We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, noisy and wonderful staff.”
Review of Hotel LP Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel LP Columbus
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
South Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, noisy and wonderful staff.”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is located in a convenient part of La Paz. It is walking distance (once you get adjusted to the altitude) to many of the attractions, museums and plazas. It is also accessible by a large number of "collectivos"- shared minivans- to many parts of the city.

The Hotel is clean and the room (ours on the 6th -top- floor) was well provided for and the cleaning service is very good. Because ot the proximity to the Stadium circle the traffic noise lingers till quite late and starts early. This meant keeping the windows closed, which meant less oxygen, which meant choosing noise over lack of oxygen. The Hotel also has a reasonably good restaurant and serves the standard morning fare for breakfast and a respectable menu for dinner.

The Hotel's best asset might be the Staff- Cecelia, Omar and Stanley. Very very helpful with information, wake up calls and arranging trips and tours. If you want to take a private cab ask for Pedro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We work all days to give our Gueste the best remiender form our Hotel.We gave to Cecilie Omar ans Stanley a service Pin.
Thank you
Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    92
    47
    16
    15
See reviews for
22
81
40
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a one bedroom suite and were very happy with the room. The bed was large and very comfortable with several pillows (not always the case in South America). The bathroom had hot water 24/7, great water pressure and a spa bath. The room was very sunny and also had a mini bar and cable TV. The staff were generally pretty helpful and spoke english. We stored our bags for 4 nights at no additional cost. The location is about 15 mins walk to the main centre or a very cheap cab (about 10 bolivianos).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyf3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here, front desk very helpful with tours and information, room clean and bed comfortable, good safe location, breakfast very mediocre and occasional noise from barking dogs and emergency services centre located under my window, but all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copacabana, Bolivia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked this hotel at booking.com. When we arrived at this hotel the staff told us that they did not receive any confirmation from booking.com. After showing our printed confirmation (for a suite) the staff (especially the manager) would not offer us a decent alternative. The manager blaimed booking.com and only offer us a twin room for the normal room rate, he was not willing to offer another room with a discount or make appologies for the inconvenience (we just arrived from the jungle and wanted to stay at a beautiful room for a couple of nights....).
At the end the manager was very rude and walked away during our conversation, shouting that we had to leave the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank StijnSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest:
Until today we didnt receive the reservation from the Booking Engine.As you arrive at the Hotel we offer you a solution, give you an available room, but the only you wanted is a discount.The mistake was made by the Booking engine and was not our mistake.I think you must ask for a discount to the Booking engine and not to the Hotel.We appologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is a very good cozy hotel just in front of the soccer stadium in La paz. They have a very interesting feature called "pillow menu" from which you can select many different types of pillow to make yourself comfortable in bed! The hotel staff is excellent. All the rooms face the street and the street is very busy especially in the evening which gives you a feel of being in a market place but as the night falls, everything dies out and peace prevails! All in all I would say a good hotel which gives you all the comforts that you need at a very good price!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer2011_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Since 2005, we (a journalist-filming team) have been travelling to La Paz five times per year. After trying some great and not so great hotels in La Paz, we finally found what we needed at the LP Columbus La Paz.. Extremely well located, bright, clean rooms, good breakfast, a short but delicious menu, and most important a staff with a rare human touch, always looking after you needs, and two very professional and efficient drivers -and this is also a key issue for us.
I would definitely recommend LP Columbus La Paz, and for football lovers this is the perfect place to stay! By the Stadium, most football teams stay there.

Room Tip: The upper floor suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudestada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights. hotel staff were great - ordered pizza for us when we arrived late at night, organised a 'car' tour of la paz for a reasonable price and also arranged/booked our tour to Lake Titicaca. the breakfast was a bit plain. our room was on a floor that was having other rooms refurbished, but we really had no noise or other issues. bit limited on eating options nearby. close to the main part of town and we were never too concerned about walking around on our own during the day - at night we caught taxi's though. this was our first stay in altitude and i had problems sleeping - shortness of breath!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz_flashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.2 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#12 of 77 in La Paz
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 77 in La Paz
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LP Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LP Columbus

Property: Hotel LP Columbus
Address: Av. Illimani no. 1990 | Esquina Plaza Stadium, La Paz 5432, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LP Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star Hotel located in La Paz Down Town in a quiet neighborhood. Our hotel offers a pleasant stay, with all the facilities to enjoy a city that gives visitors a personal taste of politics, culture, art and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel LP Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lp Columbus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing