We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel Agency in La Paz”
Review of La Paz on Foot

La Paz on Foot
Ranked #7 of 23 Nature & Parks in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: La Paz on Foot offers a diverse range of walks, hikes and treks in the Central Andes, including Peru, Bolivia, Chile and Argentina. Specializing in the natural and cultural history of this fascinating region, La Paz on Foot offers innovative programs, from half-day Urban Treks to multi-day cross-country treks and cultural tours. Recommended by Lonely Planet, Footprint, Rough Guides and others! For the best tours and treks, go with La Paz on Foot!
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Travel Agency in La Paz”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On our first day in La Paz, we had the chance to meet Santusa and Marcello from Viajes Rutas et Recuerdos Travel Agency. They are running a small travel agency in La Paz, calle Aroma.
They are not only English-speaking, but moreover, they were very dedicated to help us organize our journey throughout Bolivia. We very much appreciated their welcoming and warm reception, their professional advice and their reliable service. We can only recommend them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    2
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent way to know La Paz”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did the half-day La Paz on foot tour, which started in El Alto and finished (at our request) in a saltenas cafe (El Hornito) in Sopocachi. It was a fabulous experience. Our guide Lea was great, and since it was just me & my partner, our tour became quite an exclusive one. Lea certainly knows La Paz, she showed us some of her fav haunts (which weren't on the official route). We discussed La Paz, it's history, culture, food, feminism, the (underground) radio channels, society, art, social issues, politics - a bit of everything. We travelled in trufis, micros, and collectivos. It was a great day, made special by the wonderful company and conversation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience with La Paz on Foot”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a 7 hr layover at La Paz airport, and we consulted La Paz on Foot to do a 4 hr custom urban trek. It was an amazing experience. Alajandra, our personal guide, met us at the airport. Not only she is fluent in English, she is an excellent source of information on history of Bolivia, current issues etc. We walked around the witches market, and had a good lunch with a view of La Paz city. Alajandra also helped us to choose some nice Bolivian souvenirs for our friends and families back home. it is like having a local friend. Although the trek is not cheap by Bolivian standard, it transformed an otherwise very boring 7 hr wait at the airport to a memorable experience of sight, smell and taste.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jadesin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“La Paz on Foot Walking tour”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were only in La Paz for the day and wanted to make the most of it. Our bus was late by 2hrs and made us 1hr late for our tour and wasn't a problem! Alejandra was most accommodating and her English and knowledge of La Paz was very interesting. We took a taxi to the highest point and the view was spectacular. We went through a museum and walked through the markets and neighbourhoods. She packed some great Bolivian snacks, fruit and water which were ones we had never had before. Was a nice surprise. We took a local bus back which was cool to mingle with the locals and wrapped up in the main square. Was great for us but if you have issues with stairs, this is not for you. Was $54 US.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 196MikeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“La Paz on foot made Bolivia travel a breeze..”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Lucia
I just want tot take a moment and THANK YOU for your effort in Planning and executing my fun filled trip of Salar De Uyuni and other amazing adventure trips in Bolivia.
I think you and La Paz on Foot provided an excellent service and a great Value. You delivered what you promised and above all I think you were there when ever I needed your help with changes.
I would recommend La Paz on foot and you to anyone visiting Boliva.

Have a great New year and 2013!

Salud!

:)
Nitin

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NitinGaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paz on Foot also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to La Paz on Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing