We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hop-on Hop-off daily tour times incorrect.”
Review of La Paz City Tour

La Paz City Tour
Ranked #17 of 82 Tours in La Paz
Type: City Tours, Tours
Attraction details
San Ramon, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hop-on Hop-off daily tour times incorrect.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The tour times specified on their website (http://www.lapazcitytour.net/circuit.htm) do not match those posted at the main bus stop in Plaza Isabel la Catolica. As a result I missed the afternoon circuit on the only day I had free in La Paz. Not that it mattered. There was also a hand written notice on the bus stop saying the bus wasn't running until further notice because of mechanical problems.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank brian94582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    48
    24
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great afternoon walking tour with Luz Maria”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Luz Maria picked us up from our hotel and took us on a great afternoon walking tour. We went to El Alto, saw the markets and walked around La Paz.

Our guide spoke great English and was very friendly and full of great facts and information about La Paz.

We did our tour on a Sunday so it took a while to get a bus. In hindsight had we known there was the weekly Cholita boxing in El Alto I wish the agency would have recommended that to us as something to do.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank b0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great fast way to see the highlights of La Paz”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Let's start with the important things:,the audio works! In good English with a lot of details not only about the city but also about the history and the economy of the Bolivia.
There are two different routes. The first one takes you through the city centre and up the viewpoint of KilliKilli, while the second one goes further out to the richer suburbs all way to moon valley. The city tour could also be done on foot, (as traffic could get quite bad - we had actually a small collision but was rather amusing observing the drivers egos!) but it's a good way if you are in a hurry.

Each tour costs 60 BOB and take 2h and 1.5h respectively. Tickets can be bought on the bus directly, no need to go through a travel agency.

The bus upstairs has even a covered section which comes in handy when it's raining like it was in our case.

NOTE: there is an extra 15 BOB charge to get into moon valley but is worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank papagreko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great alternative to the bus city tour, great way to see the city from another perspective”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We took a city tour with a new company along with two of my aussie friends a couple of weeks ago. There were lots of riots going on and we didnt really know what to do and the bus tour was out of the question due to the strikes. this guys at www.banjotours.com take you around the city and you get to see the most off the beaten path places including slums. Absolutely worth it if you have a spare morning or afternoon in LP

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience with Agency "Turismo Bolivia Peru"”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Excellent Guide with amazing knowledge of the area and perfect English, safe private comfortable transport no rush lots of time to view all the sites and take amazing pictures would def recommend this amazing professional company to take this tour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paz City Tour also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to La Paz City Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing