We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tougher than it sounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huayna Potosi

Huayna Potosi
Book In Advance
More Info
$270.00*
and up
3-Day Climbing Huayna Potosi from La Paz
Ranked #5 of 111 things to do in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A technical easy mountain over 6000m's to climb for beginners. Good for a first big mountain experience with great views of the Cordillera Real mountains near La Paz. physically demanding, some acclimatization is need before attempting this trip.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tougher than it sounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Amazing experience to climb past the 6,000 metre mark. The ridge to the summit is also a superb experience. People may say it is 'easy' for 6,000 metres but I saw quite a few fit people having to turn due to altitude. This is tough, but if you're in La Paz and have some extra time just go!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CPPCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    60
    12
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

amazing experience, no words can describe it, you have to do it if you like adventure and mountains!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank venera1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning Final Ridge Ascent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic looking mountain with a stunning and very narrow final snow/ice ridge to get to the top. It is very accessible from La Paz, it can be done in two days. Because of this it gets busy with inexperienced backpackers trying to climb a 6000m+ mountain, majority of whom fail because they are not acclimatised for altitude properly. They can be a nuisance and dangerous but it is open to everyone. The hut gets very crowded and is very basic compared to Alpine huts - be warned.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went in July 2011

Didn't climb it but I saw it near Chacaltya and it was INCREDIBLE! Magestic. The land in Bolivia is breathtaking. I wished I had more time and I would have climbed this mountain!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank loveatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Brilliant Mountain, But Avoid "Travel Tracks"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The mountain itself it beautiful, and the climb is fairly easy considering the altitude. I would certainly recommend it to anybody who has already been at altitude long enough to be acclimatized to La Paz.

My experience with Travel Tracks was quite negative however. Despite paying nearly 1000 Bs, we were given very poor equipment. My jacket zippers were broken, the gaiter metal clips were snapped off, the gloves were cheap and seemed to absorb water, the pants were 3 sizes too big and one needed the harness to keep them up. Finally, when our boots were given to us at base camp, they were wet and falling apart, despite the guarantee that they would be repaired and dried before the trip. My mate and I made it within 150m of the summit before turning back due to frozen toes, something that would have been prevented had we gone with a better agency.

In summary, Huayna Potosi is a must-do for aspiring mountaineers, and will be one of the highlights of your trip whether you reach the summit or not. Just be very aware that not all agencies have the same quality of equipment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElGringoCocoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huayna Potosi also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Huayna Potosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing