall. Service in the hotel was wonderful, with sweets placed by the bed every night. The breakfast was excellent. with the best croissants of the trip. We also had tapas twice in the main restaurant and one dinner in the coffee shop, all of which were very good. Computers and wi-fi were free.
I have to mention Denny at the front desk. We were robbed by a man posing as a policeman, and Denny helped me report my stolen cards and then took us to the police to fill out a report, which his excellent English made very simple for me. That softened the blow of the robbery greatly and helped keep us calm. I noted other staff were being equally responsive to clients needs, so no worries there at all.
A nice place to end our travels, and I only wish every place made us feel quite so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgaryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miroslava d, Director of Sales at Ritz Apart Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our services, for the good comments, for your time to write and for the good references.
We hope to have you again in the future with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    96
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
58
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When we first arrived, the room we got (#508) was great. On our return from Lake Titicaca, there did not seem to be room of the same quality ready and so we were put in two bed room (#301) which was not as clean as the room 508 was. It was noisy (from the street) and worst of all, it was smoked in.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors to minimize noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hotel is in a very peaceful and nice area. The people how complains about the service and staff are nuts... in my staying with my family was very top class. People try to help you even (English is their language) Staff were helpfull, room service were punctual and fast.
People you get good service for about 80 $us, the price of the suite...
Its a bargain... dont be so akward just because you are so greedy and stingy (back packers).
I wish we could stay more days but the schedule was so busy (because we go to spend our many visiting and exploring insted of complain or talking about the services)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Ch4nner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for the last three nights of a recent Peru/Bolivia group tour and were quite pleased compared to the quality of most hotels in those two countries at the level of service, and cleanliness we experienced at this place vs. other similar hotels in this region. The hotel felt like a more upscale apartment style living with small kitchens, dining areas, and even two bedroom suites. It made us feel like we had our own apartment in La Paz which is nice, for La Paz is quite the South American Urban dwelling.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherWalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with our 2 year old baby girl at around 9:00 AM after our long international flight. We just checked with them if we can do an early check in with option of payment if required. As expected it was denied. This was fine. It is the policy of all hotels and they may be busy. We understand this.
Next day we are supposed to check out at 4:00 AM, so we'll not take our included breakfast for obvious reasons. So we checked the option of taking the breakfast the same day morning, since our baby was hungry and crying. This was also rejected without any consideration for a small baby. We felt very surprised to this rude behavior from front staff, considering we had very good service from all other places in Bolivia. They did not even think before replying.
Had a very bad overall experience from the front desk staff and his manager.

But rooms were very good, and stay was comfortable, barring the above bad experience.
I'll be visiting Bolivia again, and will never stay here. I'll never recommend this to any one else too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jineesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel needs major renovation. Sure it has big rooms but what is the point when the bathrooms are so small there is no shelf space to even place a toilet bag. During our 5 week tour in South America this was the worse hotel we stayed in. Maybe we were just lucky with the others! Maybe we are just reviewing based on what we saw but there is no way this is 4 or 5 star as some state. I suggest those rating as 5 star never ate breakfast in the heavy wood dining room with the basic breakfast selection and one fry pan cook trying to serve eggs to a tour party!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dijo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I needed an overnight in La Paz before heading to Tiahuanacu the next day and onwards to Isla del Sol.
We actually travelled in October 2011, I am behind in reviewing a few spots.
This far exceeded our expectations. Spacious apartment and bedroom, great food in the restaurant and fast service! Extremely gracious too.
Room service was amazing - we ordered drinks and the pasta dish. It came quickly and it was delicious.
Check in and check out was a breeze.....it made us want to stay one more day and explore La Paz but had a busy schedule to follow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatnKerisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in La Paz
516 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
1,036 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#1 of 76 in La Paz
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 76 in La Paz
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Apart Hotel

Property: Ritz Apart Hotel
Address: Plaza Isabel La Catolica 2478, La Paz 4026, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ritz Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz is a five-star Apart Hotel with a classic English style. The Ritz Apart Hotel opened its doors in September of 1995. The Ritz has 70 suites of different kinds and a Business Center with the latest equipment and on-line internet 24 hours a day. In "Duke's Restaurant" you will find renowned national and international gastronomy. And you can also enjoy a wide variety of sandwiches and salads in our Bar-Cafeteria, "The Oak". We also offer external services in order to cover all the needs of our guests with a blend of pleasure and comfort. Strategically located in a residential zone, Ritz Apart Hotel is near downtown, the business and financial area. At the same time, it is located in a peaceful area that allows an easy access to Miraflores and South districts, as well as the alternative route to the airport. It is ideal for the visitor who will find the Tourist Bus and Multicine just steps away. It is also pretty near the embassies of Germany, the US, Brazil, Holland, Denmark, Spain, and Great Britain. The excellence in our services and the careful and personalized attention towards our guests have awarded us national and international recognition, ranking us as one of the best hotels in the city of La Paz and in Latin America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ritz Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel La Paz
Ritz La Paz
La Paz Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing