We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The devil is in the details”
Review of A la Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A la Maison
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The devil is in the details”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Located in Sopocachi, at À La Maison, you get:
- Apartment with kitchenette (fridge, stovetop, ustentils and cookware)
- Fresh bread in the morning

The apartments at A la Maison are large and well decorated (we mean the walls), but the furniture in apartment 3 seems picked from a garage sale of 1972, the curtains in apartments 3 and 5 are in see-through jute (!), the glass-window of apartment 3 is broken with shards standing out (you could cut yourself seriously), the mattresses are really tired. In apartment 5, the living room furniture is better, but a large part of the kitchen walls are covered with jute again. All the floors are creaking to a point of waking everybody up (even the downstairs neighbours) just going to the bathroom. It is a major point when your neighbour is taking the 6:20 am AA flight back to Miami (this must happens often).

The apartment surface is amazingly large, has views on Illimani, but it only sleeps two. So, what's the point of having such a large surface.

The fresh bread and juice, they said was brought up at 7:00 - 7:15. It never made it before 7:30. It is very good bread, but it would be cool if it get just a bit earlier. You don't get fresh milk, you have to fix your coffee with milk powder. Hmm, fresh French bread and milk powder. It's like caviar with Bud Light (instead of vodka). Big deception. The good news is that you have a fridge in the kitchen and can actually cater yourself.

What made me mad was the check-out. They advertise Visa/Master Card as payment option. Since we were leaving at 4am for the airport, I checked out the night before. Three nights (1505 Bs including laundry). Since my Visa card has a chip, their machine won't work. First time in one month in Bolivia, my card has worked everywhere, except at A la Maison. I had to go back down Ecuador St to the ATM machine and come back with 1500 Bs in cash. I was tired and getting up early the next morning, so this unplanned 20 minutes of hiking up and down in the dark made me mad. Unacceptable to have to pay cash for such an expensive place (for Bolivian standard).

From all the past reviews, we wonder if the place has changed owner. It is definitely going down the drain from our point of view...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    36
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
101
31
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cute place but needs a few touches!

Pros:
- cute apartment with kitchen
- there are 3 heaters in the apartment to keep it warm
- the neighborhood is nice and quite
- the apartment has some things for breakfast (coffee/tea/powder milk) and they bring you fresh yummy bread and fruit juice each morning
- the ladies who do the daily cleaning do a very good job
- there is free bottled water provided (dispenser on your apartment)

Cons:
- we had problems with the shower drainage: brown things came up instead of the water coming down. When reported to reception it was only taken care of the following day when it should have been looked into right away: things looked pretty messed up and disgusting. Imagine brown chunks floating in the water as you are trying to get yiur self cleaned up!
- it's not right in the centre so you might need to take actaxi to go some places (there are no restaurants or shops right next door. Closest supermarket is less than 10 mins walking though)
- internet works badly: when I asked reception about this they mentioned it wasn't working fine "because of the strong winds"!! I don't know if I should find this funny or insulting..
- 3 power socks went bad during our 5 night stay: I think they couldn't take 2 heaters on in the apartment. but there were plenty of sockets left to use, so no big deal.
- the bed wasn't bad as such but you can tell the mattress has been used for a long time as it feels a bit soft and does a lot of noise when changing position

Overall the place is cute but a little maintenance (particularly in the shower) would do wonders! Also, it is important that staff accommodates your complaints and takes fast action if something bad happens: it's OK for the shower to get clogged for whatever reason. It is not OK to have brown things in there from one day to the next and that you feel the need to call their attention again, as if once wasn't enough for them to take care of it. That was really the lowest part of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A la Maison is made up of a few apartments which are really great and well equipped with kitchens, free water, tea/coffee etc and easy ways to do basic cooking. The beds were comfy and plenty to keep you warm. However the service we found was not good and that was with a Spanish speaker with us. We drives at 6am in the morning and granted check in wasn't until 1pm but there is literally nowhere to wait and the guy on reception didn't offer us any breakfast, coffee or advice. He just stood in silence. Eventually we asked if we could use the bathroom and he took us to a vacant apartment, we asked if we could use that me but he said no as it was assigned to someone else arriving later. We then asked for a map which he gave but the hotel was outside the map so in the end we just went for a walk to find breakfast. When we came back our apartment was ready but despite requesting twin beds they offered apt 5 which has only a double bed (queen sized so only really big enough for one). When we queried it they ologised and put us in the original apartment which we could have had all along! It was just hard anytime we wanted any info to either find someone or get good information. So enjoy the rooms and the peace and quiet but make sure you have some good spanish and a lonely planet guide!

Room Tip: Apartment 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A la maison was an interesting place to stay. The rooms are like apartments, ours had bedroom, lounge, dining room, bathroom and kitchen. It was huge, our friends had more like a studio apartment. They were both very comfortable and individual. Breakfast was delicious, beautiful crusty bread and fresh OJ. Butter and jams provided, though we went shopping and bought ourselves cheese and meats to make it even more yummy. Fantastic location in a very quiet area, but close to good restaurants and a short taxi ride to the centre of La Paz.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waughsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here two years ago on our first trip to Bolivia and loved everything about A La Maison. Since then my partner and I have stayed here together (in May this year), and I have stayed several times solo (in June) while basing myself in La Paz between visits to the Cordillera Real; the hotel is as good as ever, and offers real value for money in La Paz.

I think I've stayed in just about every room now - with the exception of the top floor - and don't really have a preference. All the rooms are nicely decorated, spacious, have kitchens and feel welcoming, but definitely prefer one of the larger apartments for two people or if staying for a few days. All the rooms have heaters, and in winter it can get cold at night, cable TV and there's free and fast WIFI.

The staff here are amongst the most helpful and friendly I've come across, and really help make your stay pleasant. The hotel is in Sopocachi, which is a lovely neighbourhood with an excellent selection of restaurants and bars within a short walk of the hotel, and even at night I've never felt any hesitation about walking in this area. It is relaxed part of town, far from the hustle of down-town and all its backpacker hostels - although it's only a 20 minute walk or short taxi journey to the centre.

The simple breakfast of fresh bread, freshly squeezed orange juice and home made jams is also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a quiet safe area. It is about 10 minute walk from restaurants, but over a 30 minute walk to the cathedral. The rooms are a good size and decorated nicely. Unfortunately on both of our stays we got put in downstairs rooms, which by all accounts aren't as good as the upstairs ones. Also the low beds are creaky and the pillows are very uncomfortable. The feathers kept on poking through and waking me.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A la Maison was a very comfortable abode for a few days in La Paz. Lovely rooms - kids in a triple at the top and parents in a double one floor below. We felt very safe. Helpful staff at reception. A good walk into central La Paz and a taxi back at the end of the day. Great bakery a couple of blocks away- "Coconut Bakery"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwinz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel LP Columbus
Hotel LP Columbus
#20 of 76 in La Paz
253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 76 in La Paz
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Maison

Property: A la Maison
Address: Pasaje Munoz Cornejo n. 15 | Sopocachi area, La Paz 00000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#4 Business Hotel in La Paz
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A la Maison 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home in the heart of La Paz in the bohemian neighbourhood of Sopocachi 300m from the tranquil Plaza España. We welcome you to the luxury of a hotel along with the warmth of a home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your A la Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing