We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the money”
Review of Residencial Latino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residencial Latino
Ranked #19 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really nice hostel in an average city. The place is close (2 blocks) from the center. The offer spacious rooms, free breakfast and wifi. The doubles even have a tv. The place is clean and the people who run it incredibly friendly. Be prepared to meet a lot of South American travellers, rather than western backpackers. The staff only speaks a bit of English, but that not a big deal!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Latino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Perfect location, friendly reliable staff who do anything to help you and always keep their promise. Rooms for small budget, cold at night, but warm blankets, very comfortable matresses and very clean. In contrast to most places in Latin America, 24h hot shower, actually means 24h hot shower. Stuff can be locked/kept very secure, with receipt and all. If I ever go back to La Paz, I know where I'll stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Residencial Latino hostal.

Just Few blocks from the Plaza Murillo and other tourist places, we enjoyed this hostal.

The front desk is very loved and hostal has a good breakfast, cable tv, hot water and very good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeinbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Pros: cheap, decent bed, friendly reception staff but that's about all

Cons: no access to kitchen to cook your own meals, not even boiling water. Cold showers, toilet paper runs out and doesn't get replaced. Breakfast is basic and we got yelled at when asking for a second cup of coffee with milk, can't even borrow a plate or cutlery if you want to make your own sandwich during the day. Very poor facilities for such a large hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bopnbeep22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Two and a half blocks from Plaza Murillo and easy walk to San Francisco Cathedral and Mercado de Hechiceria. Many Sud Americanos and European travelers. I was there mid April 2012. Walking to the hotel from Plaza Murillo was exhausting due to the slight grade and 12.000ft altitude. Breadfast is adequate with extra coffee or tea. Showers are electric so one needs to fine tune the hot water to get the warmest water. I stayed in three different rooms during several stays. All very clean, even the the bathroom when I rented a room w/o bathroom. Water is provided in 5 gallon jugs. Just fill up your canteen or water bottle. Do not drink the tap water. Police station is one block away. Indigenous Altiplanos do not heat their homes. They just put on another blanket. You most likely will find a blanket in a drawer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacramentoStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice, quiet hostel near the main plaza. Rooms are dated but large. Showers are electric but OK. Breakfast is decent, but no coffee, just chicory.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

It's not the busy season for tourism in Bolivia, I had many good choices of budget accommodations in La Paz. I spent more than 7 nights in the city and picked the hotels/hostels according to Tripadvisor's recommendation. For the last two nights, I stayed at Residential Latino, I was so impressed by the quality of the overall service of the hotel. It becomes my favourite pick in La Paz.

The place is super clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. Spacious lobby and dining area are bright and comfortable. It's close to Plaza Murillo and several blocks away from San Francisco Square, so very convenient to go shopping, dining out and so on. I was travelling by myself. The hotel gave me a room with double beds and only charged me the rate of single. The rate is very cheap considering the niceservices it provides, which includes 24-hour hot water, free breakfast, Internet Wi-Fi, etc.. As many other hotels in La Paz, the staffs are very friendly and helpful. I am very impressed by the friendliness of people in La Paz.

If there is any inconvenience of the hotel, the Wi-Fi signal is not available in my room. But the lobby is so nice, I don't mind sitting in the sofa at the lobby, checking my emails and writing IM for hours.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#27 of 77 in La Paz
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Austria
Hostal Austria
#28 of 77 in La Paz
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 76 in La Paz
1,393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landscape B&B
Landscape B&B
#20 of 76 in La Paz
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Latino

Address: Junin 857, La Paz 0000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: $17 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residencial Latino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Residencial Latino" is a company that has over 25 years of service to hotels and accommodation in the city of La Paz, along their activity within the hotel industry has been characterized by the cleanliness of their environments, warm treatment of the staff, the tranquility of a family home and the colonial architecture of its refurbished facilities for a pleasant stay in the city of La Paz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Residencial Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing