We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Ghastly food”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

we stayed here during our recent trip to Bolivia. The room was fine, if a little tired, but the location is superb, being a minute's walk to the main drag in La Paz, the Prado. The receptionists and Bell boys are helpful, but the food in the restaurants for us was virtually inedible. the Buffet Breakfast is so-so. I could just about manage to find something to eat, but the food in the restaurant was inedible, and I left most of my meal. In fact we ended up going to Burger King in the Prado EVERY NIGHT!!!!!
I'd still stay in this hotel, just not eat there!!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, with no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickigirl1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEuropaSummit, Manager at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear you took advantage of our great location to see the best of the city and our team played a big part in your pleasant stay.
However, we are sorry to know that you didn’t enjoy the options at our restaurants; in fact, we would like to know a little bit more about your experience, if you get a chance, please send us an email at summit@hoteleuropa.com.bo and tell us about it.
We will definitely look into ways of improving our food options and we hope you contact us if you ever come back to La Paz, we will be happy to take care of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 337 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed in Europa Hotel for 10 days during a business trip in March 2014.

In general, I have a very positive impression about this hotel, although there were several minor flaws. It is definitely not a 5 star hotel, but for me it was a safe, solid, well functioning base away from home, and I am glad for choosing this hotel.

I stayed in Residence suite, very comfortable, spacious, separate living room and dining area, small kitchen, working area, very comfortable bed, outside terrace with nice views of La Paz.
The only slightly irritating detail – no blinds on the bedroom windows, only curtains. In La Paz, where the sun and light are so extremely bright, blinds are necessary for sleeping comfort.

I was using the hotel conference facilities for meeting for a whole week, and everything was functioning well. Front desk staff is efficient, fluent in English and always ready to help.

I have to say, that breakfast is extremely boring, especially for someone, who stays longer, than a couple of days… Lunch buffet was nice, but the quality of la carte menu in the café was disappointing.

Hotel’s fitness and spa area is a total joke, nothing else to add.

But all in all, I will always look back at my stay in Europa Hotel la Paz, with gratitude and positive feelings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qualityqueen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEuropaSummit, Gerente at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay in Hotel Europa. We are glad to know that our facilities and stuff made it easy for you to stay productive, and that our comfortable beds kept you well rested.
Regarding your comments, we are happy to inform you that the Hotel is starting a renovation process, which includes new decoration in our rooms (with black out blinds); we also have menu improvements coming up, which include different breakfast options.
Regarding the hotel fitness and spa we will see the best way to make immediate improvements.
We would love to show you all the changes we have in store for our guests, so if you come back to La Paz please contact us directly to summit@hoteleuropa.com.bo. We will be happy to take care of you again.
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

- superb service, very professional
- comfy spacious room (even thought furniture from the 80ies :)
- good location, 15 minutes walk to Plaza Murillo, 2 blocks from Prado Avenue
- bad gym, ok indoor pool
- great breakfast, continental breakfast available from 3am!!! and from 6am good buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEuropaSummit, Manager at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Europa. Our team is always trying to go above and beyond to meet your needs and give a great experience to all our guests.
Also, we are happy to announce that we are starting a renovation process, which will change the image and decoration of the whole hotel. We hope you get a chance to visit us again and see the all the new features, if you do please contact summit@hoteleuropa.com.bo, so we can take care of you.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Europa,we arrived in the early hours and had a prompt check in by reception staff and our room was of a good standard.The staff were all very helpful and when my husband felt unwell they bought Oxygen tank to the room for him at no cost.
The Hotel is conveniently located although when we were there they had a political rally going on which men tour City Tour being altered to the outskirts of town.the Wi Fi was good and the food was excellent.
Would recommend this Hotel for a stay in la Paz.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Europa_Bolivia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we helped make your visit to La Paz better. After time we got better services, we are waiting you !

Thank you for staying with us and we would love to take care of you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a delightful experience to stay at this hotel! From the warm welcome at check in, by the most professional of staff to the room facilities. Breakfast is beautifully presented with a wide variety of choice. Dinner in the piano bar on the mezzanine level makes for a very pleasant evening with good food well presented by the immaculately dressed waiters.
Nothing is too much trouble for the very capable staff on reception. Requests were met with by a positive response on every occasion.
The hotel is well placed for The Prado from where you can walk to San Francisco Plaza and the famous Sagarnaga street or jump in a mini bus displaying PRADO for 1.5 Bolivianos. Alternatively the hotel will summon a taxi in seconds if you are acclimatising to the altitude and VERY steep streets. A perfect location for me in this incredible city!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank JuaniJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Europa_Bolivia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we helped make your visit to La Paz better. After time we got better services, we are waiting you !

Thank you for staying with us and we would love to take care of you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has good wifi and a safe clean environment. We stayed for a week and it was perfect base. Staff where friendly and helpful. Some good close by restaurants as well. Breakfast was good selection but not so fresh but we made do. Pillows need replacing but otherwise rooms worked well.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Newnhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Europa_Bolivia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we helped make your visit to La Paz better. After time we got better services, we are waiting you !

Thank you for staying with us and we would love to take care of you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Europa is a large, probably 1970s hotel. The rooms are large and well equipped. It hasn't got great style but is very welcoming. It was just what we wanted after a few days on the road in Bolivia. The staff were all very helpful too. One word of warning, there is a large, Catholic school on one side which starts its day at 7.30 with loud tannins and a marching band! Ask for a room on the quiet side!

Room Tip: Avoid the school side to get a lie in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Europa_Bolivia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we helped make your visit to La Paz better. After time we got better services, we are waiting you !

Thank you for staying with us and we would love to take care of you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.8 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 78 in La Paz
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 78 in La Paz
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Atix Hotel
Atix Hotel
#5 of 78 in La Paz
110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 78 in La Paz
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Tiahuanaco No. 64, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#8 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $119 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy an excellent service in the heart of downtown.Hotel Europa, is a five stars hotel with 110 rooms, including 12 suites. Enjoy the best location, only a block away from El Prado, you will be at only steps (les than 0.5 miles) to most banks , 0.6 miles (1 Kilometer) from San Francisco square and church, as well as the Witch's market. Our spacious and relaxing rooms (Executives Room are 344 ft2 and Residence Suites are 667 ft2) are equiped with a coordinated system of heating by radiant under-floor and humidifier, which guaranties a perfect night sleep and helps alleviate symptoms of altitude sickness.Additionally, we offer all the convenience and comfort proper of a five stars hotel including: Free Wi-Fi , 24 hours front desk with bilingual staff, convention center, restaurants, 24 hours room service, 24 hours business center, fitness center and spa, town cars, and airport shuttles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing