We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Health Hazard”
Review of Bacoo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bacoo Hostel
Ranked #25 of 74 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Health Hazard”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The place seriously needs to sort their cleanliness levels out. Whilst staying here at the weekend 5 people got ill, 3 of which ended up in hospital. They were all diagnosed with salmonella which is quite obvious came from Baccos kitchen. Upon reporting this to the staff they didn't even offer an apology and just dismissed us.
Unless you have $700 to spend on a 2 night stay at hospital stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morvellous_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    42
    17
    19
See reviews for
3
32
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
541 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Offerings are pretty basic here, as are in most hostels in Bolivia. As long as you don't compare amenities with those you find in Peru, Argentina and Chile, you'll be fine.

Rooms (and public areas) are clean and tidy but a little run-down. At the least beds are comfortable and the bedding and blankets are sufficiently warm for La Paz's weather. Reception staff are very pleasant and polite. The in-house travel agency is helpful but they mostly sell Spanish-speaking tours.

Hot showers were advertised as 24-hours but they run out frequently and you'll need to wait anywhere from 30-60 minutes for the water to be heated. Even then, water is lukewarm at best. The only rooms with private bathrooms are the matrimonial rooms (all dorms share bathrooms, which can get pretty messy and dirty by mid morning).

The bar staff is a mix bag. I encountered a couple who were extremely slow and can't speak English, while there were other bar staff who were very friendly and offered great service. A number of items in the menu are not offered.

Location-wise, Bacoo is situated about 5 mins from the main commercial street and about 10-15 mins from major attractions. It's also a 3 mins drive (BS10) to the main bus terminal, making this a pretty convenient hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at Bacoo for 5 nights at the beginning of my trip to Bolivia. the reason i chose this place over others is that it's one of the very few hostels in La Paz (in the traditional sense of hostels) that is locally owned and operated and not advertising as a big party hostel.
The staff were great.. extremely friendly and helpful. the place is beautiful and has a nice bar/common area with good food. the rooms are spacious, comfy and clean. only reason i am not giving it 5 points is a couple of little things that make the stay more convenient:
1. lockers in rooms. there are lockers at reception area but lockers in rooms would be nice.
2. Internet is very slow (at times non-existent) although after spending more time in Bolivia i realize that this is a common problem here.
3. although it;s not a party hostel, the music from the bar can be a bit loud for light sleepers like me as it goes until 1 am (not crazy loud, but i did need to use ear plugs to fall asleep)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhail a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I were travelling around Peru and Bolivia for a couple of weeks and this was definitely the least nice hostel we stayed in. The rooms are not very clean, there were quite a lot of ants everywhere, and the bar, if you just go there for a night out looks really nice, but for having lunch or hanging out there during the day, it wasn't that great really.
We had to stay an extra night more than we intended and as there were no rooms available we went to a hotel in the center instead, which was just a fiver more expensive per room per night and turned out a million times better. I definitely wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leiretxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

To start, the bar was great, la paz is pretty sprawling so its nice to have somewhere to hang out and have fun. Prices reasonable and food good.

On the down side we had the triple room and it was dingy and freezing cold with nothing covering the window. You can get an extra blanket but still needed to wear all of our clothes. There were no electric points and the sheets on one bed had some suspect coating on it.

The toilets were dirty and the paper bins always full. The showers were hot (at certain points of day) but the block is really awkward and you have to undress before you go in as its just literally a shower with nowhere to hang stuff -this isn't ok in a mixed hostel.

Socially this place is good but they haven't really thought through the sleeping and showering facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOW1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Scam is going on with lockers in the reception area. Guests are advised by hostel staff to use these lockers for valuables and they are guarded by the reception desk and a padlock. My money was gone (replaced with photocopy notes, folded in the same way) during the day, on my last day, while guy with fake American accent was on duty. They open padlocks or remove the back panel of the lockers (i used my padlock). There are no room lockers in dorms and stealing from backpacks happened during my 3 day stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dorde s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked a 6-bed dorm via a hostel booking website, upon arrival they put me in a different room with 8 beds because they (inexplicably) thought it was "better for me". The bedroom was freezing with no heating; extra blankets are available on request which is fine when you're in bed, but otherwise, prepare to freeze. This room had an en-suite bathroom which was dirty and the plug was blocked, so when I used the shower the room flooded. There were no plug sockets in this room and only two in the communal area, this is a real pain for needing to charge phones, camera batteries, etc.
Smoking is allowed in the communal area, I could hardly manage to eat because I was gagging on the overwhelming stench of cigarette and marijuana smoke.
I saw drug dealing openly being done in the communal area too.
This place claims to be a party hostel - I arrived on a Sunday and there clearly (because of the mess) had been a party the night before, however the other activities and events didn't seem to be running on the other days. This was great for me because I wanted a quiet place to stay, but party-seekers might be disappointed.
On the plus side, the location is good - a short walk from the bus station, and a short walk to the main touris sights. There is a travel agent based in the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
The Adventure Brew Hostel
0.0 mi away
Bash and Crash Hostel
Bash and Crash Hostel
#52 of 74 in La Paz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#4 of 74 in La Paz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bunkie Hostel
Bunkie Hostel
#20 of 74 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muzungu B&B Backpacker Hostel
1.7 mi away
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
#9 of 74 in La Paz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacoo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacoo Hostel

Property: Bacoo Hostel
Address: Alto de la Alianza 693, La Paz 02, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pack your 6 senses !Bacoo hostal La Paz is set in a large garden and has plenty of areas to fun whether it be in the shade of one of our fruit trees or in one of our hammocks or drink a beer in jacuzzi.Our property has a beautiful colonial architecture, with a large beautiful garden and you will feel the true fun in our hostel, either the bar or restaurant or just hang out in the jacuzzi, you'll have the best experience… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bacoo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing