We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Sagarnaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sagarnaga
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cheap and basic hotel”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Cheap, basic, simple breakfast of jam and bread. Relatively clean for what can be expected in LaPaz for this category of hotels. Stayed only one night here because the hotel i wanted to stay was full. They are tricky and tried to charge my friends double time for their room. The internet room is not very good, the computers are old. The location is very good, just in the middle of the main market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    150
    138
    32
    15
See reviews for
37
133
72
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Free wifi, Internet, Cable tv, Breakfast,with their travel agency Diana Tours very highly rated. Cash machines outside and 10 meters from the witches market and main alpaca wool shopping of La Paz. I really enjoyed myself in this hotel and its not too far above backpacker price. Very much worth the treat. A huge thing was the courteous staff, there's a great working atmosphere and the respect and professional service you get is fantastic and sadly lacking as you travel. I dont backpack, I try and stay in family run hostels but I cant recommend enough jumping up to hotel level for this establishment carpeted, friendly,helpful,professional in service and staff.
If you miss the hotel breakfast, Cafe Del Mundo is next door, pancakes are very good and tourists suggestions printed on the walls are very helpful..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Moved here from a hostel in La Paz and stayed 3 nights. It was actually cheaper than the hostel. The room was clean and comfortable. The TV didn't work well and the shower was hard to get the temperature right and splashed a lot of water on the floor. The breakfast was average. The computers in the breakfast room were really old and slow.

The staff were friendly and helpful, although they forgot the room rate we had agreed and were going to charge us more on check out until we reminded them. It's in a good central location in the touristy area not far from the bus station and it was nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights after bailing out of the Estrella Andina in La Paz. Fernando at the desk is extremely bright and helpful. Room adequate with the higher levels having more recent renovations. Has elevator. Breakfast could be improved with real fruit juice and local fresh bread but the hotel overall was perfect for us and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 4th floor and up. Will accommodate requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gshanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

In general the service is very precarious. The cleanliness of the terrible room; the treatment of the very changeable personnel, often nice and others too awkward; enough isrraelíes occupy it and allow them to smoke cigarettes and marihuana in the corridors

Room Tip: The cleanliness of the terrible room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Travelling
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an OK hotel in a very good location. Our first room was on the fifth floor with a great view, and also caught the sunshine which warmed it up significantly. We stayed in another room later which wasn't as good. The staff were very helpful, but I agree with others about the grim breakfast.

Room Tip: Upper floors (we had fifth), with a view of the city, are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

basic hotel in a perfect location in La Paz, excellent service, kind staff
not exactly continental breakfast but it's fine to start the day
ask for higher rooms because of the noise
on the same street you will find everything you need for la paz, bycicle stor to arrange the trip to the death road, souvenirs, food, atm

Room Tip: Try and avoid the second floor where the rooms are cheaper but very tired and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.4 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#12 of 76 in La Paz
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#23 of 76 in La Paz
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 76 in La Paz
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Maya
Hostal Maya
#47 of 76 in La Paz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sagarnaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sagarnaga

Property: Hotel Sagarnaga
Address: Calle Sagarnaga # 326 | Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sagarnaga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sagarnaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing