We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A la Maison
Nearby Hotels
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Real Suites(La Paz)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(La Paz)
$128
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
162
39
16
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
39
16
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadquiet neighborhoodcooking facilitieshotel is locatedtight budgetcable car stationel altosafe arealudoapartmentsopocachifridgetelefericoplazataxijorgestove
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 232 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at this apartment hotel with my daughter and her friend who were backpacking around South America and we all loved it! Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main commercial area of La Paz we had uninterrupted quiet nights sleep and woke up each morning to find our breakfast hanging on the door - fresh bread rolls, fruit juice and home made pineapple jam! The staff were very helpful with both places to visit and to eat, one evening we even had a take away delivered to our apartment! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I spent an excellent week at A la Maison. The staff were warm and helpful. I found the apartment was clean, spacious and airy with the fine touch of well-chosen antique pieces. I loved the jute curtains over the large windows!
Fresh juice and bread delivered to your door in the mornings. L.U.X.U.R.Y. And lots of coca leaves for tea ( much needed believe me).
The location was ideal; out of the hustle and bustle of the centre; perched on a hillside, I had brilliant views of the surrounding neighbourhood and the magnificent guardian of La Paz. Sopocachi was great with quirky bars and restaurants about and walking around at night felt secure.
Overall great feel to the place, lovely getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What is good about this place is its apartments, the hot water, the heating, the friendly attention of your hosts, and the fact that it is in a quiet neighbourhood. A very simple breakfast is left at your door to enjoy at an hour you prefer and in the privacy of your apartment. Having a kitchen is great for your budget as you can eat in if you wish. While it may seem a long way from the tourist part of La Paz (it’s only a 10-12 Boliviano taxi ride) it is close to the restaurant and cafe scene in Sopacachi which gives you a better selection of restaurants than the tourist area. So even though we had business to do in La Paz it was also a great retreat.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked the apartment for 4 people for 2 nights 2 weeks ahead through booking.com in preparation to meet our friends who were arriving from Australia. We were arriving to La Paz early in the morning, so asked if we could check in early, or if not, leave our bags there until check in time. When we arrived, we were told that we could not have the room we booked, and were given two other rooms instead on the ground floor which were dark and damp. The explanation given was that the owner Ludo, made a decision to change the booking altogether for our benefit so we could have a shower and check in. What really happened was that the previous occupants of the apartment we booked wanted to stay one more night and Ludo did not honor our booking. The worst thing about it was that Ludo was completely unprofessional trying to play dumb and making it out as though we had requested it. Be careful when you book. We moved for the last night, and i agree, the apartment is great but it was a disappointing experience in terms of how we were treated.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground level rooms around the side. They are cold, dark and sub standard compared to the ones inside the house. Also get wafts of sewerage/water drainage. You shouldn't pay full price for these rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw_tg_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for a short night in August and found this hotel to be a wonderful oasis after a long day of travel. Our room (#3) was massive, with a living room, en-suite bathroom/shower, and kitchen area in addition to the two beds. The owner was extremely helpful in finding us a restaurant for the night - not easy on a national holiday - and the surrounding neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. The interior design of the hotel is charming and unique - we strongly disagree with the hater in the earlier review about it being out of a garage sale! Terrific value for money as well. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langurpsoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews