We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Brisas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Brisas
Ranked #17 of 50 La Paz B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful place”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As other reviews have commented this hotel had a terrible smell throughout. The towels were also filthy and looked as though they had not been changed for decades. Breakfast was poor and the room did not even have a window facing outside, just into the corridor. The location is not bad, but I would never advise staying here because the hotel itself is so foul.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    54
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
7
30
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just stayed here for my last two nights in La Paz before returning home and Ioved it. I paid $25 per night for a single room and it was extremely comfortable. Great hot shower and a superb selection of TV channels on their cable TV. I thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast and the staff were amazingly helpful to me. I am so surprised by previous reviews about rude staff....I thought the staff were by far the most helpful and friendly that I encountered in Bolivia. The lady at reception was called Rachelle and the doorman was Alvaro and they were amazing. I would definitely come back here. Enjoy...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is soo deceiving in the pics. Rooms are disgusting and the towels look like they have been reused for over 20 years. Sheets are also dull and gross and when we went up for breakfast the bread was not replaced and everything looked old and dirty. We then opened a door and noticed that all the sheets and towels were hand washed and drying out in the open. It was sooo cold that we asked the receptionist for an extra blanket and he refused!!! Rooms are loud and the hotel is on a very busy street so make sure you get a room away from the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was billed as 3 star when it was more like a 1 star. There is no reason to stay at a place like this in a city where the costs of travel are relatively low. The breakfast was bare bones (bread and butter, etc) and the room was TEENY TINY. They shoved two beds into a space made for one, and the rooms had no windows. The bathroom smelled like sewage from the drain and the lack of windows made it impossible to get any fresh air. there was no ventilation. we checked out early and moved elsewhere.

THe location isnt bad, its actually quite central but there are better places in the vicinity.

Room Tip: the "matrimonial" rooms have windows, all others do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a budget to moderate hotel in the backpacker area of La Paz.
Rooms are clean, there is hot water, heaters are available if you ask, and cable TV with some international channels is provided.
Breakfast is served on the 5th floor, with a good view of the city - this is really the rooftop, but it has been enclosed in glass for warmth.
Coffee and tea are available all day in the lobby, as is purified water.
Two internet terminals are available without charge.
Airport service is $10.
This proved to be one of my better hotels in Bolivia, even surpassing more expensive choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the outside of the hotel, not to the interior corridor. Slightly no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On first impressions, an excellent location right in the middle of the shopping areas of La Paz. The rooms were adequate, although they could be very noisy with thin floors from the rooms above. Breakfast was basic but there seemed to be plenty of everything! The hotel was majorly let down by the regular female receptionist who was incredibly rude! She was grumpy that we were checking in and when we asked if would could extend our stay by a night refused to even check whether there were rooms, when the hotel clearly wasn't full, and continued to be sullen for the rest of our stay! Other than this one unpleasant individual, las brisas was a good stay for a couple of nights

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Perfectly nice hotel in a good location in La Paz, most staff were lovely and friendly, slightly let down by one receptionist who seemed inconvenienced by our presence. Other than that, everybody was very helpful with lots of suggestions of activities and a tour operator attached. The cleaner also decided that 8am would be a good time to come into the room without knocking, on both days we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamSluman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in La Paz
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Posada de la Abuela Obdulia
0.2 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 71 in La Paz
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas

Property: Hotel Las Brisas
Address: Av. Illampu 742, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Brisas 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Brisas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing