We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !”
Review of A la Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A la Maison
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband, my 5 year old little girl and my self stayed at A la Maison about 3 weeks ago we had a great time, we stayed 9 days in the property. We arrived at 4am and it took our taxi driver 30min to find the place, he ended up calling the hotel and got directions SO be prepared for that( we used SEGIP in Sopocachi and Plaza Espana as a reference it helped so much)That being said the hotel is located in a great neighborhood, quite, safe and close to all the touristy things. The over night guy did help us with the luggage(5). The room was on the second floor(#4) I had called before our arrival to confirm that we were not on the first floor rooms it seems that everyone that stays there hates it. Jorge the front desk guys was so friendly and helpful he gave us some great tourist places to visit. The room was clean though the mattress was extra firm! the bathroom(my main concern) was spacious,clean it seemed newly renovated and the most important thing it had Hot Water! We Loved Loved the bread(maraqueta) and juice in the morning with the latitude sickness that's all I needed and wanted in the morning, and the bread it's meant to be crunchy. Having the gallon of water in the room provided by the hotel was great. We will most definitely be staying at this property when we go back to La Paz.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 230 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

It started off bad from the beginning... People weren't lying that no one knows where this place is even with the directions and address printed in hand. Spent forever finding the place. We get there and are taken to the top floor, far up with very large bags and no help. Turns out it was the wrong room and we were actually on the ground level in room one. He could not find our reservation and thought we were someone else checking in even though he took our passports and could see our names when checking in... He got me to email him the confirmation and lucky enough they had one room left, number one. This room did not have any seating area just a bed, an old tv, a 'kitchen', and a decent bathroom. Don't get room one since you are paying the same price for a significantly less room. Not what was described on booking.com at all. Asked if there was anything that could be done and got a blank stare. The kitchen was nothing more than a hot plate some dishes and a sink. No seating area except a squished table and chairs in the corner. The bathroom was nice but hot water ran out if two people showered. Also the breakfast is two small glasses of juice which tasted like tang and old crusty buns. What was the worst part was we read how good the customer service was... The guy was never at the desk, not helpful at all with all the room confusion at the beginning and when I asked him for help he made zero effort. This place needs to be brought down a notch. Stayed in better places for way less.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 085119c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepoulpeParis, Director de Recepción at A la Maison, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2015
Google Translation

va quen ta reum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This review is a little late, We stayed there for Christmas and it made it feel special. The rooms are very nicely decorated with art work, and the staff very friendly and helpful. If we needed anything Ludo did more than he could to accommodate us, he even gave us a small Christmas present, which was very kind of him. It was a real pleasure to stay there. :D

Room Tip: We had the ground floor apartment, as you can see it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeywynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed twice in this apart hotel, and both times I was delighted. The rooms are so big, clean and well decorated! The name 'A la maison' (at home) is not a lie, as I felt home immediately. Also, the owner and staff were really friendly and helpful and really made me feel at home. I had the bad luck to become altitude sick during a tour to Sajama and I even had to be hospitalized during 3 days. During my hospital stay, the owner was very helpful for my husband and cheered him up during this difficult period. When I was recovered and stayed again in this hotel, he gave us even his nicest and biggest room as New Year's gift to me! It was the room on the top floor, which has great views and is really nice decorated (it even has a kitchen!).
The hotel is situated in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, which is rare in a big city as La Paz. The disadvantage of this quiet location is the fact that many taxi drivers don’t know the location, but if you know the name of the street and the fact that the hotel is located at the end of a small alley, you will definitely find it (or even better: print the map in advance!)
Breakfast is served in a bag at your door, and in the room you can find the ingredients to make coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc So you can enjoy your breakfast the way you like (in bed, in front of the television, etc). They can also help you with arranging taxi's to the airport or the city centre (although you can easily walk to the city centre, because it is downhill and not too far), and day tours with a taxi (e.g. Tiwanaku, Titicaca lake). They also offer (a very quick) laundry service.
If I would come back to La Paz some day, I would definitely stay again at A la maison!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 and 6; both were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here three times, in two different rooms, and had overall a superb experience. Maybe to start with the only con I can think of: the location. It is located in a nice neighbourhood, safe and quiet. BUT, when taking a taxi from the airport (60 BOB) the driver could not find it (it is located in a small side alley, without a big sign on the front) and he was too stuborn to ask around or call the hotel, so we spend quite some time driving around in the neighbourhood. My advice is to print the map from the hotels' website (or have mobile internet to look it up)! Once you know the location, you will not have a problem finding it, or directing taxis to it (using Plaza Espana as a guideway), and actually 1 out of 2 taxi drivers will know the hotel, and each driver will know the street. When arriving from Coroico, our Coroico taxi driver did know this place! Also be aware of the existence of a 'la maison' hotel in la Paz. Taxis from downtown central La Paz or the nearby restaurants in downtown Sopocachi can cost anything between 10 and 20 BOB, depending on time and negotiation skills. Buses will cost 1.5 BOB (daytime price, a little more expensive later on) from Sopocachi (Plaza Avaroa, 6 de Agosto), and 3 BOB from central La Paz (as you have to change buses on 6 de Agosto) to nearby Plaza Espana, from where it is an easy walk (even at this altitude). Overall, the location is a plus for me, as it is located in a really quiet and nice/safe neighbourhood - so print the map and don't be afraid to book this hotel.

The hotel itself is a gem. The owner is a very friendly French guy, and also other staff members are very friendly and helpfull (not necessary for us, but most of the time an English speaking person is around - which is rare in Bolivia). We had two different rooms: no 4 (2nd floor) and no 6 (top floor). Each room was incredible nice, with wooden floors, stylish decoration, big TV (with English speaking channels), artwork, a sitting corner. Breakfast is included (rare in an "apart hotel") and is hung in a bag at your door early in the morning. It exists of two ciabata-rolls per person and fresh juice. There is free drinking water in the room (!), as well as a water heater and cofee and tee. Room no 6 had a kitchen, no 4 not. The bathroom was nice and clean, with 24h warm water (not lukewarm!). There was sufficient heating in the room and the bathroom.

Besides all this, the owner was also very friendly helping me out when my wife got sick on a tour to Sajama (altitude sickness and some complications - even at a young age and with sufficient time spend at middle (+2500 m) elevations you risk this!) and ended up in a hospital: he gave me a room at a discount rate when I called him and explained our problems, without me being able to say how long I needed it. He also invited me on a new years' party (because my wife was still in the hospital) and helped me out with all sort of practical things! He was very helpfull and much more attentive then the tour organization that organized the trip during which my wife got sick (Ben Verhoef Travel Agency, Samaipata).
Overall, even without the owner and staff helping me out during our problems, this was the best place we stayed in during our Bolivia trip, and certainly a good value! A real recommendation and much better than the other hotel we stayed in during our visit in La Paz (check out my La Paz reviews).

Room Tip: If I would go back, I would take room no 4 (without a kitchen - why cooking if you find cheap and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Reading the reviews my husband and I had been really looking forward to our stay. Perhaps our last hotel had spoilt us! Or perhaps we just got unlucky with our ground floor apartment (by all accounts not as nice as upstairs). In an attempt to be less biased here's a run down of our pros and cons:

Pros
- Friendly owner
- Reliable hot water
- Breakfast hanging on our door each day so could have it when we wanted. Nice ciabatta rolls and juice
- Reasonable supermarket 5mins away in Plaza España
- Water dispenser in apartment (but the water smelt stagnant)
- Cable tv
- Internet ... But the signal was a bit temperamental

Cons
- Not v easy to find - our taxi driver was not impressed! But fortunately phoned his HQ for help
- Our flat (ground floor) felt damp and cold. The small portable storage heater and fixed fan heater in the bathroom were not enough to warm it up... And this was November. Basically this flat is a converted garage so not built to keep the heat in (the bedroom is the only part within the house)
- Flat was only cleaned once and this was on request. We stayed 5 nights! In a place where you have to put toilet paper in a bin, these should at least be emptied
- Ants. Probably because the kitchen bin was open (just a small wicker basket) and the place wasn't cleaned!
- Kitchen - 1 electric hob makes for limited cooking options... Although better than nothing
- Lack of privacy as no curtains or even netting to draw across the dining / kitchen area - a bit unnerving when it is dark outside and we had the lights on!
- Bed very uncomfortable with a convex mattress (our heads were sloping downhill!) and very creaky if we moved at all. We've stayed in 100bs per night rooms that had far better beds
- Creaky floorboards above the bedroom so noisy if our upstairs neighbours walked around!

Finally, we were not keen on the art - a large picture of a 'broken eye' does not make a great bedroom companion in our humble opinion! But that might just be us.

Overall I'm afraid we just didn't like the place much (hence the low rating) but I am aware some of that was probably a subjective gut feeling. I hope the pros and cons list will make it easier for people to make up their minds!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Priya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at this apartment hotel with my daughter and her friend who were backpacking around South America and we all loved it! Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main commercial area of La Paz we had uninterrupted quiet nights sleep and woke up each morning to find our breakfast hanging on the door - fresh bread rolls, fruit juice and home made pineapple jam! The staff were very helpful with both places to visit and to eat, one evening we even had a take away delivered to our apartment! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#17 of 77 in La Paz
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel LP Columbus
Hotel LP Columbus
#25 of 77 in La Paz
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Maison

Address: Pasaje Munoz Cornejo n. 15 | Sopocachi area, La Paz 00000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#4 Business Hotel in La Paz
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $48 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A la Maison 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home in the heart of La Paz in the bohemian neighbourhood of Sopocachi 300m from the tranquil Plaza España. We welcome you to the luxury of a hotel along with the warmth of a home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A la Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing