We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Service”
Review of Hotel LP Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel LP Columbus
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value and Great Service”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

When we booked the LP Columbus the day before our arrival, I neglected to look at the location and proximity to the football stadium. We were surprised to find the place quiet, centrally located - cheap taxis anywhere - friendly and courteous service. Their laundry service is excellent, as well as providing radio taxis upon departure to any if the three bus terminals. It suited our travel and provided a great Continental breakfast. The big plus was the Wi-Fi everywhere in the hotel! I would highly recommend the LP Columbus to anyone traveling to La Paz.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On-A-Caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    91
    43
    15
    15
See reviews for
22
77
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Maybe we got the rough end of the deal but I got the distinct impression that all rooms are the same. Our room was tiny, very basic with worn carpet and tired furniture and paintwork. The bathroom was very tired and when you turned the tap on in the basin, the bathroom floor flooded.

We had a very early flight so we decided to go to the hotel restaurant for a quick and simple meal. We ordered one spaghetti carbonara and one spaghetti alfredo. However, we waited an hour for the food to arrive and, when it did, the pasta was still not cooked and both sauces were just a gelatinous, clear, tasteless slop on the top of the pasta. The food was totally inedible.

When we came to check out and pay our bill, we had a further unpleasant experience as the receptionist refused to honour the 20% discount on our booking that we had through an offer on the hotel's website. The receptionist insisted that we were lying and had not booked through the website (despite the 20% offer being attached to the paperwork that the hotel had prepared for our check out) because the confirmation said "powered by Hostelworld" on it. We explained to her that this was the site that runs the hotel's website but she said that this was not true and that we had booked through a third party.

Also, the area around the hotel is not very nice and you are at least 10 minutes walk from the city centre. This is not a walk that can be done at night and does not feel very safe in the day either.

All in all this was a very unpleasant experience and I would recommend that everyone avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmadlondoner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
All the rooms we have are the same as in the pictures, but there are 2 different kind of Rooms, the Suites and the LP rooms, probably you saw the Suites pictures.
The discount you mention, in the ticket say that you must show the coupon at the Check In, because this rate is an special rate and have a different code in our system.Although when you came back to the Hotel 2 days later, our Front desk Manager gives you the money (20%) back.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Bolivia was most enjoyable.
Roxana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the LP Hoteles Columbus for 2 weeks whilst in La Paz for business. I stayed in a suite on the 6th floor which was very well appointed and comfortable.
Most importantly I found all the hotel staff to be extremely polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor offer better views. However please note that If you stay on the 6th floor you have to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is IMHO a poor choice for staying in La Paz. The area around it is not slums, but is lower class overall, lacks any sights and tourist infrastructure - as in, there are no restaurants nearby, transport connections, and no reason to be in that area whatsoever (unless you are visiting the city for a sporting event - the stadium is literally next door). Bed was uncomfortable, room was cold, bathroom small, breakfast poor. Though the service personnel was not able to give basic information (as in, any decent places to eat nearby, where is a decent shopping center (did not get a suitcase, needed supplies), they were very friendly and trying to be helpful as much as possible (that's why 2 instead of 1 stars). They are not well trained to assist international tourists, but are genuinely willing to help. They also did pick us up at the airport for an additional fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for days on holiday in one of the suites. The hotel is located very well outside of the zone with all the tourist hostels etc, closeby the centre (walkable).

The rooms (suites) are big and modern with comfy beds and seating area. Overall good valuenfor money but also nothing really special. The hotel should be commended however for the extremely friendly and helpful staff. They really made our stay very comfortable.

People make the differencenin hotels and for that LP is hightly recommended!

Room Tip: The little bit extra for a suite is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heronimvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've had loose change and dollars bills in pants pockets being lifted on more than one occasion. When I complained to management, they said it was impossible and that I probably just "lost it". Despite the convenient location, it is frequently noisy at night due to the proximity of events at the stadium, and the room was small and cramped. I stayed for business for 5 nights. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your time.
I am the Regional Manager of Hotel LP Columbus, I apologize for the inconvenience you have in our Hotel.
I have a question: You say you talk with the manager i dont remember that you talk with me.
Also in the Questionarie you fill up at your Check Out, ypou didnt mention this theme.
LP Columbus undertake a remodeling of its rooms to isolate the noises.
Please contact me by email to give talk abotut this.
I am very sorry your stay was not entirely pleasant, and has had all these difficulties
I hope that the next time you came, i want to attend you personally.

Best Regards
Roxana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at LP Columbus over 6 nights in La Paz and were very impressed with the staff at the hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful and assisted us with a range of items including looking up flights, buses, booking hotels in other cities in Bolivia, and even storing luggage for us for free for 2 days.

Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. Showers were hot (although if not we called reception and they were hot within 10 mins).

The hostel was located away from the main tourist area but walking distance to the city centre. Taxis were cheap at 10 Bolivianos anyway.

Overall great hotel, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely highty recommend this hotel to any other traveller!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamchops81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.


Regards,

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.1 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#12 of 76 in La Paz
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 76 in La Paz
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LP Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LP Columbus

Property: Hotel LP Columbus
Address: Av. Illimani no. 1990 | Esquina Plaza Stadium, La Paz 5432, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LP Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star Hotel located in La Paz Down Town in a quiet neighborhood. Our hotel offers a pleasant stay, with all the facilities to enjoy a city that gives visitors a personal taste of politics, culture, art and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel LP Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lp Columbus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing