We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy beds, good terrace but not best bathrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunkie Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bunkie Hostel
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfy beds, good terrace but not best bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in the eight bed dorm and think it was one of the comfiest beds on my trip with warm and big duvets that you could wrap round you. They had a good bar/terrace area. Breakfast was the standard bread/jam combo. No curtains on the window and limited lockers in the room although there were smaller lockers at reception, some with power points. Helpful reception staff, a one for one book swap which is always good. Downside were the bathrooms clean with hot water if it was just you showering but cold if someone else did. They were constantly running our of toilet paper and the toilets were pretty small. Location near the bus station good and wifi good most of the time, managed to FaceTime there. Could be a bit noisy near reception as people coming and going at all times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Bunkie Hostel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear SalO17, tnks for choosing us during your stay in La Paz, we are glad you find our staff helpful as we try the best to give you the service you deserve. On the other hand, now every receptionist checks the bathroom so running toilet paper it won't be a problem for you anymore.

xoxo
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    73
    55
    16
    17
See reviews for
4
48
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I arrived late one evening and the staff were SOOOOO nice! I hadn´t eaten or slept for a very long time and they ran up to the kitchen to order something for me quickly before it closed.
The staff are probably the best I have ever had... they are soooo helpful! They help you with every question.
They also have a good travel desk.
The beds are very comfortable, I stayed in the female dorm and it was very nice and they have THE BEST duvets to keep you warm at night. I´d stay here again in a flash.
Location is just 5 minutes from main bus station and plaza.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The worst hostal that I've been in Bolivia, Peru and Chile!!
I don't recommend this hostal at all. Bad rooms and bed, bad showers, the water is very hot or very cold, though you might freeze if someone else is showering or using bathroom. The only god point is the receptionist service!
We tried to use kitchenware (Glass) and we were Prohibited...we couldn't believe!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Bunkie Hostel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Saquel, we are sorry you had problems with the showers, i wish we could have had the change to help you with that and i apologize about we don't letting use a glass but i'm sure it was a mistake, as all staff is trained to give you the best service. Hope, we can have the change to have you again, so you can see the improvements at the hostel.


xoxo
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

great staff: service in 3 languages spanish french english.... very motivated to find sollution for your problems. the location is fine and beds and toilets are clean enough..... what else dou you need?

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff set me up with good accomodations and provided great service while there. Good place to go to if your looking to stay in la paz for couple days to tour. Also prices are cheap for the amount of space and room you get.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmeyers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Bunkie Hostel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear rmeyers7
We are pleased to hear you spent a good time here as we give our best for satisfy all our needs. Hope, this won't be the last time in La Paz.

xoxo
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is an awesome place. The staff are incredibly nice and knowledgeable about La Paz, the dorms are clean with good beds and huge comforters, and the bathrooms are clean with hot showers, though you might freeze if someone else is showering.

Upstairs bar setup is really cool, upper terrace area has a great view of the city. The chef Jesus makes good dinner for cheap and will take you out to see the bar scene if you want!

Overall, terrific place for a good price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acomart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times in the past 5 months and we like it. The beds are the most comfortable we have had thus far on our one year South America journey. They have down-feather blankets and they are better than my blanket at home! The hot water is usually reliable, but sometimes is cold. They often run out of toliet paper in the bathrooms, but if you just ask them for some more they will give it to you. Their internet on their 3 computers can be unreliable at times, but their wifi is usually decent. We will continue to stay here any time we pass through La Paz.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the cheapest, go with the 14 bed dorm. A decent price for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Bunkie Hostel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Andrea, we are sorry about the toilet paper issue but tnx for the input, we are working on it but definitely we'd love to have you again at the hostel.

xoxo
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Austria
Hostal Austria
#28 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 71 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Rover Hostels
Wild Rover Hostels
#2 of 71 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Brew Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunkie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunkie Hostel

Property: Bunkie Hostel
Address: Av. Montes, 641, La Paz 0591, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bunkie Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunkie Hostel is located just two blocks from the La Paz bus terminal, and offers both private rooms and shared dormitories. We have plenty of common areas, including a terrace with a view of La Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bunkie Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing